We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mezzatorre Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2011

STRUCTURE: decaying structure nestled between the rocks, beautiful scenery and all.
ROOMS: need urgent maintenance and a new manager, cleaning service not up to a luxury hotel, dust everywhere, hair in the bathroom and on the nightstand, rust in the bathroom taps. Electrical outlets not in compliance, including an electric radiator next to the bathtub, dangerous. Furniture, flooring, shampoo and soap three star hotel. Sheets and pillowcases pillows holes.
RESTAURANT: lack of everything, no service, impersonal, with children running around.
SWIMMING: uncomfortable beds, dirty bottom.
PERSONAL: unprepared managers the most rude and arrogant person I have ever met in a hotel.
What I like best: absolutely nothing
What I like least: bathrooms, service, cleanliness
In the complex: a three star hotel for families with children

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank bestmilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Quote: It is necessary to separate the cliff, far from civilization. The location is as it is a plus, and minus.
Plus - is surrounded by 7 hectares of vast green forests on the coast.
Less - next to the hotel there is no taxi or bus stops. To get to him, you need 15 minutes to walk along a deserted road by the forest.
Day without tension - right woods to the left - Negombo sea - beautiful! And in the evening without a car can not do. Taxi at night from the area in St. Restituta Lacco Ameno Mezzatorre to 15 is from the hotel to Lacco Ameno morning and evening walks hotel minibus, but not always possible to adjust to his schedule. I'm usually in town left for the hospitality bus back to back in a taxi. Other options were not. Walk through the woods at night is not very pleasant.
Immediate access to the beautiful snow-white villa of the famous Italian director Visconti.
In short, the hotel is for those who seek solitude and quiet.
Views from the hotel offers simply stunning - the Vesuvius, the sea, Negombo.
Apart from the main hotel building, among the green forest, a few scattered single-storey buildings.
The rooms are very small, but tastefully decorated. The big advantage was a huge terrace. Bathroom in marble, a tiny, but beautiful. Cosmetics Etro.
Upon arrival welcome juice and desserts. Mineral water replenished constantly.
The hotel has its own rocky beach. Ladder into the sea is very convenient, just goes deep. The sea there is a clean, once the waves washed up garbage, but he was immediately removed. Free places on the beach have always been.
All thermal pools are located in a separate building and they are free of charge. They say it is the only hotel on the island, where thermal pools are paid. And, do not pay an entrance fee, but charged to the pool (which there are 2 or 3 species). One pool for an hour is worth more than a day in Negombo. Various procedures.
Excellent spa, work on the French cosmetics CARITA.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank irun_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The location of this hotel can't be beat. Situated in a small cove, it provided the perfect setting for swimming in the sea and relaxing by the pool. We spent our days lounging by the pool, having lunch, swimming in the sea, spa, lounging by the pool again. HEAVEN! The service was wonderful and we enjoyed getting to know the staff over our five days here. The nightly entertainment was fun - after dinner we found ourselves retiring to the tented lounge were people were dancing and having cocktails. Very glam.

The only downside I saw was that we had paid extra for a seaview room with terrace, but I have to say there wasn't really any sea views from the "Park" section of the hotel. If you cocked your head a bit, you could sea a patch of blue, but most of it was blocked by all of the trees. If I did it again, I would have probably just stayed in the main section, so I didn't have to walk up the hill to my room every time.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StrappySandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My fiancé and I stayed at Mezzatorre as a treat to ourselves during our three week trip to the Amalfi Coast and surrounding islands. We stayed at many more beautiful and luxurious hotels than Mezzatorre for a fraction of the price. We were promised many things that did not happen-including an ocean view. We refused to eat at the hotel because of the absolutely outrageous prices ( min $100 lunch for two, $200+ for dinner). Yet, to go into town to eat was quite a walk and the hotel's transportation to take us on the 10 min drive to town was very limited. We did enjoy the restaurant staff when we ate breakfast there and our one dinner. The food was pretty good. The breakfast spread was ok- it should have been better for the price of the rooms.

With all of that said, if you are filthy rich ( and I mean the kind that is ok with spending exorbitant amounts of money, ignoring how badly your being taken advantage of) the hotel is beautiful and relaxing. We would rather spend out money elsewhere!

PS the room service was nearly non-existent and the concierge was mildly helpful. We expected more from this hotel.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevinlandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Our favourite hotel of the holiday and just as we remembered it having visited 15 years ago. Although not particularly kid friendly our 13yr old and 9 yr old loved it (free wi fi was a plus!). Location beautiful, service amazing, and rooms pristine, but restaurants ridiculously pricey so only ate in hotel once. Breakfast free and delicious! Great free shuttle transfer into town every evening so we used it. Spa lovely but again very pricey - facial approx 60 euros. Four nights was an ideal end to a fairly hectic tour around Rome and Amalfi.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MozandCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Nested on a rock in the island of Ischia, an old castle converted into a hotel, with a beautiful park and a large swimming pool suspended just above the sea, Mezzatorre is truly amazing. The Spa facilities are simple when compared to other 5 star facilities I have been to, and expensive. But the inside swimming pool with massaging jets is an extremely nice one, and staff was nice and competent.
Breakfast was of a very good standard with high selection of food. Lunches at the pool side were a bit disappointing, with food being a bit average and the self serving desk looking like the one of a 2 star hotel. Dinners were set in a superb location but here also food could be better, while the wine selection, save the local ones, was poor.
And finally, the mini bus service to the closest village runs too few times.
I made use of the private boat facilities: I was picked up from airport with a Mercedes and driver, taken to the port of Bagnoli and here I boarded a private speed boat. Expensive at 800 euro but very good.
In all, an excellent stay.
But this said

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Spent a wonderful ten days at this hotel. Rooms are located on the hillsides around main hotel building but paths leading to them can be steep. Not a challenge if one is fit but could pose a problem to anyone with a difficulty walking. I do not recall this being mentioned in anything that I read prior to booking. Two lovely restaurants with good food and wine. Drinks, snacks and pool / beach service expensive however staff are friendly and very attentive. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a luxury, restful holiday. Ideal for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanga1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
21.8 mi away
Starhotels Terminus
Starhotels Terminus
#40 of 186 in Naples
1,205 reviews
4.7 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
0.8 mi away
L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,636 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Montano Resort & SPA
San Montano Resort & SPA
#1 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
454 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Hermitage & Park Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mezzatorre Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezzatorre Resort and Spa

Address: Via Mezza Torre 23, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Forio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Forio
#4 Spa Hotel in Forio
#5 Luxury Hotel in Forio
#7 Romantic Hotel in Forio
Price Range: £228 - £1,779 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mezzatorre Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mezzatorre Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mezzatorre Hotel Forio
Mezzatorre Resort Forio
Mezzatorre Resort And Spa Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing