We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O To Be Back in the Ischian Sunshine !”
Review of Hotel Lord Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lord Byron
Ranked #26 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2008

As I type this review on a cold,wet and windy September day in England,I can't help but wish myself back in the glorious Ischian sunshine.
The Hotel Byron was fine, despite some of the less than favourable reviews on this site. Rooms were fairly basic but were cleaned regularly. The air conditioning was efficient and there was plenty of hot water for showers.The towels took some getting used to - more akin to tea towels, but functional.

The pool-side was a little crowded at times and there was the odd pesky mosquito but really liked the sun-beds with the attached canopy. It made sun-bathing and reading so much easier.
The road outside of the hotel was busy but the hotel was set far enough back for traffic noise not to be a problem.
The town was quite vibrant at night with the shops open until midnight.

Food has come in for much criticism and I am a particularly "fussy eater" but there was variety and it was edible.(Perhaps excepting the octopus dish!)
It was plentiful (four course meals) and waiter service, always a bonus.And Enzo was ever there to provide an alternative ,if the available selection did not suit.( Usually a choice from three for main dishes). The tiramisu was particularly good.
Drinks were not too expensive and the wine was reasonable.

The hotel staff were excellent. All very hard-working, friendly and helpful.They certainly tried to ensure that everyone enjoyed a pleasant stay.
There is plenty to see on the island,although getting about and entrance fees can be expensive. The bravest among us could dare the squash of public transport.
Italian driving and parking is better viewed from afar . The narrow windy streets and roads seem to breed a "devil take the hindmost " sort of attitude.
All in all,though, a most enjoyable fortnight.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fussyeaterNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2008

Have just returned from a wonderful week at the Lord Byron Hotel. The setting is in very pretty grounds, and not noisy at all.

My room was lovely and spacious, with a balcony, overlooking the swimming pool and with fabulous views of the mountains.

The staff were delightful, especially Daniella on the front desk, Enzo the head waiter and all the waiting and bar staff, they all went out of their way to make sure that all guests have an enjoyable stay, nothing was too much trouble for them.

The food was very good, with buffet style breakfast, and evening dinner include Appetizers followed by starters of either a pasta dish or soup, the main course usually consisted of either fish, meat or vegetarian dish. If there was any dish anyone was unhappy with, they were more than happy to serve an alternative.

Also, Rita in the spa, gives a great antistress massage!

A lovely week . Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brigh2ngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Have just returned from the Lord Byron and had a relaxing, comfortable holiday and met a really lovely group of people. Booked through Solitair and the transfers were managed very efficiently.
I was a bit concerned about the food having read reviews prior to my holiday but was really pleased - the food was really good lots of excellent pasta dishes often followed by fresh fish and options were always available. The wine (red or white) was also very drinkable!
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable including arranging concert tickets and taxis when necessary.
The rooms were clean and what I expected from a three star hotel.
Treatments in the spa just added an extra edge.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshireteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

I have just returned from a holiday at the Lord Byron Hotel, booked through Solitaire. Having read some of the reviews prior to this holiday, I was concerned that perhaps I had made a bad choice. I need not have worried. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the food was very, very good. (Naturally, you do have to like Italian food - but isn't that the point of going to Italy?) I met some really lovely people and could not have had a better holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hilsmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

I would agree with comments that the hotel food is not good. The hotel is ok, 3 star as advertised.

The solitair rep is non existant and forget about any supoort or help from their manchester office if you have a compliant, Solitair could not care less, once they have your money.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gregory44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

My husband and I have recently returned from an extremely relaxing holiday at the Lord Byron Hotel. Whilst it is true that the food could be improved, it is difficult to see why this hotel has attracted such negative responses from some holidaymakers.

The hotel is small but has excellent facilities for a 3* hotel. We particularly enjoyed taking advantage of some of the spa treatments on offer. Rita, the therapist is excellent and has a very friendly personality. She is a real asset to the hotel.

The pool area is attractive with plenty of sun beds. We booked one of the superior rooms which was excellent. It offered spacious accommodation and was very clean.

The only problem with the meals, is a lack of a variety. Main courses could also be served with a greater variety of vegetables. However, in general the food was of a reasonable standard.

The main asset of this hotel is its staff and in particular the reception staff. Special mention should go to Daniela who went out of her way to make our holiday special and was willing to do everything she could to help us.

With some improvements to the menu offered for half board guests, this could be an outstanding 3* hotel. Having said that, we were more than happy with our holiday and will be returning next year. We also met several other holidaymakers who were on their second visit!.

In our opinion the hotel represents good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesco05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2008

Hotel Lord Byron has many aspects which deserve the 3* rating but there is no doubt that it is let down by the quality of the food, particularly the evening meal. However, I have noticed that this is a "feature" of many hotels in Italy, which is hard to fathom given that local restaurants manage to provide excellent food and do so very cheaply.

On the plus side, the hotel is very clean, well staffed and has excellent facilities. It is very close to the centre of Forio but well back from the road so no noise. If you ask they will even drive you to local places of interest like Mortello Gardens and Poseidon Gardens to save you getting a taxi.

The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds and plenty of storage, although the showers could be bigger.

The pool and spa areas give the feeling of being in a much higher grade of hotel and the spa treatments are well worth the experience - they leave you feeling relaxed and truly pampered.

Special mention should go to the bar staff for being attentive, friendly, fun and generous with the measures.

All in all I very much enjoyed my stay at Lord Byron but I had excellent company (another Solitair group) so I find it hard to understand the extremes of opinion it seems to generate.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ceetee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forio hotels
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Terme Mediterraneo
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#18 of 81 in Forio
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terme Zi Carmela
Hotel Terme Zi Carmela
#33 of 81 in Forio
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Punta Chiarito Resort Hotel Ristorante
0.2 mi away
Villa Thomas B&B
Villa Thomas B&B
#40 of 81 in Forio
38 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Parco Maria Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lord Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lord Byron

Address: Via Giovanni Castellaccio 21, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Forio
#17 Romantic Hotel in Forio
Price Range: £40 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lord Byron 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Stars Hotel Lord Byron is situated in the centre of Forio d'Ischia, at 600 m from the beach of Chaia, and at 2 km from the well-known beaches of Citara and Cava dell'Isola as well as from the famous "Poseidon" thermal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lord Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Byron Hotel
Lord Byron Forio
Hotel Lord Byron Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing