We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pensione Villa Mafalda
Ranked #9 of 36 Forio B&B and Inns
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent choice, great value”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We recently spent 4 nights here and were completely happy with our choice - just what we were looking for. Daniela, who speaks excellent English, and the whole family were so friendly and helpful. Our room 72 was big and had it's own foyer with a bathroom off of that. We had a balcony with two lounges and a small view of the sea and a good view of the Church of the Seccorso. The location was perfect - just 2 minutes walk from the pedestrian area of town. It is a neighborhood setting, just one block off the busy road by the water - not much traffic but still motor scooter noise during the day. Breakfasts were served on the covered terrace and included various fresh rolls and breads, meats, boiled eggs, juice, freshly made espresso drinks. We also ate dinner here and thought the 3 - 4 course meals were delicious and really well prepared with very fresh, local ingredients. There was a first course of soup or pasta, then salad, fish/ meat/ rabbit, and fresh fruit. A very good value for the E10! We felt we were in very good hands in a lovely family setting. Wifi was available on the terrace. We walked to the Poseidon Thermal Park in about 25 minutes and were just sorry we only went for a half day. It was lovely. We arrived directly from the US and Daniela arranged a reasonable transfer for us from the airport which helped so much.

Room Tip: You get a little view of the sea and an excellent view of the Church of the Seccorso from no. 72.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank linawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    15
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
30
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

It is a family-owned hotel, it is not big, but very cosy and has a family atmosphere. Owners are very pleasant people who treat all visitors as their own friends and try to meet their wishes. There is an individual approach to everybody, which is hardly to be found in a big hotel.
The room fee includes breakfast and for just 10 euro you can have a nourishing and very tasty dinner of 3-4 courses. The food is really great - Italian cuisine, I think the best food I had during my full trip. The hotel has constant guests who come to this place to stay for many years (e.g. a family from Austria).
A double room is big enough for 2 people, with a balcony, facing the inner yard, and a rather big bathroom.
The hotel is in the Forio centre, 5 minutes walk from the port and a bus stop, this makes it very convenient for travelling.
Poseidon Thermal park is not very close, but still it's possible to walk there or take a bus (5 minutes).
The best I liked: family atmosphere, friendly attitude of owners, very attentive to guests, a very decent room - clean and big enough, great food, good location.
If in Forio again, Villa Mafalda is definitely the right choice. I have already recommended it to all my friends.
I enjoyed my stay there from the very beginning till the end.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugenia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2012

A friend who has been in Ischia many times set us up at Pensione Villa Mafalda and we were so happy he did. Our hosts were gracious and the rooms spacious and clean. It's a short walk to the quaint village with its shops and even small grocery stores in town. The price was very reasonable for such a nice place. We enjoyed our breakfast outside since the area is covered and protected. The entrance to the office and restaurant is invitingly attractive with arched greenery as you travel down the stairway. If you choose, you can have an excellent dinner for a modest price. All in all we were very pleased with our 6 night stay and would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: A second floor room balcony gives a better view of the Mountain behind the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sometimetraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Although I lived in Italy and have returned often, I had never been to Ischia. My Neopolitan friend urged me to go there and am I glad I did. I looked on the Internet for an inexpensive place to stay and found Pensione Villa Mafalda on the part of the island called Forio. It is a 10-minute walk to the pier. While it is a no-frills place, the room was perfect (with air-conditioning), and excellent food. The best part of my stay was the family who runs the place: Daniela (mom), her husband and their lovely daughter. They were full of ideas about what to see and very generous in every way. You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be on the second floor. It is definitely a family-type environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samihadance70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#16 of 81 in Forio
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Santa Lucia
Albergo Santa Lucia
#56 of 81 in Forio
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Carolina
Hotel Villa Carolina
#33 of 81 in Forio
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Umberto a Mare
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#26 of 81 in Forio
383 reviews
23.2 mi away
Calabattaglia
Calabattaglia
#4 of 7 in Ventotene
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Villa Mafalda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Villa Mafalda

Property: Pensione Villa Mafalda
Address: Via Cesare Piro 2, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensione Villa Mafalda 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little family run Inn in the heart of the Forio, the most beautiful region of the Ischia island (Italy), where we can find a nice sun all year around.Quality, Experience and Hospitality since 1968.It’s situated in the centre of Forio, and it is 400 m from a sandy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Pensione Villa Mafalda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Villa Mafalda Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing