We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, family-run place close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cava dell'isola
Ranked #31 of 81 Hotels in Forio
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Friendly, family-run place close to the beach”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

And they can provide you with beach towels, recliners and umbrella.

We had a very comfortable, air-conditioned room with its own terrace and with partial sea view.

Be aware, though, that to reach the hotel you have to come down from the road via some steep steps or a very steep slope. This might be an issue if you have mobility problems.

Other than that, a truly wonderful place. You'll get an extensive breakfast every morning, there is Wi-fi in the communal area and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tin586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    27
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
s-petersburg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We just returned from a superb vacation in Forio in Ischia.. Everything worked: from the choice of the place to the choice of the hotel. In Italy I only stay in family owned small hotels because only here you get the best service, true Italian atmosphere and personal treatment. Was I right! Maurizio met us at the port and drove us to the hotel which we liked the very moment we stepped in: a cosy and colorful patio, flowers, sea view, friendly, smiley and helpful staff made us feel immediately at home. the room has been recently renovated. the shower works great, the ac made it perfectly cool, the balcony looks on the sea and has a table and chairs. what a great place to watch sunset/ sunrise and relax! Teresa is a great hostess who has thought of every little detail to make the stay in the htl as comfortable as possible.such small and yet important things as bottled water in the fridge, safety box in the room, lines to dry our swimming suits, etc.
breakfasts were excellent: juice, espresso, cappuccino, fresh fruit, bread, brioches, eggs or cold cuts or my absolute favorite tomato salad . Anna took very good care of us.
the room and the whole hotel is THE CLEANEST and impeccable.

the location is great: right next to a restaurant and Cava beach. Poseidon termal garden is only 15 min' walk. we paid for seven visits at once and saved a good sum of money. but if you plan to go there once just say about it at Cava and they will give you a discount voucher for Poseidon.
Cava dell'isola is situated down the hill, so to get to the hotel / to town you have to go up and down the hill or staircase (less than 2 minutes) that we also enjoyed a lot as a part of our work out.
I only wish we could stay longer there.
Teresa, Maurizio, thank you soooo very much for your hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzhilina909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Combine not really looking at the map, google maps showing the wrong location, a free satnav on the iPhone, a lady in another hotel who said 5 minutes walk and a barman who spoke less English than we spoke Italian and said 500m, we walked for a long long long time. When we eventually got to the wrong place and called up asking why they wouldn't let us in (me speaking English, him speaking Italian, me speaking English louder), he turned up a few minutes later in his car and drove us and our luggage the 200m to the hotel. Good start!!

The wrong place was on the main road and had a sign showing something with "dell'isola". We'd had enough by then and "apparently" I should have just paid for the cab from Forio Port. The hotel is down the hill closer to the beach (there is either a driveway or a fair few steps to get down). From the main road you can see the hotel name on the roof of the hotel.

Anyway, very nice and reasonably priced hotel. Friendly owner & staff. Good location near a little beach with a restaurant and bar. The restaurant closes around sunset then opens about 7 or 8pm.

The hotel also sells drinks and after coming from a couple of nights in Ischia Town they were much much cheaper.

Poseidon Thermal spa is about a 10 minute walk along the coast and there a good selection of restaurants there.

A negative and a positive to finish... the wifi didn't extend to our room so we stayed in the breakfast/bar area one morning using the wifi. The staff brought us a lovely bowl of fresh fruit salad after breakfast. Not sure if they kept feeding us cause we didn't leave but it was nice all the same.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gamblingsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This is a lovely hotel with an ocean view and hosts that make you feel more like you're visiting their family than staying in a hotel.

The room is bright and cheerful but can be made silent and dark by closing the double pained glass doors and shutters. The colors of the room reflect Ischia, ocean blue tile floors, sun yellow and white. The beds are very comfortable and, unusual for Italy, the shower is great. The AC is silent and very efficient.

It's 1 minute from a good ocean view restaurant and a very popular beach. It's a 20 minute walk to town or the bus stop is right at the road upstairs, a 2 minute walk.

The breakfast included fresh squeezes orange juice, yoghurt, fresh fruit and a freshly baked assortment of breakfast style sweet rolls.

Our hosts provided assistance well beyond anything one would reasonably expect.

A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly refurbished ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Sometimes everything seems to function perfect...this is my experience from my short trip to Ischia.

Begginning of October with an amazing summer weather as an ally, a wonderful hotel next to a beautiful natural beach.
Cava dell'isola is a nicely done hotel, clean, spacious rooms, family-friendly atmosphere, 2 minutes walking from the sea. The entrance of the hotel is a little bit rough but this is part of the charm!!
From most of the rooms you can enjoy the sunset...so ....get a glass of Prosecco alone or with company and live it!!! Mille grazie per tutto.....a prossima :)))

Room Tip: The ones with the VIEW!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forio hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Albatros
Hotel Albatros
#37 of 81 in Forio
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel  Providence Terme & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#13 of 81 in Forio
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa del Sole
Casa del Sole
#4 of 81 in Forio
237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Hibiscus
Hotel Villa Hibiscus
#11 of 81 in Forio
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#16 of 81 in Forio
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cava dell'isola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cava dell'isola

Property: Hotel Cava dell'isola
Address: Via Giovanni Mazzella 25, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cava dell'isola 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a romantic place directly on the sea, to 5 mt from the famous beach "Cava", the hotel Cava dell'isola is the best choice for a holiday characterized by sun, sea and relax.The family hotel is about 500 mt from the bay of "Citara", famous for its thermal spes and for the largest island's park "Giardini Poseidon", a charming and plasing destination for a full day of relax. All our rooms are very confortable, all with privata bath and have a balcony or terrace.Situato in un angolo romantico con vista sul mare, a 5 mt dall' omonima e rinomata spiaggia, l' Hotel Cava dell' Isola rappresenta la scelta ideale per una vacanza all'insegna del sole, mare e relax. La struttura, a conduzione familiare, dista circa 500 mt dalla Baia di Citara, spiaggia famosa per le sue sorgenti termo-minerali e per il più grande parco termale isolano, "I GIARDINI POSEIDON", meta incantevole e ideale per una completa giornata di relax. Tutte le nostre camere sono molto confortevoli, con bagno privato, balcone vista mare o terrazzino, si dividono in Superior o Standard.- Superior sono camere completamente ristrutturate nel 2011, con aria condizionata, Tv con Sky, cassaforte per laptop e frigobar.- le standard hanno tutte il terrazzino, ventilatore, frigobar e cassaforte per laptop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cava dell'isola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cava Dell'isola Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing