We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous in Forio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Rotonda Sul Mare
Ranked #3 of 36 Forio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous in Forio”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We spent ten fabulous days at La Rotonda Sul Mare. Our room was perfect and so were sunset views from the patio. Amerigo was an exceptionally friendly and helpful host. Meals at La Casereccia, where Amerigo's brother, Guiseppi, was master of ceremonies, were delicious and memorable. The whole family was wonderful – really warm and friendly people. We'd love to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    38
    4
    0
    4
See reviews for
92
98
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Saint Petersburg City, Russia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Отель замечательный. Прекрасное сочетание всего: удобство номеров (наличие кухни, холодильника, интернета, прекрасный вид из нашего номера), расположение отеля (прямо у моря, порт рядом, супермаркет рядом), красивое окружение, приятный и гостеприимный хозяин, замечательная еда в ресторане его семьи. От отеля прямой выход к морю, можно загорать, можно сидеть и просто наслаждаться видом. И в целом приятно находиться в таком месте, где люди любят свою работу, любят то, что они делают, любят то, где они находятся, от этого получаешь еще больше удовольствия. Туда хочется вернуться вновь!

The residence for us was excellent. Our room was comfortable, we had free wi-fi access, also there were two notebooks at the reception which we could use. The residence is good located, on the seafront, so the surroundings are extremely good and we liked sitting outside and contemplating the sea, the waves, the sun. We took sunbathes on a lovely beach near the residence. The ferry port in Forio is close to the residence, and a supermarket is at a short distance too. The owner Amerigo made our stay very comfortable and pleasant, he was very nice and helpful person and showed us a lot of hospitality. Also we are fond of their family restaurant. The food was so delicious, especially fettuccine, I ate it three days following one another. And every day we tasted pizza, which was made before our eyes. On the whole, it is very pleasant to be in a such place, where people like their work, they like what they do, they like where they are, so you find even much pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Of our entire year in Italy, this is the only hotel we were completely disappointed with. In fact, it was so bad that we decided to pay a cancellation fee just to leave. The pictures on the website were completely misleading. The rooms were dingy, dark and generally unpleasant. We had a reservation, and when we arrived on the Island called ahead to advise of our arrival. No answer. 2 hours later, still no answer. We waited outside in our car for 90 minutes, until finally one of the owners arrived...with no keys to the place. He jumped the fence to try and find a key to let us in, with no luck. He then told us that this was all our fault, as he assumed we were arriving earlier, and we showed up late (5 pm). When he realized that we thought it was a dive, he basically admitted so and asked us if we wanted to stay in his other hotel Pioggia del Sole which was 'much nicer.' Do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My sister, our boyfriends, and I stayed here for several days this past summer and LOVED IT. Amerigo and his brothers moved our location from the Ring Hostel to accomodate our car (free parking!) and were the most hospitable people we encountered all summer (which is saying something! We had a great road trip). The private deck makes your stay very peaceful, keeps the loud crowds at bay, and there are plenty of deck chairs and tons of fun things (snorkels etc) to play with. Easy walking distance to town and the supermarket, which is convenient for those traveling on a budget. Additionally, rides were offered every evening to the family restaurant and the food was AMAZING. I cannot emphasize enough how friendly and nice everyone at both La Rotonda Sul Mare and the restaurant were. We wish we could have stayed forever! Hopefully we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMonkey333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

When we got to this charming place, we were shocked when we saw the rooms (studios). It is the first time i have got a room without a window. We were 2 couples. My friends had got a updated room so it was a bit bigger. Our room was so small that you could hardly walk between the bed and the kitchenette.The bathroom was also very small.We complained and 2 days later we got a much bigger room.
Amerigo is a very friendly and helpful host. You could not find a better one.The cafe and the beach was good.
The rooms and everything else was very clean. Amingo was the ideal host, friendly, helpful and eager to please his guests. He took us one evening to his parents hotel where we had dinner. The environment was nice and the food was ok.
I will absolutely recommend this place but be sure that you don't get the smallest studios.
It is located a 10-15min walk from the centre and you can enjoy the tranquility at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiaNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Rotonda lived up to our great expectations once again. The weather was perfect for sun, swimming, walking, glass of wine while watching fabulous sunsets, and when we chose to eat out we enjoyed the amiable manager, Amerigo, taking us uphill to the Colella family restaurant called Casereccia. The cooking there held up its high standard - from the beautiful ante pasto starter to the ice cold lemon cello at the end of the meal, everything was delicious. One lazy evening Amerigo catered to us with a carry out meal that he brought. Fabulous place to stay and to remember all year until we get there again in the fall of the year ahead.

Room Tip: Bring a camera. Walk to Forio for ice cream every day. Know there are two grocery stores nearby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadPixGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Like the previous review by AussieinQ8, I am one of the "distressed friends" as described in that review. I and my adult nephew arrived on Ischia for a family wedding to be warmly welcomed to this wonderful property on the waterfront. We were having a marvellous time until an unfortunate accident happened, and in the very late of night, our host Amerigo came to our aid and rescue early hours of the morning. Amerigo saw us through what was a very distressing time and did everything possible to assist with translation with the hospital staff. Grazie Amerigo!

But things DID end on a positive note. Amerigo was there to take me and my nephew to see and discharge our friend from hospital. His responsiveness to get out of bed so late at night to attend to an emergency that was not even on his premises, find us in the dark roads and transport us to the hospital, when we had already stopped other cars seeking emergency help, and who drove away ... it was scary!

This creates the background though of what was a fun and ordinary night, where we had called a taxi which never showed, and our decision to walk down a dark steep road to our accommodation back to Rotonda. [However, taxis can be reliable on Ischia, but it seems not always]

All the same, my friend is recovering and doing fine. We had a wonderful time on Ischia and at Rotunda. Everyone who visits Ischia must meet Amerigo and his family who run other places, even if you do not stay at their places. We had a family lunch of 30 people (including young children) who were well catered for at La Casereccia, the family’s restaurant, which means “home cooked”. This was a wonderful afternoon and we could not have been looked after better. I asked if we could be moved from the inside to the outside garden and they happily met my request to re-arrange the seating several times. Thank you Tina, Salvatore, Giuseppe and Lorezno for a memorable lunch and afternoon. I will send you the photos soon of our day spent with you.

Lastly, THANK YOU Amerigo and family for a wonderful time and the generosity of your compassion, friendship and hospitality for which you are so well regarded.

Personally, I cannot wait to return to spend time with you at your beautiful island home of Ischia and see you and your famiglia again

Grazie e il nostro amore e l'amicizia! Paul Langdon and the extended Langdon and Loudoun’s famiglie!

Noi amiamo tutta la tua famiglia! Paul xxxx

Room Tip: The apartment 1 is fantastic. I do not want everyone to know about this, because I want it for me o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterlangdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tritone Wellness Center
0.2 mi away
Family Spa Hotel Le Canne
0.7 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Janto
Hotel Villa Janto
#2 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
720 reviews
0.8 mi away
Poggio del Sole
Poggio del Sole
#23 of 81 in Forio
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Hibiscus
Hotel Villa Hibiscus
#11 of 81 in Forio
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rotonda Sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rotonda Sul Mare

Property: La Rotonda Sul Mare
Address: Via Aiemita 29, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Rotonda Sul Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome on holiday.....in the amazing Island of Ischia!!Apartments Rotonda Sul Mare offer charming and comfortable holiday apartments on the gorgeous island of Ischia. The apartments are available for 2 / 4 or 6 people. Fabulously located on the sun-drenched southwest coast of the beautiful San Francesco bay, it sits directly on the beach awaiting your quiet and peaceful afternoons spent in front of dramatic cliffs and sparkling blue water. We are delighted to welcome you to Ischia, and we are eager to show you all of the beauty of our island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Rotonda Sul Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rotonda Sul Mare Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing