We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Beach Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paradise Beach Hostel
Ranked #4 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Island Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved my stay here. After travelling through cities for 3 weeks it was amazing to just lay out by the pool for a few days.
The staff were really friendly and helpful, the rooms and bathrooms light and clean. They have a well stocked kitchen, a BBQ area and a couple of lovely dining areas.
Although the hostel isn't in Forio center, it is smack bang next to a bus stop, close to a scooter rental place and a 10 minute walk from a cheap supermarket.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rlr94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    15
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
24
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

well well well....... look what can be found on the beautiful island of Ischia. Shaun and Andrew and his little team of woofers welcome you into their fold and offer comfy beds, stunning views and a feeling of spending time in the extravagant house of a friendly distant relative. This once grand hotel on the side of a hill overlooking the mediterranean, is ideally positioned to offer guests a respite from the real world. This is no regular hostel. Rooms all look out over the inground pool terrace which overlooks the ocean and the gorgeous beach 1 & 2 below! The private rooms are a generous size with doors opening onto the terrace, large ensuites and cleaned daily.
Shaun and Andrew go to huge efforts to organise group bonding experiences such as lunch cook ups, dinner outings and visits to local island sites. The local bus is directly up the path to take you to the magical places that Ischia has to offer, make sure you take the CD or the CS and go around the whole island - it is a must do and you'll get to see the village Italy you had pictured in your head! well done Shaun and Andrew and see you again:)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracys0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you stay anywhere near Naples, you have to come here. A friend and I traveled for 6 weeks, and this by far the best hostel on the trip. We liked it so much we changed our flight to stay longer. Shaun and his staff took us to the hot springs, cooked a barbecue, and ordered delivery lunch for every guest just to name a few things. Beaches are amazing, and the views are incredible. Thanks for an awesome few days, Shaun.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights in May 2014... What a BEAUTIFUL place to stay at!!! Very nice and peaceful location. Shaun and Andrew are amazing hosts!!! From organizing dinners out and bbqs, they are a fantastic bunch, even accompanied us to the port at our departure; so friendly and helpful! My girlfriend and I loved our stay here and could of easily stayed longer, thank you for making us feel like we were at home... Highly recommend and would hands down definitely repeat!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Paradise Beach is a really great place to stay, on a very beautiful island. Shaun and his staff are lovely, and they helped to provide a perfect balance between fun and relaxation during the week that I spent there. The location is quite good, and a few of my favorite meals that I had on my whole trip were just a short walk or bus trip away. The hostel was always spotless and my bed was very comfortable. I have no complaints and would go back right now if I could!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Our hostel in Naples recommended this hostel for a night but we stayed a week. Our stay on this little island was amazing but this was more due to the fabulous Paradise Beach hostel than to anything else.

They made sure we got to experience the true Italy the way we always imagined it... relaxed, beachy, atmospheric; a moment of stolen beauty. A big thank you to the hostel and it's staff. Shaun: you are the bedrock for English speakers going to Ischia!!!

We might not go back to Italy for a while, but our memories will be of this little island and it's amazing little hostel!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMCeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

What a gorgeous place for a holiday! Stayed with a friend for two nights at Paradise Beach and we had a fantastic time. Thank you to Sean, Andrew, and all the staff for making our stay on Ischia such a perfect escape at the end of our whirlwind tour of Italy. They took us on great outings each night, the first to the hot springs and pizza and the second night for a great view and dinner at a fantastic locals only type place. The hostel was set up really well for meeting the other guests and my only recommendation to Sean and co. would be to add a couple signs to the kitchen which was well equipped but not the easiest to use. I will definitely be recommending this hostel to friends and hope to stay again!

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the pool and ocean!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Juliatheadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Terme Mediterraneo
1.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
#1 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Torre Sant'Angelo
2.7 mi away
Albergo Terme La Reginella
Albergo Terme La Reginella
#2 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.8 mi away
Poggio del Sole
Poggio del Sole
#22 of 81 in Forio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Beach Hostel

Property: Paradise Beach Hostel
Address: Via Provinciale Panza 387 | Cuotto/Citara, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Paradise Beach Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're here to stop you doing anything too extraordinary! Beach backpacker life in the turquoise, Mediterranean is simply not like that. Lounging... by the pool to the scent of our herb garden, BBQing... at sunset among our fruit trees and jasmine gazebo, playing... with our super-friendly dogs, Tequila Boom Boom and Lupo Luppolo, tanning... a gorgeous bronzed colour over a wine or beer... ... These are the things that we're about. When people reach us they have seen some pretty amazing sites in this fabulous old country. Well, you won't here... unless beautiful Italian beach bodies are your thing. We're on the 'the most beautiful thermal island in the world', overlooking Capri, Mt Vesuvius, and the Sorrento Peninsular. One reviewer said recently, we are your "Holiday's Holiday" Hostel... a real review from a real reviewer - I guess, that's an extraordinary find in a popular tourist area! But we're not just about sitting on your bottom doing nothing though... we have an outdoor pool with music playing into the night, a summer games bar, running water (just like in Canada), and a communal kitchen. Then there are group trips to clubs, beaches, restaurants, hot springs, archaeological sites, pubs, the mountaintops and on boats. Strenuous, eh! Sometimes you even have to pour your own coffee at breakfast on a terrace overlooking the Gulf and watched by an ancient volcano. Extraordinary? No, it's just a wretched part of the daily island grind. The Romans sunbathed here; the Spanish bathed, the Greeks and French did Greek and French things. Life really hasn't changed much in 3,000 years - and you will do what they did. But, we have free WiFi, as well. So, where the bloody hell are you, mate? We'll recommend the best foods and wines in Italy on top of the island, at one of the many cheap, local, hidden gems. We don't own a restaurant so we have no axe to grind; our recommendations are as impartial as they are delicious, from tried and true experience. And, we're not stuck in the stuffy, hot centre of some noisy city. What you'll hear is the sea lapping against the beach, the ice clinking on your glass and those symphonic Australian accents. We really are here to stop you doing anything extraordinary! Our rooms face seaward towards dream-like, distant islands in the west, with the summer sun shining on us for 16 hours a day! When you arrive you'll get fresh, sundried linen, a secure place for your possessions, a cosy bed, clean bathrooms, sassy social socializing spots, help with your bookings, travel plans, and summer day-excursions to Amalfi, Sorrento and Capri. You really won't regret sleeping with us!!! We're 40 minutes by boat from Naples, and you can reach us easily (and cheaply) from Sorrento, Amalfi, Capri, Pozzulli, Procida and Rome. Buses stop right outside our gate. Then, sitting with friends, a cocktail and a BBQ, watching the sun dip into the sea, you'll appreciate this irony... at Paradise Beach Backpackers, the sun never truly sets! Book your sunset here today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Paradise Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Beach Hostel Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing