We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had the best time!”
Review of Ring Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ring Hostel
Ranked #10 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Forio
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had the best time!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I went there with a friend and it was really good. The hostel is very cute with large living room where you can socialize with other guests. The one thing that made it really special was the visit to the owners family restaurant where they taught us how to make some dishes. We then dine there and it was delicious. Giuseppe was very helpful and friendly, totally recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalyEmmanuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    19
    6
    9
    12
See reviews for
2
19
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This has been a wonderful experience for me. Its very clean and the home is enormous. Its definitely unique in many ways and exactly what I was looking for during my stay. There has been plenty of food for breakfast and snacks throughout the day. The hostel location is within walking distance to the port, the bus, and stores so I found it convenient to navigate by foot.
The family is warm and kind and sincere, they really want to know if there is anything that can be done to make my time here as comfortable as possible. The dog Bruno is adorable and very friendly.
Any information I needed was provided in a timely manner. My stay was 5 nights and due to an emergency it was extended to a total of 11 nights. I have been treated with ultimate kindness and hospitality.
To address the previous reviewer: This person SammyT_11 makes no sense to me. The experience shared is nothing like what I have come to know about the Ring Hostel. Personally I would recommend staying here and I have to all my friends. Its a very nice hostel, not a hotel. If this person arrived with expectations then thats the problem. It sounds as if SammyT_11 wants to be upset and it wouldn't surprise me that they have made other bad reviews for personal instant gratification. I feel sorry for this poor soul. I'm glad that energy was no where near me when I arrived.
Marta Maria was at the front desk and very helpful especially with her ability to speak several languages fluently. She has a great personality and communicates very well with no confusion at all.
Lots of good times have been spent here and I'm looking forward to my return. When you decide to stay here I recommend more than one night. There is so much to see and experience its impossible to do it all in one night. Also the price is very good when you need to travel on a budget. Ischia is a wonderful place to visit and this side of the island, in Forio, is more historical with patina. When you visit you are doing yourself a favor to be here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed here with a friend for what was supposed to be a few days and we ended up staying an entire week. Great atmosphere, met many people, family restaurant was very good and great value. There is a rooftop with a great view and places to sit and just relax. Great place to stay, rooms are good. I switched rooms because we extended our stay and didn't even mind. Marta Maria was so helpful with everything. I've stayed in many hostels all over Europe and this is my favorite one. Ischia is such a beautiful island and I will be back to visit and I will definitely stay at the Ring Hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mavie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The Colella family made Ischia feel like home and I did not want to leave. The Ring Hostel was clean, homey and well kept. The view from the roof of the island was spectacular and the food at the family restaurant was to die for! I still crave the food on a regular basis. Ischia is an island everyone should visit and the Ring Hostel is the perfect place to stay if you really want to experience Italy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 3 nights in august,we originally booked a 12 bed dorm but were put in a 4 bed dorm with our own private balcony which was awesome.but the room was so hot ,it would be nice if they supplied a small fan.there was only one bathroom to accommodate 3 rooms not sure on how many people,however we neva had any problems in waiting time for a shower.but the toilet seat had a huge crack through one side which yes did pinch you ,the shower head was still usable i didnt have much problems with it but the water sprays out the side of the seal.there should be some kind of rubber matt on the ground so you dont slip!!!every time i went to go to the bathroom there was no toilet paper however the ever so nice marta maria had some downstairs all the time,but the inconvenience was a bit annoying.

our room was a good size the beds were very comfy and the lockers in the room were very handy however the ladder on the top bunk was half hanging of which made it hard to get to your bed.

breakfast is very very average we skipped it except one day when there was only 3 bits of bread left however we asked for some more bread and that was no problem.theres a juice and coffee machine which have been broken for a while (why not get ride of them and put a kitchen stove there?) they advertise as having a kitchen ,it is a small kitchenette with 2 small elements that took me 20 mins just to cook pasta not the best idea as everyone else wants to cook dinner as well.and there is very basic kitchen crockery to cook.The kitchen gets so dirty and unclean theres no system in place,they expect people to wash there dishes but they dont supply clean sponges ,we went and brought some.the maid doesnt come till late arvo so marta maria is the only staff member there,its a bit hard if you only have a one man team all the time,they should have 1 staff member that floats around to make sure things are clean and kept up to scratch.

on a positive note the top terrace has a nice view and they own a sister hotel on the water where you can go for the day use the day beds and free kayak.

i think the owners should take more responsibilty,love and care for the hostel,out of the 3 buisnesse it feels like it is the one that is left to its own devices.

i feel that this hostel could have real potential if there were a few things here n there that are replaced and the place was kept clean as the day we check in the toaster was on the couch(not a good look)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiraleejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hostel is a great place to stay on the cheap. The owners are always willing to offer places to go, see or things to do (real things too, not tacky tourist stuff). The staff are friendly and have plenty of tips for those new to the island. The family also owns luxury beach villas and a mountain-side escape set on the side of their own 300+ year old olive and wine garden if a hostel is not for you. You have full access to any and all of the families facilities.

The walk from the docks is a little daunting for those who have over-packed but a seasoned hosteling traveller will have no problems with the centuries-old cobbled streets that lead right past the centre of Forio, past the many amazing cafe's and shops and a few blocks above the main markets. The family also owns an amazing restaurant that they will shuttle you to nightly for the most amazing home-cooked food you will likely encounter in your travels.

Room Tip: The upstairs "Orange Rooms" are the most recently renovated, one has a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tawny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My trip would not have been the same if I had chosen to stay anywhere else but Ring Hostel. What a wonderful environment and great people. You will feel just at home and they will do anything to accomodate you. The hostel has lots of history and love in its walls. Absolutely life changing experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
1.0 mi away
Poggio del Sole
Poggio del Sole
#28 of 81 in Forio
192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Santa Lucia
Albergo Santa Lucia
#52 of 81 in Forio
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#25 of 81 in Forio
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Carolina
Hotel Villa Carolina
#31 of 81 in Forio
223 reviews
23.5 mi away
Calabattaglia
Calabattaglia
#4 of 7 in Ventotene
211 reviews
1.0 mi away
Family Spa Hotel Le Canne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ring Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ring Hostel

Property: Ring Hostel
Address: Via Gaetano Morgera 72, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is THE place to enjoy the real Ischia vibe! Run by 3 Italian brothers, the Ring Hostel was established in 2002 and continues to be the only original hostel on the island. Located right in the historic centre of Forio, 5min from the port, where tiny roads and buzzing Vespa's will lead you to our front door. You will find great value for money in our themed rooms including Free breakfast, linen, Free use of Kitchen, internet and WiFi. We have international staff speaking different languages who will explain how to get around the island, what the best attractions are and give you free maps and info. We try our best to assist you with anything you need during your stay. You can relax and soak up the sun during the day on some of the most beautiful beaches on the island or simply enjoy the hostel's roof-top terrace with sun-chairs. Other fun free activities include Cliff Jumping, Hiking and Hot Springs. Then sample the tastiest home cooking on the island and party with us at night at La Casereccia - our family restaurant. Look out for special deals and offers on our hostel wall! And don't forget to see our Wall of Fame! Stay with us and we will show you the best time you will have on your holiday! From Forio Port you can take day trips to Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento, Pompei. If you want to have a fun time, or just a calm vacation, Ring Hostel can offer both. We offer private ensuite rooms for 1 to 8 people as well as dorm rooms for 2, 4, 6, and 8 or 12 people with shared bathrooms. We have a wide selection of rooms, so please choose what suits you best. And if you don't find what you looking for, send us an email - we have other accommodation which might suite you better! Always happy to accommodate! Our Great rates include: Free linen Free Breakfast Free lockers Free internet Free Wi-Fi Connection Vending machines Free Pool Table, Ping Pong Table, Guitars Huge common room with books and a big Satellite TV Free access to our Private Beach Platform Free Kayaks and pedal boat No curfew No age limit Washing machines available Roof garden & terraces with fresh herbs Discounts for local sites, like thermal gardens & spas Free Swimming pool access at the sister hotel Free transportation to and from our family restaurant Things to do in town: Disco & Night Club Pub & bar crawls Day trips to Capri, Pompei & Amalfi Coast - we do reservations Moped, car & bike rental can be arranged Boat Rentals Moonlight parties at the Hot Springs Italian Language & Culture courses Cooking & Pizza courses Cocktail Sun Downers at our Beach Residence Booking at Ring Hostel you will have free access to Poggio del Sole and Rotonda sul Mare facilities including swimming pool, bars, restaurants, beach, terraces, you name it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ring Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ring Hostel Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing