We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest places I have ever visited in Italy”
Review of Poggio del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poggio del Sole
Ranked #29 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I never thought the island of Ischia could be so breathtaking! To then find a wonderful place like the Poggio del Sole was a real blessing. It is family owned and the family and staff are very welcoming and helpful for any need. The view from our rooms were terrific. We enjoyed the pool and the beaches nearby. During the evening resturant was a real joy. Highly recommended for anyone looking for the fun and relaxation

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
Thank Gladiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2010

When I began looking for a hotel on the island it was difficult to decide which one to choose because of the hundreds on the island and then between those with many/good reviews. I was travelling for the first time with my fiancé so felt a bit anxious when booking, but had finally decided on Poggio del Sole.
And needless to say, the choice was great: arriving at the hotel we got a very comfy and clean room with an amazing view of the town and the ocean, the garden and the pool area was very quiet and good to relax. The first night we went out for dinner finding the local restaurant a little disappointing in quality and price. The following day we enjoyed the hotel breakfast and got ready to discover the island on a scooter which the hotel staff arranged for us to rent. Fantastic - definately recommend it - have your license with you though.
However the best part was the dinner at the restaurant, very italian setting and the food was unlike what we had had before,reasonably priced and we were offered some homemade limoncello - very popular in the southern italian region.
If you are ever planning to visit Ischia, stay there and most important - eat there!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chiarosole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2009

My mother and I visited Ischia in August 2009 and stayed at the Poggio del Sole.The rooms at the hotel have beautiful views overlooking Forio.The rooms are large and comfortable with all the necessary conveniences.There is a swimming pool and Jacuzzi located next to the hotel where you can sit and overlook the sea-a very beautiful setting.The Collela family treat you with warmth and nothing is a problem,they go out of their way to organise trips,transport and advice on places to visit.The family have a wonderful restaurant situated below the hotel where you can experience real home cooking by mama Collela-La Cassericia.I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel and will definetly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beverlyischiaitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2009

I must say I'm quite surprised by the last comments as our time and stay in Ischia was to the contrary. We found the family very hospitable and accommodating, and found mostly if we needed or wanted anything - you just have to ask - and the staff/family are happy to help. Be sure to keep a note of both the cellular contact as well as the hotel landline numbers incase you can't get through on the one. Comfy rooms, beautiful scenery, but pity the weather was not very good, however, the spas and hot springs seemed the best places to be. The restaurant was quiet which was possibly due to the weather or season, but the food was lovely - nothing like real, home-cooked traditional Italian food. And we got some complimentary limoncello which we were explained was made by Papa Salavtore. Relaxing getaway, experienced southern Italy in its raw essence.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orbs247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The running of this hotel is slap-dash and unorganised, but it does have its charms. Our room was clean, although the cupboard and shower door were broken, and we had a very large terrace area with great views. The hotel is a 10 - 15 minute walk into Forio (at least) but there seems to be a regular bus service. The manager gave us a free lift and discount tickets to the Negombo spa in Lacco Ameno which is well worth a day out. The free lift, however, consisted of squeezing four adults and three children into a 1990's style Fiat Punto. We appreciated the gesture all the same. Despite positive reviews we found the restaurant mediocre.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller23456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Unfortunately, I cannot attest to the quality of the hotel rooms themselves...we never even saw the inside of one! I did book the trip at the last minute (2 days beforehand), however I booked the rooms through a reputable website. What is more, I called the hotel no less than 3 times prior to our arrival on the island to confirm our travel plans.

Yet, only once we arrived did they inform us that our room was double booked and they had no place for us in the hotel! They offered to take us to their hostel and provide us with a room there. It was kind of them to scrape together something at the last minute, but this room had a shared bathroom and was fairly dirty and had cigarette smoke. So, needless to say, we were not interested since we thought we had booked a reputable 3-star room.

The only other concession they offered was driving us to hotels around the island to find another room for ourselves. So, I spent most of my first day on Ischia driving to hotels in Forio trying to find a place to stay. We eventually found a hotel, but it was more expensive and a lower star-rating. But what else were we to do? We booked a more expensive room for two nights on our own and received nothing further from our original hotel. (Except, of course, for the unwelcome advances from one of their staff. Offering a private massage to two women traveling is most emphatically *not* my idea of professional customer service!)

In short was disappointed that we lost time on Ischia, that we were subjected to such poor customer service, and that no other compensation was offered by the hotel. I will never attempt to stay here again, and as I am a tour guide in Italy, I will also recommend that other visitors to this island stay away from the Poggio del Sole. It is not worth the risk of the double booking nightmare.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank vaticanista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Poggio del Sole is an amazing place to stay on Ischia Island,with comfy rooms and amazing views over the bay of Forio.
Giuseppe's family will give you a worm welcome and with their own restaurant Mamma Tina will cook you delicious meals with genuine ingredients from their own house.
Don't miss with their limoncello!!
Thanks so much guys and see you soon!!

Alfredo Margherita Ciro and Gaia

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfredoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forio hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Angela
Hotel Villa Angela
#39 of 81 in Forio
164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#18 of 81 in Forio
267 reviews
2.9 mi away
Punta Chiarito Resort Hotel Ristorante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#21 of 81 in Forio
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Family Spa Hotel Le Canne
0.6 mi away
Villa Thomas B&B
Villa Thomas B&B
#37 of 81 in Forio
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poggio del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio del Sole

Address: Via Baiola 193, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Forio
#19 Family Hotel in Forio
#26 Romantic Hotel in Forio
Price Range: £53 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Poggio del Sole 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Poggio del Sole provides everything you might need to make your vacation perfect. All rooms feature a private bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, personal safe, mini-refrigerator, air conditioning, heating, and internet wi-fi connection. Also available are fully serviced two bedroom apartments with small kitchenettes for 4-6 people. Each room boasts either a balcony or terrace with unobstructed views of the Mediterranean sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Poggio del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poggio Del Sole Forio
Poggio Del Sole Hotel Forio
Poggio Del Sole Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing