We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel lets down the island of Ischia!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galidon Terme & Village
Ranked #38 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you visit the beautiful isle of Ischia, stay elsewhere! Location - too far from the harbour, the town of Forio and all the restaurants and cafes. They have a hotel minibus but when you ask for a lift, they arrange a taxi as the courtesy vehicle is never available. Food served in the restaurant is mediocre at best with regimented meal times but all the waiters and bar staff are friendly. However the worst feature of this hotel is the lack of courtesy and poor service offered by reception staff. No matter how politely guests ask for help and advice, they are incapable of a smile and make no effort to be of assistance. There is a bar at the pool side but it is never open. They advertise a terrazza restaurant which is actually a roof without any tables or chairs. The bar area is in reception without comfortable seating to relax in the evening. The spa facilities and massage area is only open in the morning and the staff do not provide a very professional service. A group of us stayed for 8 nights and in that short time, we were aware of the lift breaking down 4 times. Access to and from our rooms was via an uneven stairway which went outside of the building so we relied on the lift and found this very inconvenient. No-one apologized when the lift was out of order. We stayed at this hotel because a chess tournament was hosted there and a few members of our group played chess. None of us would consider taking part in the tournament again if it was held in the same hotel. The playing facilities were inadequate and the hotel refused to make any concession to chess players when a request was made to check out later than 10.00 as the last games were played at 09.00 and were unlikely to finish before lunchtime. Despite extreme dissatisfaction with the Hotel Terme Galidon, we enjoyed our stay on the Isle of Ischia and would recommend a holiday in Forio - as far away from this hotel as possible.

Room Tip: The hotel charges extra for a sea view - select a hotel with rooms near the sea for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank SMH-Cymraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe I, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Galidon Terme & Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014
Google Translation

Gentile Ospite,
siamo spiacenti che ha trovato la Sa permanenza presso il nostro Hotel non confacente alle sue aspettative. Ci permettiamo però di farle notare che la posizione del nostro Hotel è invidiabile, poichè vicinissima alla Baia di Citara, una delle più belle dell'isola, e con fermata bus all'uscita dell'Hotel per il centro e per il porto, oltre naturalmente al nostro servizio navetta, chiaramente effettuato a orari prestabiliti. Per il cibo preferiamo non replicare perchè la cucina, come si rileva, dalle numerosissime recensioni positive avute è uno dei nostri punti forti. Grazie comunque per i complimenti per i nostri collaboratori di ristorante e bar. Per l'area bar le foto sul sito mostrano chiaramente la comodità e il numero adeguato di posti a sedere. Per le altre cose rilevate, preferiamo scusarci con Lei, perchè sicuramente non Le abbiamo riservato le attenzioni che merita e siamo certi che questa sia la causa del Suo disappunto. Restiamo a Sua disposizione per una Sua nuova visita, sicuri di rendere il Suo soggiorno piacevole e all'altezza delle Sue aspettative. Cordiali saluti
Giuseppe Iacono
---
Dear Guest,
we are sorry for you have found your stay to us not suited to your expectations. We would like to point out, however, that the location of our Hotel is enviable, near to the Citara Bay, one of the most beautiful on the island. Bus stop outside the hotel to the city center and the port. In addition to, of course, our shuttle service ​​at fixed times. For food we prefer not to replicate, because the food, as can be seen from many positive reviews, had is one of our strong points. Thanks anyway for the compliments for our staff restaurant and bar. The photos of bar area on the website clearly show the convenience and the appropriate number of seats. For other things found, we prefer to apologize to you, because sure we haven't reserved the right attention, that you need, and we are certain that this is the cause of your displeasure. We remain at your disposal for a new visit to us, sure to make your stay pleasant. Kind regards
Giuseppe Iacono

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nina2005747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: seguendo i consigli del personale
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Giuseppe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Номера 1-го корпуса на дорогу лучше избегать, в главном корпусе номера справа на гору рядом со СПА ш...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikhail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: stanze vista mare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cle622017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nel corpo della struttura le camere sono più tranquille e spettacolari
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stefano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forio hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Terme Mediterraneo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terme Royal Palm
Hotel Terme Royal Palm
#13 of 81 in Forio
897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Sole
Casa del Sole
#7 of 81 in Forio
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Capizzo
Hotel Capizzo
#24 of 81 in Forio
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Semiramis Hotel de Charme Ischia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Imperamare
Hotel Imperamare
#81 of 81 in Forio
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galidon Terme & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galidon Terme & Village

Address: Via Provinciale Panza 166, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Forio
Price Range: £49 - £437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galidon Terme & Village 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located in a scenic and quiet location, surrounded by greenery, overlooking the Bay of Citara and the famous Poseidon Gardens Thermal Park, in the municipality of Forio d'Ischia. Rooms with all amenities. Buffet Breakfast. Restaurant serving local cuisine. Snack Bar in the pool, bar and lounge with Sky TV channels. Free WI-FI in rooms and public areas. Free parking. Lift access to part of the structure. 3 swimming pools and a large solarium equipped. Internal SPA and Wellness Center. Free shuttle service to and from the beach (June to September). In the immediate vicinity there are some necessary services: Market, Pharmacy, Tobacco, Clothing, Gift, Dancing etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Galidon Terme & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galidon Terme & Village Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing