We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, cosy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Gattopardo Hotel Terme & Beauty Farm
Ranked #45 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Hotel Gattopardo is a very nice hotel, which I liked to stay. The people working there are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice and clean. I loved solariums there with beautiful views to the sea. Vineyards closed to the hotel make special ambience. I enjoyed very much my stay in the Gattopardo and I will come to that place again for sure !

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2009

I stayed with friends at the "Gattopardo" and we really enjoyed the place and the people there. The hotel is close to Forio, a nice little fishing village where you can experience the charming chaotic southern Italian lifestyle - close enough to get jump into this lifestyle but at the same time far enough to relax on the terrace or in the nice garden. I can also recommand the home made pizza - a must in the Golfo di Napoli - and also the homemade wine. Ask to visit the cantina for a wine tasting! The vegetables from the garden are all biological and the hotel is the first one at the island with a ISO certificate for sustainability.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbarellasicilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

The rooms in this hotel leave alot to be desired. I would call it a two star hotel. The front desk service was very good and the
breakfast was fine. It is also a difficult hotel to find.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank IStephano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
htgpardo, PROPRIETARIO at Il Gattopardo Hotel Terme & Beauty Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2009

Dear Guest,
we are very sorry for your bad opinion; in reception, however, we didn't receive any communication from you concerning the inefficiency described.

We remember you, the room you booked in question is a standard single room, on site, however, we were given a double room, fully corresponds to the typical base size .H. Gattopardo also has superior rooms and sea view, with different price and position, which offer breathtaking views and superior comfort.

Regarding the difficulty of reaching the structure, the road signage is appropriately placed at key points of transition in the Municipality of Forio d'Ischia (belonging to the Municipality of Hotel), and IN Ischia are more 'than 350 tourism facilities, and it would be unthinkable that each of them had a private mail to every corner of the 6 towns that divide the island.

We will be happy to see you again , showing our ospitality, professionalism and quality of our services.

we please the guests to contact our staff for any problems or information, we will be glad to meet your requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2008

We were referrred by an Italian aquaintance who arranged an eexcellent price for a B&B stay with my daughter in Mid May. We had an ocean view room, small but clean, very clean bathroom. The entire place was very clean. Internet did not work. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast has excellent. Dinner was horrible (caters to the older German client). The pool area was nice, the Spa was very nice, had a wonderful massage and facial. We walked to the beach which was outstanding. I thought the prices were very reasonable. In my opinion, don't bother with Capri unless you want to shop for designer duds(which are cheaper in the US anyway). Ischia is more beautiful, more to do and larger.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NJJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2006

This is a fairly nice hotel for an island. As usual in Europe, the rooms are small, but adequate. The staff was friendly, especially Salvatore, who made us feel especially welcome and provided lots of advice on things to do, where to go, etc. The views from the ocean side rooms are truly breathtaking. The showers are hard to control, with no actual ledge between that and the bathroom floor. The spa was nice, perhaps a little less so than most US spas. The location is good - can walk to town and the beach. Beds are a little uncomfortable and bare bones.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kiddo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2006

We (my wife 31 and I 30) stayed at the Il Gattopardo for three nights in late July 2006.

Getting to the hotel was an adventure - we took a train from Rome, then a taxi to the port (a rip off at 15E), then a hydrofoil across to Ischia (16.50E pp), and a taxi to our resort. We found it fairly tricky navigating through all of these forms of transportation without knowing much Italian (our fault, not the locals obviously). We also found people using the public transporation to be very pushy - peopele would not line up to get on things, it was a free for all pushing match.

The hotel itself is very nice and the prices are VERY reasonable for the accomodations we received. We went with the B and B option so I cannot comment on lunch and dinner. The food at breakfast was ok, but stay away from the eggs (very runny and salty). Rooms were comfortable and virtually every room had a balcomy with a nice view - we were overlooking Mount Epomeo in the rear of the hotel.

The beach was actually a short walk (down a steep hill) in front of the hotel. It was free, clean, and fairly nice - though it doesn't compare atall with any of the beaches we ahve been to in the Carribean (we have been to Cuba twice, Mexico once, and Barbados once and they were all a better choice for us).

The Pools at the hotel were very nice and clean. When at the hotel we were told that a bathing cap was required when in the pools - which we found funny being from North America. Many of the people had more hair on their bodies than on their head, but the bathing caps were still required. There was a large non-thermal pool, and three thermal pools (one clear, one light brown, the other dark brown). I believe there was an indoor pool as well. The thermal pools were very nice - naturally heated between 36 C and 42 C. The colour was not from dirt, but from volcanic water, which is supposed to have some natural healing potential - note: the water does can dye some fabrics so be careful what you wear in the pool.

The Staff was fairly accomodating and tried their best to understand the funny, english speakign tourists. All areas of the resort were very clean.

Restaurants were a long walk down the hill (and walk we did as the cabs were very expensive - though many tourists rented scooters and cars) into the Citara beach area (beach was not free here). Food was fairly good at the places we ate - right along the beach...Bruschetta was amazing, good wine, pasta was decent, but a again a bit salty and cruncy for our liking.

In summary, would I stay at this hotel again - yes. Would I return to Ischia - probably not as there are much nicer beaches and accomodations in the Caribbean for way less money. English was not common on the island as it catered much more to Italian, German, and Swiss tourists.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
1.4 mi away
Family Spa Hotel Le Canne
2.3 mi away
L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
2.6 mi away
Hotel Loreley
Hotel Loreley
#14 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terme Royal Palm
Hotel Terme Royal Palm
#13 of 81 in Forio
897 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#16 of 81 in Forio
364 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Parco Maria Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Gattopardo Hotel Terme & Beauty Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Gattopardo Hotel Terme & Beauty Farm

Address: Via Giovanni Mazzella 166, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Forio
#18 Luxury Hotel in Forio
#22 Spa Hotel in Forio
Price Range: £56 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Gattopardo Hotel Terme & Beauty Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel boasts a privileged, panoramic position at walking distance from the blue sea of the island of Ischia, the centre of lively Forio and the renowned thermal park Poseidon Gardens. Set against Mount Epomeo, this hotel in Forio is embedded in a lush Mediterranean garden and offers a breathtaking view of the bays of Citara and San Francesco. An excellent hotel with thermal spa in Forio allowing its guests to enjoy thermal treatments in Ischia. Those who wish to pamper themselves will find in this hotel with wellness centre a wide range of massages, health and beauty treatments: from the "day spa" to tailored programs aimed at regenerating body and soul. Our guests will be able to choose among several sport activities, with 2 tennis courts (provided with floodlight), one of which is a multipurpose rubber court suitable also for basketball, volleyball and five-a-side football, as well as 3 outdoor pools. On the panorama terrace, where you can find a bar, deck-chairs and beach umbrellas, you can taste cocktails and snacks and indulge in complete relaxation until sunset, waiting for the magical "green ray". Thanks to the services of this hotel, families with children will find what they need for a holiday in Ischia meeting all their needs. Rooms for families, cradles, children's beds, mini-club from 4 to 12 years, a safe outdoor playground, a PlayStation console, menus for children, bottle-warmer, changing table and pushchair. The restaurant and pizzeria with wood fired oven propose the best culinary tradition of the Naples area, with a guarantee of selected, fresh products - most of the ingredients used are grown in the organic vegetable garden of the hotel and the wine served is produced by the winery of the hotel-owning family. Pizzeria is open from Thursday till Sunday for the lunch time. Special attention is devoted to menus for vegetarians and guests with special dietary needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Gattopardo Hotel Terme & Beauty Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Gattopardo Forio
Il Gattopardo Hotel Terme & Beauty Farm Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing