We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PARADISE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mezzatorre Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“PARADISE!”
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Put simply, the Mezzatorre Resort is paradise on earth. Me and my wife had ear-marked it for our honeymoon and were completely bowled over by the sheer beauty of it. We had an unforgettable stay on account of the extremely courteous and accommodating staff, amazing rooms and excellent services. Located on the island of Ischia, the Mezzatorre Resort is a hidden gem. We strongly recommend it for a quiet, peaceful and amazing (never to be forgotten) get-away.
Shahid & Ayesha

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahid_Saeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    73
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
35
229
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

we spent our summer holidays in August 2008 and it was a great experience!
it has a great location and wonderful view above the sea.
the treatments in the internal Spa were the best I ever tried in particular massages.
the food is truly amazing! I still remember the BABA!!!
we suggest to try this nice experience is the wonderful Ischia.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabryx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

I am pretty much sure it's the best resort in the whole Ischia.
I explored the whole island with Google.Earth, checked all nicely located hotels and the only one stading out was Mezzatorre ! pictures were great and when we arrived, it looked even better. Me and my mom loved the private bay with pure emerald water and various fish swimming around us.
The personnel was excellent and easy to talk to.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay in Mezzatorre Resort & Spa !

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastassiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

I Just return with my family from a short stay of one night at the Mezzatorre on Ischia Island and it was fantastic, we came from capri (one hour by boat) and we have been assigned in a nice deluxe room with sea view that have also a terrace with outdoor jacuzzi, which we have tried. The Hotel is located on a cap of ischia on a hill with an extensive park of 7 hectars, at 15 minutes from the harbour, surrounded by a nature and beautiful gardens it is quiet and exclusive. The restaurant at night have a nice candlelight atmosphere while in the morning they serve the buffet breakfast very good and extensive where you can ask your own omelette cook at your choice on request. There is also a Spa at the Hotel that we did not use for a lack of time but we learn have a nice reputation.
Last but not least the highlight is the swimming pool area, with sea water above the small port of the Hotel where you can swim in the sea in a very clear water facing the Hotel. There is also in a terrace facing the pool the restaurant Sciué Sciué where we have enjoyed at lunch fantastic "antipasti" and sea food pasta or fish cook on the grill at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Totti5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

A fantastic location with the privilege of direct private sea access and a wonderful pool along the sea.
In a large secluded park only 15 minutes away by car from Ischia Porto and at walking distance from little charming Lacco Ameno village. Build around an old fortification refurbished as a private home and lately as a hotel.
The hotel rooms are scattered around the park in purpose build separate tatstefully looking houses. The old fortification is called The Tower and has the most impressive views although not the largest rooms.
We had a suite in the tower which was roomy and in modern comtemporary style. My sons had deluxe rooms in the tower in classic style. Everything top quality and elegant.
The 2 restaurants are very good. The Chandelier restaurant terrace is magical and the breakfast buffet excelent.
The staff in every area was unusually kind and professional.
If you want to check out ISCHIA it is the only place for diserning travellers and refined taste people.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guillermohoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

The Mezzatoree is a great spot for a true getaway. It is nestled in a quiet forested preserve with beautiful views of the Mediterranean. There is a great pool area that overlooks the sea.
The main restaurant there is amazing - truly some of the best food I've had. The risotto with seppie and the veal with truffles are worth the stay. The breakfast buffet is fresh, delicious, and includes a large variety of healthy and not-so-healthy items.
The staff is very accommodating and very elegant.
The views from the main/internet area are spectacular.
This is not the best hotel for kids as there is not a lot going on, but it's great for couples for a romantic getaway.
While expensive, the meals included plan is the way to go as Ischia itself is not a very elegant place and the offsite restaurants were only OK, except for the pizzerias of course.
The spa is nice, we really liked the water treatments.
I suggest going for longer than a weekend as it's a long ferry ride from Naples and not convenient.
No need to rent a car. Besides, Ischia drivers are kind of scary!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViaggioGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Mezzatorre Resort and Spa for our honeymoon at the beginning of May 2008. You always hope you have made the right decision in your choice of holiday destination and hotel, but this being our honeymoon it was even more important that we enjoy our stay. So I was slightly nervous about the trip living up to expectations, but I am pleased to say I needn't have worried - as the Mezzatorre and Ischia turned out to be an excellent choice for our honeymoon.

Before I describe the hotel and the island, it might be helpful to some if I pass on our experience of the transfer from Naples. Taking advice form another Trip Advisor user, I booked our transfer from Naples airport to the hotel via a company called Insula Transfer. We were met at the airport and seamlessly transferred via taxi and hydrofoil direct to the Mezzatorre. This saved us any of the hassle and uncertainty of making our own way there, and we found the cost of the transfer quite reasonable - we saved about £60 on the cost of a similar transfer option that the Mezzatorre offered.

We found Ischia to be very pleasant, it is not over developed or over-run with tourists. There are several small towns and quiet villages where you can enjoy a leisurely wander as you explore the pretty streets and browse the various gift and craft shops etc. We particularly liked Ischia Ponte and the views of Castel Aragonase. The castle itself is not that interesting to explore but at the very top you can enjoy some splendid panoramic views. We also liked St Angelo where there are several restaurants with gorgeous sea views - the perfect place to stop for lunch! Ischia Porto is another part of the island that is worth visiting, it is the area where we found the best selection of restaurants.

We hired a car to travel round the island and it can easily be done in a day, including stops for an hour or two at various small towns and villages. The one thing I would say about driving in Ischia is that you really need to be careful - the roads are steep, narrow and winding, and you will come around a lot of blind corners so need to stay alert at all times. Also, for a fairly quiet island the roads can be surprisingly busy, and the other road users seem to be doing their own thing, so it can be pretty chaotic at times.

Bearing in mind that you can see a lot of Ischia in one day, you will probably need to take some excursions away from the island if you want to keep busy and see new things. We took a day trip to the neighbouring island of Capri but found it was quite commercialised and much too crowded with tourists for our liking. The blue grotto was nice to see but not something I would say is worth going out of your way for.

We also took a half day trip to Procida, one of the other islands in the area. Quite the opposite to Capri, Procida appears virtually untouched by tourism, the downside of this is that there is not a great deal to see there. However, it is well worth effort to walk up the hill toward the old prison where you can look down on the tiered, pastel coloured buildings of Marina Coricella.

We would liked to have taken some of the excursions to the Amalfi coast, but unfortunately these did not begin until June.

Given that the sights of Ischia, and the number of excursions available were limited, we spent more time than we normally would have in and around the hotel. The nearest town is Lacco Ameno, which is about a 20 minute walk from the Mezzatorre -half of which is taken up by the walk that takes you out of the hotel's grounds! The walk from the hotel to town is down hill and quite enjoyable in good weather. Coming back I would suggest making use of the hotel's shuttle bus which stops in Lacco Ameno's town square. The service is fairly limited though to a few trips in the morning and again in the evening, the hotel will provide a timetable - although they don't always keep to it, a couple of times we waited for the shuttle bus and it never turned up! Walking back up to the hotel wasn't a problem on the few occasions we needed to, but I'm not sure we would have felt the same way if the weather had been particularly hot or if we weren't reasonably fit.

Lacco Ameno has a pretty town square and a main street that runs alongside the beach. The street is lined with gift shops, gelateria, and café bars etc and is very enjoyable to take a relaxing stroll along. I was quite surprised though at the lack of restaurants in the town, the only one we found was La Sirenella, a small pizzeria with a fabulous beachfront location.

During the time of our stay, the Santa Restita festival was held and the main street and town square were illuminated with colourful festive lights in the evening. The festival lasted a couple of days and drew crowds for the highpoint when a street market was held, but it never became unbearably crowded and the festival has a good family atmosphere. It is well worth seeing if you are in Ischia at that time of year.

Another place to visit within walking distance of the hotel is La Mortella botanic garden. The gardens are quite tranquil and offer a good alternative way to spend a couple of hours.

As mentioned though, we spent a fair amount of time relaxing in the hotel and enjoying its magnificent views.
Mezzatorre hotel has a five star rating, and though we wouldn't describe it as the pinnacle of five star luxury, we still very satisfied with the hotel and had no real issues with it or problems during our stay.
We were staying in a comfort sea view room and it, along with the hotel in general was clean and well maintained. We would have preferred our room, and in particular the bathroom, to be a little bigger but it wasn't uncomfortably small. The room's décor wasn't as in keeping and lavish as the rest of the hotel but it was bright and cheerful.

The pool area was neat and well maintained and never became overcrowded during our stay. The pool attendant was very attentive and immediately brought towels and set them out on sun loungers when we arrived, as well as setting up the shade for us. We are not ones for spa treatments but my wife enjoyed the complimentary spa treatments she received. I preferred to spend my time in the gym on a few occasions and while it was a bit limited in the equipment available, there was enough for a general workout and I had the gym completely to myself each time I used it.

We only dined in the hotel's Chandelier restaurant once - the evening of our arrival, and were disappointed. The menu seemed a bit pretentious, the food was only average and the portions were quite small. It was also quite expensive and the atmosphere a bit too formal for our liking.
Fortunately, the breakfast experience more than made up for it and we were very, very impressed with the variety and quality of the breakfast buffet and the service during breakfast which was friendly, helpful and relaxed.
We also had lunch at the Sciue Sciue poolside bar/restaurant a couple of times and it was very good as well. We would have liked to have had dinner there but unfortunately it was not open for dinner during our stay as it only opens for dinner from June.

Given that we were unimpressed by the hotel's Chandelier restaurant, this presented a bit of a problem as we did struggle at times for alternatives in the evenings. As mentioned, in the nearby town of Lacco Ameno we found only one restaurant apart from those in other nearby hotels. A little way further along the coast - still within walking distance of the Mezzatorre hotel (30 minutes), is the town of Casamicciola, but again dining options are limited to one pizzeria and a couple of café bars.
We had to travel further for a choice of restaurants in the evening, as mentioned - Ischia Porto (15 minutes by car) has dozens - located by the harbour and also on the main street which leads away from it.

In summary, Ischia is a pleasant place to go if you want to relax and take the sightseeing at a slow pace. And we had a great stay at the Mezzatorre hotel, the staff were friendly and attentive, the hotel is in a gorgeous, peaceful location, that offers a very relaxed and comfortable stay - it is worth visiting for the breakfasts and fabulous sea views alone!

  • Liked — Views and surroundings.
  • Disliked — Chandelier restaurant is too formal in the evening and poor value.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Mark_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
0.6 mi away
San Montano Resort & SPA
San Montano Resort & SPA
#1 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
0.8 mi away
L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
2.2 mi away
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
#5 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mezzatorre Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mezzatorre Resort and Spa

Property: Mezzatorre Resort and Spa
Address: Via Mezza Torre 23, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Forio
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Forio
#4 Spa Hotel in Forio
#5 Luxury Hotel in Forio
#7 Romantic Hotel in Forio
#20 Family Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mezzatorre Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Mezzatorre Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mezzatorre Hotel Forio
Mezzatorre Resort Forio
Mezzatorre Resort And Spa Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing