We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Carolina
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Reviewed 1 October 2010

We have just arrived back from Ischia and stayed in the Villa Carolina - we have no complaints at all except maybe the parking. But we got a place right outside the hotel for 8 euros a day. The situation of the hotel could not be beaten and we loved our room. The roof top terrace was lovely with wonderful views. We had half board and thought the food was excellent. The staff could not have been more helpful and the hotel was spotless. We are planning our next trip there in May.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2010

No parking places for guests! No swimming pool (the pool is only 2m x 2m), internal pool is open only 2 hours by day (during a breakfast!)! Not so friendly staff, very bad services in reception (not multilingual, only very basic english). Very expensive bar, minibar and restaurant. Bad dishes, small and dirty rooms, mould and falling plaster at hall.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank advokat_kanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This hotel was our worst choice... it was the last hotel where we planned to stay in the island, and it definitely ruined our vacation!!!
The hotel is a common building, without any charm, very small rooms, even though the hotel is new, is yet in very, very, bad condition.
The worst part are the people working there. We found hair on the bed and they said nothing…
They are useless and not professional at all.
Forio is not a touristic town don’t waste your time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank entrepajaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We have been to Ischia several times but last year we stayed in Villa Carolina, in Forio, within walking distance from the ferries. We had a wonderful time. The food was fantastic, the service was excellent, and the staff was unfailingly professional. Best of all, the location is great, few meters from the beach and to the center, shops, etc. The rooms are simply beautiful and very nicely furnished. Our friends had a baby so they booked a family room with a raised deck, or mezanine, where the was the main bedroom. On the roof there's a nice, quiet pool with a fantastic view of the port.
We went back to villa carolina last week and I would suggest this hotel to anyone who wish to find a nice, clean and elegant hotel in Ischia!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OSGTEAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2008

True, the hotel is new and in a good location, the rooms are small but if the rest was good your could bear with it. first the closet does not excist, and in the room that you have a huge closet, inside there are no divisions or drawers. The TV it is also so small that you can't believe that in a 4 star hotel you would have such a TV. (forget plasma TV). The bathroom it's ok the only thing is if you are a bit fat or big, the compartment of the shower it is very small but the water comes out GREAT.
second. If you need to work or do something using internet forget it, it is paid, but that is nothing, when you pay the conection does not work, and the people there do not help at all.
Third, the pool area, the pool it is as small as the TV, but that is not the worse thing, we went in september which is starting the autum and the pool was not heated, when they tell you that the pool is heated. When go in you think you are in siberia.
foruth and most important is the attention of the poeple that work there. That was a DESASTERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
I will not even explain all the things that happen.

Stayed: September 2008
2  Thank silviArgentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

We have just returned from a perfect holiday in Ischia and part of the responsibility for that lies with Hotel Villa Carolina in the marina port of Foria. The hotel was immaculate with fantastic views of the marina, beach, mountains and out to sea. Despite being on the main road through Foria, which is quaint, not a main highway, it was very well soundproofed. The hotel caters for everyone, including families, couples and individuals. The theme is one of a boutique hotel, but life was made very easy for us and allowed us to relax and enjoy the beautiful island of Ischia and all that it has to offer. The island's visitors are on the main Italians, but that only enhances the atmosphere as it is very genuine as opposed to its sister island Capri which does lean towards promoting itself on the tourist route. We loved Ischia and would recommend it as a holiday place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SableLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2007

We spent 4 days in June this year and we really enjoyed it. It has been refurbished recently and it is really contemporary, something we like.
The only down side is that the rooms called 'last minute' are infact not very pleasant, and they are quite cheap, so very tempting. We had to upgrade to a better/standard room because our room was really damp, dark and humid, even with 40 degrees outside!
The staff was really helpful and overall we liked it, but I would not raccomend the cheap rooms to anybody.
Great swimingpool on the roof and fantastic location, so close to everything!
Forio is a great relaxing place.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Definitelygio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forio hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#18 of 81 in Forio
266 reviews
1.0 mi away
Family Spa Hotel Le Canne
0.6 mi away
Hotel Albatros
Hotel Albatros
#48 of 81 in Forio
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lord Byron
Hotel Lord Byron
#25 of 81 in Forio
411 reviews
1.2 mi away
Semiramis Hotel de Charme Ischia
2.9 mi away
Punta Chiarito Resort Hotel Ristorante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Carolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carolina

Address: Via Marina 50/55, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Forio
#17 Spa Hotel in Forio
Price Range: £47 - £659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Carolina 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Villa Carolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolina Hotel Ischia
Hotel Villa Carolina Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing