We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was amazing!!!”
Review of Ring Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ring Hostel
Ranked #10 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was amazing!!!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The Colella family made Ischia feel like home and I did not want to leave. The Ring Hostel was clean, homey and well kept. The view from the roof of the island was spectacular and the food at the family restaurant was to die for! I still crave the food on a regular basis. Ischia is an island everyone should visit and the Ring Hostel is the perfect place to stay if you really want to experience Italy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    19
    6
    8
    10
See reviews for
1
17
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights in august,we originally booked a 12 bed dorm but were put in a 4 bed dorm with our own private balcony which was awesome.but the room was so hot ,it would be nice if they supplied a small fan.there was only one bathroom to accommodate 3 rooms not sure on how many people,however we neva had any problems in waiting time for a shower.but the toilet seat had a huge crack through one side which yes did pinch you ,the shower head was still usable i didnt have much problems with it but the water sprays out the side of the seal.there should be some kind of rubber matt on the ground so you dont slip!!!every time i went to go to the bathroom there was no toilet paper however the ever so nice marta maria had some downstairs all the time,but the inconvenience was a bit annoying.

our room was a good size the beds were very comfy and the lockers in the room were very handy however the ladder on the top bunk was half hanging of which made it hard to get to your bed.

breakfast is very very average we skipped it except one day when there was only 3 bits of bread left however we asked for some more bread and that was no problem.theres a juice and coffee machine which have been broken for a while (why not get ride of them and put a kitchen stove there?) they advertise as having a kitchen ,it is a small kitchenette with 2 small elements that took me 20 mins just to cook pasta not the best idea as everyone else wants to cook dinner as well.and there is very basic kitchen crockery to cook.The kitchen gets so dirty and unclean theres no system in place,they expect people to wash there dishes but they dont supply clean sponges ,we went and brought some.the maid doesnt come till late arvo so marta maria is the only staff member there,its a bit hard if you only have a one man team all the time,they should have 1 staff member that floats around to make sure things are clean and kept up to scratch.

on a positive note the top terrace has a nice view and they own a sister hotel on the water where you can go for the day use the day beds and free kayak.

i think the owners should take more responsibilty,love and care for the hostel,out of the 3 buisnesse it feels like it is the one that is left to its own devices.

i feel that this hostel could have real potential if there were a few things here n there that are replaced and the place was kept clean as the day we check in the toaster was on the couch(not a good look)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiraleejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hostel is a great place to stay on the cheap. The owners are always willing to offer places to go, see or things to do (real things too, not tacky tourist stuff). The staff are friendly and have plenty of tips for those new to the island. The family also owns luxury beach villas and a mountain-side escape set on the side of their own 300+ year old olive and wine garden if a hostel is not for you. You have full access to any and all of the families facilities.

The walk from the docks is a little daunting for those who have over-packed but a seasoned hosteling traveller will have no problems with the centuries-old cobbled streets that lead right past the centre of Forio, past the many amazing cafe's and shops and a few blocks above the main markets. The family also owns an amazing restaurant that they will shuttle you to nightly for the most amazing home-cooked food you will likely encounter in your travels.

Room Tip: The upstairs "Orange Rooms" are the most recently renovated, one has a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tawny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My trip would not have been the same if I had chosen to stay anywhere else but Ring Hostel. What a wonderful environment and great people. You will feel just at home and they will do anything to accomodate you. The hostel has lots of history and love in its walls. Absolutely life changing experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed at the Ring Hostel with my classmates during a course that we were doing with our Faculty of Pharmacy from the University of Alberta (Canada). It was my fourth and best trip to Italy, much of the reason being due to the wonderful familial atmosphere at the hostel. The three brothers plus Mamma Tina and Papà Salvatore make you feel like part of the family and help to give you the true, authentic feeling of Italy that is all too often missing when you backpack through Italy. The desk staff are wonderfully knowledgeable, especially my lovely Marta Maria, and know all the tips and tricks for seeing the best of the island. Everyone is so courteous and kind, the brothers will take turns shuttling you back and forth between the hostel and the family restaurant. I have had my share of Italian food, and I can assure you that some of the best food I've ever eaten in Italia was at La Casareccia, the family's own restaurant. The rooms are clean and ours had a gorgeous balcony with stunning views of the mountain and the quaint streets below. There is a wicked rooftop where we would all sit and have a few Peroni while watching the sunset, you've never seen a sight more beautiful. We enjoyed the common area, there is ample space to gather and share stories from a day of adventure or to just have a sporadic dance party! Bruno, one of Papà Salvatore's dogs is always making appearances to give kisses to the ladies. I have traveled quite extensively over Europe, Asia, and the Americas and can honestly say the Ring Hostel holds a special place in my heart. I think of the family often, they are the soul of the operation and the whole reason you will have the trip of a lifetime in Ischia! The brothers will go to every extent to make sure you are comfortable and enjoying your time there. Papà Salvatore even fixed my friend's baggage with his own two hands and Giuseppe rescued my girlfriend and I when we arrived in Forio at 1am the first morning! Grazie mille a tutti! I hope very much to make a return trip in the near future! Love, Jasmine.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I had an amazing stay at the Ring Hostel in Ischia. The island is beautiful, the staff are friendly and welcoming, and there were so many great things to do (beaches, markets, castles, hot springs, hiking, cliff-diving, spas, bars and clubs...). The hostel is located a short 10 minute walk from the centre of Forio (as well as the port) which has shops, restaurants, fresh produce markets, and more. Forio offered a wonderfully authentic Italian stay without feeling too tourist-y.

The hostel itself has a large common room with a TV and sound system, a pool table and fooseball table, spacious rooms with lockers for storage, clean bathrooms and kitchen, a lovely rooftop terrace (a great place to relax and hang out with other guests late at night), and wonderful staff.

The best part, though, was definitely the Colella family that runs both the hostel and one of the most amazing restaurants I've ever eaten at. They go so far out of their way to make sure your stay is as great as it can be that it feels like a home away from home. They will help you navigate the bus system, give great advice on where to go and what to see, as well as offering a free shuttle to the family's restaurant (which has the most delicious, authentic, home-cooked meals made from fresh ingredients from the family's gardens and the island). I have never met any hostel staff as accomodating as the Colella family. They made sure everyone in our group had something to eat at the restaurant, even with specific requests like vegetarian or gluten-free, and even came and picked up other travellers coming to the hostel when they got lost! After a short trip to Sorrento, when we returned to the island on a late ferry we almost missed the last buses, but they were willing to come and pick us up from Ischia harbour! Wonderful, amazing and helpful people.

I could not imagine having had a better stay in Italy than I found at the Ring hostel, and I will most definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The double room was small, hot and the window opened out onto somebody else's balcony, so that throughout the night you were treated to other people's conversations and cigarette smoke. We had to wait hours for the bathroom, which was dirty and shared with two dorm rooms. The smell kept us well away from the self-catering facilities which were nowhere near adequate for the number of people in the hostel. On the plus side, the roof terrace was pleasant and for solo travellers wanting to meet people and not too bothered about dirt it's probably ok - I guess they're the target audience! We've stayed in much better places for the amount we paid here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
0.4 mi away
Albergo Santa Lucia
Albergo Santa Lucia
#55 of 81 in Forio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Poggio del Sole
Poggio del Sole
#23 of 81 in Forio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#25 of 81 in Forio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Calabattaglia
Calabattaglia
#5 of 7 in Ventotene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa del Sole
Casa del Sole
#4 of 81 in Forio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
23.4 mi away
Hotel Borgo Cacciatori
Hotel Borgo Cacciatori
#3 of 7 in Ventotene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ring Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ring Hostel

Property: Ring Hostel
Address: Via Gaetano Morgera 72, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is THE place to enjoy the real Ischia vibe! Run by 3 Italian brothers, the Ring Hostel was established in 2002 and continues to be the only original hostel on the island. Located right in the historic centre of Forio, 5min from the port, where tiny roads and buzzing Vespa's will lead you to our front door. You will find great value for money in our themed rooms including Free breakfast, linen, Free use of Kitchen, internet and WiFi. We have international staff speaking different languages who will explain how to get around the island, what the best attractions are and give you free maps and info. We try our best to assist you with anything you need during your stay. You can relax and soak up the sun during the day on some of the most beautiful beaches on the island or simply enjoy the hostel's roof-top terrace with sun-chairs. Other fun free activities include Cliff Jumping, Hiking and Hot Springs. Then sample the tastiest home cooking on the island and party with us at night at La Casereccia - our family restaurant. Look out for special deals and offers on our hostel wall! And don't forget to see our Wall of Fame! Stay with us and we will show you the best time you will have on your holiday! From Forio Port you can take day trips to Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento, Pompei. If you want to have a fun time, or just a calm vacation, Ring Hostel can offer both. We offer private ensuite rooms for 1 to 8 people as well as dorm rooms for 2, 4, 6, and 8 or 12 people with shared bathrooms. We have a wide selection of rooms, so please choose what suits you best. And if you don't find what you looking for, send us an email - we have other accommodation which might suite you better! Always happy to accommodate! Our Great rates include: Free linen Free Breakfast Free lockers Free internet Free Wi-Fi Connection Vending machines Free Pool Table, Ping Pong Table, Guitars Huge common room with books and a big Satellite TV Free access to our Private Beach Platform Free Kayaks and pedal boat No curfew No age limit Washing machines available Roof garden & terraces with fresh herbs Discounts for local sites, like thermal gardens & spas Free Swimming pool access at the sister hotel Free transportation to and from our family restaurant Things to do in town: Disco & Night Club Pub & bar crawls Day trips to Capri, Pompei & Amalfi Coast - we do reservations Moped, car & bike rental can be arranged Boat Rentals Moonlight parties at the Hot Springs Italian Language & Culture courses Cooking & Pizza courses Cocktail Sun Downers at our Beach Residence Booking at Ring Hostel you will have free access to Poggio del Sole and Rotonda sul Mare facilities including swimming pool, bars, restaurants, beach, terraces, you name it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ring Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring Hostel Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing