We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best accomodations and family staff. Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful. We can't wait to go back.”
Review of Poggio del Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Poggio del Sole
Ranked #27 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best accomodations and family staff. Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful. We can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We went to the Poggio for my brother in laws wedding. We all stayed at the hotel.
We had the most amazing time! The entire family treated us with kindness and were able to accomodate all of our requests. They put on the most amazing wedding! While there we could get rides or walk to the other hotel on the beach. The food at the hotel is the best on the island with the best prices. We ate there many nights. Our room was very nice and had air conditioning. The room was cleaned up every day. We just got home and already miss everyone there. We can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NTB93023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    39
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
55
85
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

From the moment we stepped off the ferry at the Forio port in Ischia, we were in heaven. The people who own the hotel will pick you up if you call. One of the sons showed us our room that was up the mountain. We had a gorgeous view from our quite large terrace of not only the mountains in Ischia but also the sea. The sunset at night was breathtaking! The room itself is a no frills room, but it has everything you could need: towels, Air conditioning, hot shower, tv (which we never used). The hotel has a small pool and a hot tub that overlooks the mountains and sea. The two nights we were there we ate at the hotel's family owned restaurant. Everything is home cooked by the mom. She makes amazing food including her famous ravolini (which looks like tortellini). The father also makes his own limoncello. The price of the room per night was also amazing and very much went with our budget. Breakfast was included in the price - no frills here either - such as cereal, breads, jams, eggs that can be hard boiled, espresso, cappuccino, teas, and so on. If you do get a chance to go, don't forget to do a day trip at Negombo thermal spa. I was in heaven at this place and you get a small discount at the hotel that can be applied to Negombo's ticket price. Overall, I would absolutely stay here again without any hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyj415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I had a great week while staying at the Hotel Poggio Del Sole. The Hotel is located in a quiet yet panoramic spot. The Colella family, who own the place, tried to do everything possible to make my stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel restaraunt is excellent. All food is prepared and cooked fresh on the spot. The staff spoke great English and gave me great pointers on what to visit on the island and the activities to do. I really had a great time and hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donfabio12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2010

The Colella family who owns and runs Poggio del Sole hotel and La Casereccia restaurant put their heart and soul into everything they do, and they will provide an amazing experience for your stay in Ischia. The hotel is situated on a hill and boasts stunning views of the sea and island. There is beautiful vegetation surrounding the hotel, with gardens and a vineyard nearby. The rooms are charming, airy, bright and clean. The Colellas will make you feel like family- they are amazing, warm, and gracious people and will show you a wonderful time that you'll never forget. You MUST eat at the family's La Casereccia restaurant.... I have been all over Italy, and eaten in dozens of restaurants, and La Casereccia is absolutely the best food you will find hands down. Nearly all of the ingredients for everything they make are grown in the family's garden. They have amazing oranges, lemons, limes, figs, grapes, berries, olives, zucchini, eggplant, tomatoes, basil and all kinds of herbs. They make their own wine and limoncello which are awesome. You absolutely must try the paccheri con cozze e pecorino. The mussels are perfection. The parmigiana e melanzane and bruschetta are the best you will find. I definitely recommend staying at Poggio del Sole- it's a special, wonderful, magical place that you'll never forget.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hvalasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2010

A haven on the beautifuly island of Ischia. Good quality, clean rooms with wonderful view of the bay. Excellent home-cooked food, reasonable rates and most of all fantastic family hospitality. Perfect for those who like some peace and quiet, but within easy reach of local sights and amenities. Negombo Thermal Spa a must. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lesleyargent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I never thought the island of Ischia could be so breathtaking! To then find a wonderful place like the Poggio del Sole was a real blessing. It is family owned and the family and staff are very welcoming and helpful for any need. The view from our rooms were terrific. We enjoyed the pool and the beaches nearby. During the evening resturant was a real joy. Highly recommended for anyone looking for the fun and relaxation

Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gladiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

When I began looking for a hotel on the island it was difficult to decide which one to choose because of the hundreds on the island and then between those with many/good reviews. I was travelling for the first time with my fiancé so felt a bit anxious when booking, but had finally decided on Poggio del Sole.
And needless to say, the choice was great: arriving at the hotel we got a very comfy and clean room with an amazing view of the town and the ocean, the garden and the pool area was very quiet and good to relax. The first night we went out for dinner finding the local restaurant a little disappointing in quality and price. The following day we enjoyed the hotel breakfast and got ready to discover the island on a scooter which the hotel staff arranged for us to rent. Fantastic - definately recommend it - have your license with you though.
However the best part was the dinner at the restaurant, very italian setting and the food was unlike what we had had before,reasonably priced and we were offered some homemade limoncello - very popular in the southern italian region.
If you are ever planning to visit Ischia, stay there and most important - eat there!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chiarosole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
0.6 mi away
Villa Thomas B&B
Villa Thomas B&B
#49 of 81 in Forio
30 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#23 of 81 in Forio
164 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
#1 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Ginestra
Hotel La Ginestra
#39 of 81 in Forio
189 reviews
1.6 mi away
Semiramis Hotel de Charme Ischia
2.9 mi away
Punta Chiarito Resort Hotel Ristorante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poggio del Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio del Sole

Property: Poggio del Sole
Address: Via Baiola 193, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Forio
#19 Family Hotel in Forio
#26 Romantic Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Poggio del Sole 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Poggio del Sole provides everything you might need to make your vacation perfect. All rooms feature a private bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, personal safe, mini-refrigerator, air conditioning, heating, and internet wi-fi connection. Also available are fully serviced two bedroom apartments with small kitchenettes for 4-6 people. Each room boasts either a balcony or terrace with unobstructed views of the Mediterranean sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Poggio del Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poggio Del Sole Forio
Poggio Del Sole Hotel Forio
Poggio Del Sole Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing