We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the BEST hospitality I've ever received anywhere in the world...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Rotonda Sul Mare
Ranked #1 of 38 Forio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I traveled with a group of seven friends.
Amerigo met us at the bust stop and drove us all to the hotel in his van.
We were really impressed by the hotel- our first impression was WOW!! The view was stunning and had it's own little sun deck and beach! The cafeteria and lounge space was impressive too. The rooms were clean & tidy and everything was in order. The view was my favourite! Soaps, shampoo, towels, hairdryer etc were provided to us. I was the lucky one with the room facing the sea and my friends and I really enjoyed the private terrace upstairs.
The hotel is not far from the town where the restaurants, shops, etc are (about a 15 min walk)
Throughout the stay Amerigo made us feel very comfortable, was very polite, cheerful and helpful in giving us information about the different things to do in Ischia.
He also really won us over by giving us an "adventure ride" in his van one evening through the tiny Ischian streets.
I'd definitely recommend this place to others :D

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anushka_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

This seaside resort with several apartments hosts an international clientele where, in each of our three visits we have made good friends. This year 2010 we enjoyed our early September visit to relax, swim, enjoy sundecks above, and below. Amerigo runs the place and serves as a caring host, on hand to help with most any need, provides a ride to/from restaurant La Casareccia that features his mama's delicious food. We enjoyed 1 km walks south to Forio or north to S. Francisco beach (Spaggia)
The apartment met our needs perfectly. Downstairs is a snack bar, computer, confortable lounge for that rare rainy day. Our cucina (kitchen) was modern and well equipped.
Two grocery stores are quite close - one is 300m north (look for the sign 30m to the store) as you walk toward the Bay of S. Francesco). Another: walk south and take the first left and its a block away across the street (Strada Statale Forio-Lacco - check Google maps.)
Other reviewers are quite complimentary, and I agree heartily with their positive tone! La Rotonda provides a quiet, low cost retreat, attentive management, fabulous sunsets, and a nearby bus stop for access to many sight seeing opportunities (check on the web: http://wikitravel.org/en/Ischia] and see a few photos below.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadPixGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Very successful location, numbers small, but cozy. Owners will be attentive to you and will help with anything. Stay with small children is possible. For a delightful supper you will be taken to a restaurant, belonging to the same family

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank multi-sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I can't possibly say enough good things about this place and about the host Amerigo. We stayed in September, when the crowds are dispersing but the sun is still warm. The beaches are sandy and plentiful with Francesco beach and the start of tons of restaurants only 5 minutes walking distance. The bustle of Forio town is less than 15min to the center piazza. A supermarketo and the bus stop to anywhere on the island is maybe 3min away. The room was very comfortable and very well kept including a kitchenette and good fresh air flow. Best of all, Amerigo was there to help with absolutely anything. He is worth 5-stars alone.

Don't miss Negombo park, a bit expensive but unlike anything you will ever see. Nor the family restaurant (ask for a local coniglio dish, "bunny"), and a free cooking class in the kitchen with mama. A kayak, snorkeling gear, bicycles, internet are all free to use. There is a small bar for fresh breakfast pastries, coffees, and spirits adjacent to the sundeck and overlooking the sea. The hotel has all the amenities of a resort. Come here and relax.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheepdog_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

A week spent at your villa was the most outstanding impression of the whole vacation! For the first time we don’t want to leave, and it was very sad to say goodbye to this wonderful place. You hotel has a good location on the seaside, close to Forio center of and entertainment. There are so beautiful views and all facilities for recreation you can imagine: dishes, washing machine, free internet access, large apartments. And that is the most important you give a hospitality and almost family carry about your guests! All of this differs your hotel from the others and makes a holiday unforgettable! Thank you Amerigo!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potapups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We were invited to an Italian wedding in Ischia and stayed with our family at the apartment hotel LA ROTONDA SUL MARE for 12 nights in August 2010. It is the family atmosphere that makes this place so special - due to Amerigo, our perfect and charming host. The hotel is convenient located - on the beach - near town and shopping. Quite often we had dinner at the 'La Casereccia' Restaurant, owned by the same family, the Colellas. Not only did we have the best prepared fresh meals on the island by Mama Tina and tasted the home-made limoncello by Papa Salvatore or the famous Lorenzo's pizzas (with french fries on top) - but our friendly host Amerigo would take us there via the island's narrow streets and bring us back 'home' to the hotel.
We all had a wonderful time and are dreaming about Ischia till next time for a re-union with friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schoeneferien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

La Rotonda sul Mare, Forio, Ischia was the best pleasant surprise (from many others) on the island. It is a beautiful residence located on the sea, with a private platform which goes directly in the sea.
The staff (Colella family) is amazing, taking great care of all the guests, being flexible and ensuring all the expectations are met. It is a real gastronomic adventure to eat at Colella's family restaurant (La Casareccia), the food is simply amazing, starting from home-made pasta (cooked by Mamma Colella) and ending by the famous home-made limoncello, served by Papa Colello.
La Rotonda sul Mare has the best man to take care of it - Amerigo Colella. There's only one expression to describe Amerigo - the bread of God!

Enjoy your stay and share your amazing experience with the world!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diancik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
3.4 mi away
Punta Chiarito Resort Hotel Ristorante
0.4 mi away
Iris Hotel
Iris Hotel
#3 of 38 in Forio
278 reviews
3.9 mi away
Relais Bijoux Bed & Breakfast
Relais Bijoux Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Ischia Porto
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tenuta del Poggio Antico
3.3 mi away
Villa Marinella
Villa Marinella
#1 of 21 in Casamicciola Terme
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Le Magnolie
Villa Le Magnolie
#4 of 38 in Forio
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rotonda Sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rotonda Sul Mare

Address: Via Aiemita 29, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Forio
Price Range: £47 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Rotonda Sul Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome on holiday.....in the amazing Island of Ischia!!Apartments Rotonda Sul Mare offer charming and comfortable holiday apartments on the gorgeous island of Ischia. The apartments are available for 2 / 4 or 6 people. Fabulously located on the sun-drenched southwest coast of the beautiful San Francesco bay, it sits directly on the beach awaiting your quiet and peaceful afternoons spent in front of dramatic cliffs and sparkling blue water. We are delighted to welcome you to Ischia, and we are eager to show you all of the beauty of our island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your La Rotonda Sul Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rotonda Sul Mare Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing