We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day out”

Giardini La Mortella
Book In Advance
More Info
US$93.85*
and up
Coach Tour of Ischia and La Mortella Botanic Gardens from Sorrento
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: La Mortella is the wonderful mediterranean and tropical garden developed by Susana Walton, the argentinian wife of the British composer Sir William Walton. It is located in Forio (Ischia) and can be visited on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays from 9 am to 7 pm, from April through late October. Guided visits in the winter months - booking by telephone required.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great day out”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A truly beautiful place to visit. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing visit to these lovely gardens. When we reached the concert room two soloists were rehearsing and it was delightful to sit in the air-conditioned room and listen to their amazing voices. We had lunch in the restaurant which was very reasonably priced. I enjoyed my English tea! So glad we went.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 2014Christine_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,862
    402
    85
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens - well worth a visit”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Incredibly collection of flora and beautifully well maintained. Good wheelchair access meant that getting round with a pram was easy for us and our young daughter was fascinated with the specimens on show.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jam100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Understated and Over delivered!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

you cannot visit this island and not visit these gardens. A truly magical experience. The gardens flank the north west corner of the island and are rich in flora and fauna with varying themes. From the top, you have breathtaking views. A restbite in the lovely restaurant is a super too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A tropical paradise with a stunning view on the sea”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It's a beautiful garden, extremely well taken care. The tearoom is also very nice and serves delicious simple meals (mozzarella and tomatoes, etc..)
Make sure to have plenty of space in your camera memory card, because you will not be able to stop.
My girlfriend and I were there for a classic music concert in the Greek theatre. With 20 euros each we could enjoy a beautiful concert in one of the most exclusive outdoor locations ever, and enjoy the garden.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Riccio1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“surely a nice garden, but the management could be improved”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went to see garden and were not scared off by the unusually high price of 12 Euros per person. Before the visit we checked their website and it said "The Garden is open to the public from April 1 to November 2 on the following days: Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday from 9 am to 7 pm".
After a 30 minutes walk along a not very pleasent heavily frequented street we got to the entrance at around 6.10 pm. - What a surprise: They didn't let us in, because you're supposed to enter the garden 2 hours before (!) the closing time.
50 minutes would have been perfectly alright for us, but they refused to sell us the tickets. - Also the claimed not to speak any english, which seems a bit unlikely for a touristy place like this.
After a 30 minutes walk in the south italian evening heat, it's really quite frustrating to meet a "gatekeeper" who tells you how much time you should spare for the place and refuses to let you in. At least someone from the management should update the website and let potential visitors know about this (in our point of view unfair) policy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sebastian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giardini La Mortella also viewed

Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
Isola d'Ischia, Province of Naples
 
Isola d'Ischia, Province of Naples
 

Been to Giardini La Mortella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing