We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carolina
Ranked #31 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We booked the last minute cheap room. It turned out to be on the roof with the pool, very clean, very convenient. Small but enough for us. There was a door out to the town from the roof. We did not eat any meals there but there are plenty of restaurants nearby (La Bella Napoli being the best we ate at). Close to beach, center of town, and a bus station. The bathroom was small, but very clean and good plumbing. The staff at the desk was very helpful.

Room Tip: Our roof room was air conditioned and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotoGirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    80
    41
    10
    14
See reviews for
47
101
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

What a real treat to be able to get off the boat in Forio and roll your suitcase a block to get to this hotel! It was very clean, very nice, recently renovated (I believe they are still going through renovations, so keep that in mind. It's not a bother if you're not super sensitive.)

Easy walk from there to the beaches. You can even go for a run along the coast to Citara if you want to get some exercise in. Super delicious restaurants nearby, and gelato galore! We were so comfortable that the first night we slept in until 1 pm!! The blinds made the room so dark, and the AC was so comfortable, that we just kept sleeping.

The spa is great! The pool, although a little small (but as to be expected for a roof pool), is perfect for dipping in to keep cool. Most people go to the beach (which you have to pay to get umbrellas and chairs), and the roof was empty and free! So not too bad of an option.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and knowledgable about the area. But really it's a place to come and relax.

Oh, it is also a 25 minute bus ride (1.40 euros) to Ischia if you want to check out someplace other than Forio... The buses run late too, so it's great to head over to another part of teh Island for dinner or shopping and come back! Beats the 30 euro taxi ride. : )

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SChantalMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This hotel is an ideal location, with lovely helpful staff and a really relaxing atmosphere. Breakfast was OK, the pool on the roof is a plunge pool, not a swimming pool but nice never the less. Comfy beds. The room we were assigned had a high ceiling which had mini windows which were like bathroom windows so you could not see out and they let virtually no light in which made our room a bit of a tomb! The aircon either worked full on freezing or we had to call reception to switch it off, which with no windows to open made it very stuffy! The bathroom was nice, shower was small but all clean. No bathrobe or slippers to be found as adveti\sed on expedia and as we had booked with expedia they would not move us to another room. The Bed was large and comfy and it was quite clean. Again, that staff were for the most part very friendly. The room was disappointed only because of the window situation. Again - Location is perfect.

Room Tip: ensure you get a room with a window!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveltastica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We have just arrived back from Ischia and stayed in the Villa Carolina - we have no complaints at all except maybe the parking. But we got a place right outside the hotel for 8 euros a day. The situation of the hotel could not be beaten and we loved our room. The roof top terrace was lovely with wonderful views. We had half board and thought the food was excellent. The staff could not have been more helpful and the hotel was spotless. We are planning our next trip there in May.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

No parking places for guests! No swimming pool (the pool is only 2m x 2m), internal pool is open only 2 hours by day (during a breakfast!)! Not so friendly staff, very bad services in reception (not multilingual, only very basic english). Very expensive bar, minibar and restaurant. Bad dishes, small and dirty rooms, mould and falling plaster at hall.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank advokat_kanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This hotel was our worst choice... it was the last hotel where we planned to stay in the island, and it definitely ruined our vacation!!!
The hotel is a common building, without any charm, very small rooms, even though the hotel is new, is yet in very, very, bad condition.
The worst part are the people working there. We found hair on the bed and they said nothing…
They are useless and not professional at all.
Forio is not a touristic town don’t waste your time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank entrepajaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We have been to Ischia several times but last year we stayed in Villa Carolina, in Forio, within walking distance from the ferries. We had a wonderful time. The food was fantastic, the service was excellent, and the staff was unfailingly professional. Best of all, the location is great, few meters from the beach and to the center, shops, etc. The rooms are simply beautiful and very nicely furnished. Our friends had a baby so they booked a family room with a raised deck, or mezanine, where the was the main bedroom. On the roof there's a nice, quiet pool with a fantastic view of the port.
We went back to villa carolina last week and I would suggest this hotel to anyone who wish to find a nice, clean and elegant hotel in Ischia!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OSGTEAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#19 of 81 in Forio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#25 of 81 in Forio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terme Zi Carmela
Hotel Terme Zi Carmela
#30 of 81 in Forio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Franca
Hotel Villa Franca
#60 of 81 in Forio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Angela
Hotel Villa Angela
#45 of 81 in Forio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ideal
Hotel Ideal
#12 of 81 in Forio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carolina

Property: Hotel Villa Carolina
Address: Via Marina 50/55, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Forio
#15 Spa Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carolina 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Ischia
Hotel Villa Carolina Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing