We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broken hopes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Terme Royal Palm
Ranked #18 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Broken hopes”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This is not a 4-star hotel !!!
Drawbacks:
1. Very small rooms (even smaller than a typical Italian 3-star room), Very uncomfortable beds
2. Rats running right behind the room door
3. No free internet access.
4. No room service
5 Any infomation only in German and Italian (no English)
6. "Russian hotel" (many Russians)
7. 150 meters high from the beach, no transfer to the beach.
8. No normal transfers to the cities of Ischia.
Advantages:
1. Mario - restorant service chief - is the best!!! He speaks any language and provides a good service and atmosphere in the restorant
2. Good views
3. Not far from the Poseidon thermal park.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Renat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    268
    104
    70
    83
See reviews for
185
317
30
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tobolsk, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2011

All our group-44 the person very much liked to have a rest in hotel. We ordered all numbers with a view of the sea and all were very happy. Fine pools, good meal, magnificent kinds - our dreams have come true.
Tatiana,
Russia, Tumen reg.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TatianaZRMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazan, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

The hotel is located in a silent, quiete part of island, with wonderful view on a see. If you prefer quiet rest without noise and parties - this hotel for you, because there is almost nothing to do in the evening. The basic contingent of hotel and practically all others is older persons.
In hotel you will be met by the benevolent personnel, pure, good rooms, the cheerful waiters who will help you to understand all "variety" of the menu. And, certainly, inimitable Mario who remains in memory of many people.
Some wishes: to add the menu in english, for the second restaurant to make a separate input (it isn't so pleasant to pass on a corridor through rooms), to deversify the evening program.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albina_S-va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I have chosen this hotel by chance. I wanted to bring my family to this part of the world to vave a nice beach but also to show Pompei, Vesuvius, Kapri...
Later I found some negative comments in the Tripadvisor and some other sources and became a bit scared.
I was happy to see later that all these negative comments seemed to be significantly exaggerated.
It was a woderful stay. The hotel is very good. We had nice rooms, one was with the see view. Another one was for children on the other side of the corridor and was also nice. The view was just terrific. The water clean and wonderful. There are thermae directly in the hotel: three pools: from very hot to warm water. There are natural thermae accessible by bus placed directly in a very small bay (Sorgento). There is a sand beach 5 minutes frrom the hotel (there is a shuttle service, but we walked). The food was good. We were served in the restaurant and for us the diversity and the quality of the food was OK. Of course in some 5 star hotels we had a bigger choice. Those who search for this option can probably look for another hotel. One should note however, that in these 5 star hotels we were not served with positive and efficient waitors with a good sense of humor. One must introduce at least some criticism. May be a little bit more personnel at the reception would be useful. The hotel dominates the bay but it does not have direct access to the beach (waking distance ~ 5-7 minutes or a bus shuttle). Nothing is completely perfect. For us these minor things were not really important. Please note that there is no good internet access. There is only one computer available and the connection is not always reliable. People buy italian cell phone cards and plug to their notebooks to have constant access. On the ther side cell phone was enough for me to solve the most of the business issues. It may be evem better to keep the vacation e-mail free, when possible. To conclude, yes, we have visited Pompei, Kapri, Vesuvius, bought some very nice cameo in Forio, enjoyed wonderful sand beaches with brathtaking views. It's the first time I would like to have my next vocation at the same place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2010

An exceptionally wonderful place to come and stay for the rest of your life ))
Absolutely positive impression of the vacation here. Nice placement of the hotel, friendly personnel and fantastic Mario - restaurant administrator. Cool to stay alone or with a family. Not important.
Relaxing pools, wonderful view on the see from every spot of the hotel. Sunset at dinner and lights of the stars at night. It is unbelievably great!!!!
My son, who is not an easy child, felt absolutely comfortable and relaxed which in ordinary life happens quite seldom to him. Very, very friendly hospital people...
I will come back, the only thing is to get another vacation... :))))))

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iramedvedeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

I suggest the hotel for a vocation without small kids. Hotel, restaurant, food, services were excellent. Very good salad bufet, choice of 3 different meals, 4 course menu. Good prices for good wines. Very close is spa resort Giardini Poseidon, the famous beach Citara.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milada_matiovska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prague
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

i just returned yesterday from a one week stay in "royal" palm hotel on ischia island and i hope i've experienced the worst stay in a hotel in my whole lifetime.
although we ordered and payed extra for a superior room, the bathroom was full of disfunction (constantly leaking shower, clogged sink and bath-tub, mouldy ceiling, dirty shower), the TV set was minuscule, so tiny it couldn't be watched from the bed and the blankets were so disgustingly scuffed that it was a horror to touch them (yuck!). of course it doesn't help to complain, nobody knows, no one is responsible, we usually had to wait for hours for someone to show up at the reception desk just to be told there is nobody around for the moment to fix the problems.
that's not all though. the advertised pools are absolutely unworthy, small with greasy water and dirt on their bottom (see pictures). although guests of the hotel you have to pay an extra 1,60 eur per day for using a plastic deckchair in the hotel area.
but the worse of the worse was the FOOD. you would think italian food can't go wrong, since it is simple, light and so varied. well, you are wrong and "royal" palm terme hotel kitchen is a live proof. even the coffee is bad there, can you believe that?? the buffet breakfast was every day the same 2 kind of (the cheapest and most unappetizing) cheese, worse salamis, hard boiled and all broken eggs and tasteless tomatos cut in pieces and served together with oranges (also cut in pieces) on an aluminium tray. you could smell the low quality of all foods and you could see how they recycle all unconsumed eatables to cook lunch and dinner. as for those ones, although they were "royally" named in the menus, they tasted worse then in a works canteen. we were suffering every day when the time to eat was approaching. the worse thing is that you don;t have any good restaurants close by and you would have to walk 2-3 km to the closest village Forio to get a more reasonable meal.
this hotel certainly does not wort the money nor the effort to be visited. it is not a 3 (or 4, as they use to pretend) stars hotel, it is a cheap hostel level full of old pensioners. beware of that!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aammcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Forio hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forio hotels
0.3 mi away
Semiramis Hotel de Charme Ischia
0.2 mi away
Park Imperial Hotel Terme
1.7 mi away
Family Spa Hotel Le Canne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Terme Mediterraneo
2.1 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Parco Maria Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terme Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terme Royal Palm

Property: Hotel Terme Royal Palm
Address: Via Giovanni Mazzella 184, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Forio
#9 Luxury Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Terme Royal Palm 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property overlooks the bay of Citara, one of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Ischia. With 4 swimming pools (two indoor and two outdoor) and a wellness center, has an agreement with the ASL for mud therapy and respiratory treatments. Great for families and couples, promotions for stays of 2, 3 and 7 nights at affordable prices. Do not miss the breathtaking views from the rooms and from the terrace you can admire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Terme Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terme Royal Palm Hotel
Terme Royal Palm Forio
Hotel Terme Royal Palm Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing