We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 3 star hotel with excellent staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lord Byron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lord Byron
Ranked #23 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great 3 star hotel with excellent staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

Stayed here last week for four nights with my wife and I've got to say it's one the best 3 star hotels that I've stayed in. Good location, 5 minutes walk from the centre but set back far enough from the road not to be noisy. Booked directly with the hotel via email.

We stayed in room number 202, on the first floor with a massive shower and large balcony facing the front of the hotel. The room was pretty basic but clean and a good size. The TV was tiny and only had 1 English channel (BBC news) but there's no need to sit around watching telly on holiday so it's no problem. Could do with wireless internet access though.

One thing that is good about this place is that it has a good pool with bar and indoor thermal pool and health spa/suite which I thought was great for a 3 star at these prices.

Stayed B&B and the breakfast was just OK but what you expect from a hotel in Italy so no complaints.

Must say something about the staff. From the front desk to the waiter and especially the bar staff, they were all really friendly, professional and would go out of their way to help - great service!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HazyFantazy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    150
    55
    21
    9
See reviews for
48
174
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

Pros; friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms and located close but no too close to centre of Forio.
Cons; small rooms and food only average.

Also think carefully before booking with Solitair Holidays. Their main rep is poor (especially compared to the usually superb Solos reps) and unlike Solos don't use age groups. In theory this can make for an interesting mix but for our group included a lady of 80+ with some health problems (some suspected this included the early stages of Alzheimer's).

Forio is a decent Southern Italian beach resort.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Griffon24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfsberg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

We stayed for one week in this charming, "english-style"-hotel, which is located very close to the center of Forio. From the nice pool area there's a great view on the Epomeo Mountain and you can also see a close medieval tower. They have also a indoor jacuzzi and a indoor termal-pool. Our room was clean, quiet and very comfy.
The food is typical italian - they offer fish, salads, meat, pasta and fruits, we found it excellent, because we love italian food. The staff is very friendly and charming, especially the waiters at the poolbar are humorous. We also appreciated the town of Forio - a beautiful, small, laid-back place with great beaches and surroundings.

Overall, i can absolutely recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — great food, friendly staff, beautiful pool area
  • Disliked — the dining room is not as nice as the rest of the hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Carinthian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2008

Was very pleasantly surprised by the hotel after reading some less than complimentary reviews before going! The hotel was clean and the staff friendly and very helpful - especially the bar and restaurant staff.
The room was fairly basic (after all it is a three star hotel!) but had everything one would want or need - the only draw back in my experience was the terrace - I had a basement room and the terrace was pretty drab with no view at all!
Food was good - plenty of it, well cooked and varied. Waiter service was excellent!
The resort itself was vibrant at night and the island was delightful. I travelled with Solitair - was disappointed with the lack of contact with the rep and was devastated that the trip to Pompeii which I had booked was cancelled - it was to be the highlight of my visit!

  • Liked — The pool and bar
  • Disliked — The room's terrace
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Devonaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

As I type this review on a cold,wet and windy September day in England,I can't help but wish myself back in the glorious Ischian sunshine.
The Hotel Byron was fine, despite some of the less than favourable reviews on this site. Rooms were fairly basic but were cleaned regularly. The air conditioning was efficient and there was plenty of hot water for showers.The towels took some getting used to - more akin to tea towels, but functional.

The pool-side was a little crowded at times and there was the odd pesky mosquito but really liked the sun-beds with the attached canopy. It made sun-bathing and reading so much easier.
The road outside of the hotel was busy but the hotel was set far enough back for traffic noise not to be a problem.
The town was quite vibrant at night with the shops open until midnight.

Food has come in for much criticism and I am a particularly "fussy eater" but there was variety and it was edible.(Perhaps excepting the octopus dish!)
It was plentiful (four course meals) and waiter service, always a bonus.And Enzo was ever there to provide an alternative ,if the available selection did not suit.( Usually a choice from three for main dishes). The tiramisu was particularly good.
Drinks were not too expensive and the wine was reasonable.

The hotel staff were excellent. All very hard-working, friendly and helpful.They certainly tried to ensure that everyone enjoyed a pleasant stay.
There is plenty to see on the island,although getting about and entrance fees can be expensive. The bravest among us could dare the squash of public transport.
Italian driving and parking is better viewed from afar . The narrow windy streets and roads seem to breed a "devil take the hindmost " sort of attitude.
All in all,though, a most enjoyable fortnight.

  • Liked — Reasonably spacious, good setting.
  • Disliked — Terraces attached to rooms need sprucing up. Basement room had no view.
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fussyeaterNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

Have just returned from a wonderful week at the Lord Byron Hotel. The setting is in very pretty grounds, and not noisy at all.

My room was lovely and spacious, with a balcony, overlooking the swimming pool and with fabulous views of the mountains.

The staff were delightful, especially Daniella on the front desk, Enzo the head waiter and all the waiting and bar staff, they all went out of their way to make sure that all guests have an enjoyable stay, nothing was too much trouble for them.

The food was very good, with buffet style breakfast, and evening dinner include Appetizers followed by starters of either a pasta dish or soup, the main course usually consisted of either fish, meat or vegetarian dish. If there was any dish anyone was unhappy with, they were more than happy to serve an alternative.

Also, Rita in the spa, gives a great antistress massage!

A lovely week . Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Lovely staff, good location
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brigh2ngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

Have just returned from the Lord Byron and had a relaxing, comfortable holiday and met a really lovely group of people. Booked through Solitair and the transfers were managed very efficiently.
I was a bit concerned about the food having read reviews prior to my holiday but was really pleased - the food was really good lots of excellent pasta dishes often followed by fresh fish and options were always available. The wine (red or white) was also very drinkable!
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable including arranging concert tickets and taxis when necessary.
The rooms were clean and what I expected from a three star hotel.
Treatments in the spa just added an extra edge.
Recommended!

  • Liked — friendly, helpful staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshireteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forio hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terme Zi Carmela
Hotel Terme Zi Carmela
#30 of 81 in Forio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Franca
Hotel Villa Franca
#58 of 81 in Forio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Angela Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Galidon Terme & Village
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colella Terme
Hotel Colella Terme
#53 of 81 in Forio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Park Victoria
Hotel Park Victoria
#42 of 81 in Forio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lord Byron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lord Byron

Property: Hotel Lord Byron
Address: Via Giovanni Castellaccio 21, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Forio
#17 Romantic Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lord Byron 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Stars Hotel Lord Byron is situated in the centre of Forio d'Ischia, at 600 m from the beach of Chaia, and at 2 km from the well-known beaches of Citara and Cava dell'Isola as well as from the famous "Poseidon" thermal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lord Byron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Byron Hotel
Lord Byron Forio
Hotel Lord Byron Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing