We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pietradonica - a declaration of love”
Review of B&B Pietradonica

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Pietradonica
Ranked #32 of 36 Forio B&B and Inns
Weimar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pietradonica – a declaration of love”
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Imagine you discover that you have long missing relatives in Italy and you decide to visit them. That’s holiday in Pietradonica.

The house is big, wonderfully charming … and if you have crossed the stairs and the little pathway with the black and white photographs you feel like in paradise. The cool blood orange juice for the welcome and the wonderful room go a step further. Welcome into another world! Forgotten the cold rainy weather in the north of Germany, just the warm atmosphere in Pietradonica counts now. The mattresses in the beds are better than each sleeping pill. You can sleep marvellous! The garden is pure nature and as soon as you’re in, you think the time stops and the tranquillity works like balm for your stressed soul. Sitting in this unspoiled garden in the evening and eating pizza Bolognese and drinking wine is priceless. If the music from Italian opera arias drift through the air and Pavarotti bawls out his Nessun Dorma, then you’ll get goose-pimples. That doesn’t mean that there’s always opera music. No, there are pieces of sounds you detect from the surroundings if the garden with its perfect silence doesn’t absorb everything.
It’s really like you visit relatives and you found your long way home finally. Perfection! I can’t wait to go there again next year and I bought a calendar to cross out the days until the next trip when I can return to Pietradonica.
Dear Domenico, thank you for the nice holiday. Thank you to Rosaria, too, and to Bendi, the fastest dog if the whole island Ischia. We wish you all the best and are looking forward to seeing you soon.

Ute and Olli

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forio-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    10
    1
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

my wife and our teenage son and i stayed 5 days at pietra donica in forio. located on a main axis of forio, pietra donica is a 5 minute walk from the port and very center of town. as you walk, you pass several stores to resupply your daily needs and bars and ATM and shops. then in the town center , there are countless shops and restaurants. we had a two bedroom , two full bath , room for only 90 euros per night. spacious, 15 ft ceilings, comfortable beds, tall windows with small balconies. we kept the windows open all the time, because there is no humidity. no need for a.c. no mosquito bites among the three of us. exotically decorated inside the walls of an 18th century fortified townhouse. it is huge. the host, domenico, lives on one side with his family, and we the guests live in the other several rooms and lush courtyard. the dining area is in the courtyard garden, under a tent, adjacent to the kitchen , which is accessible all day and night. in fact you can cook for yourself if you don't want to eat out. many of the guests did that. breakfast was fine and typical. italians eat only a cup of espresso coffee and a small pastry and juices. that's it for breakfast, so don't expect eggs, pancakes, waffles. boats go to amalfi coast and naples. taxis and buses go to nearby towns. we travelled very easily from forio. lively night life on the main street. i mean that families and friends are walking and joking and dining in the open air, shopping, eating gelato, till midnight at least. great spirit. domenico is very hospitable as is rosaria. most accommodating. i felt as if i had known them my whole life and i was visiting them for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank touroneinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

My mother and I decided to book a stay at Pietradonica following it's good reviews. However, we were disappointed. The B&B is located in Forio, in some back roads, and the garden you see in the pictures is very dense and in between other buildings. the biggest problem was the MOSQUITOES!!! no screens on the windows so you have 2 choices: either get bitten alive or sufficate! although the owner was very nice, this is a 2* B&B, clean rooms but very humid, and we could not see the ocean or the sky because of the dense garden. The dogs are also barky & annoying. Breakfast was very simple, don't expect any luxury... We only stayed there 1 night and then switched to a hotel in San Angelo. Would suggest this hotel to the simple traveller, because my mother was looking for something more luxurious or enchanting...

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe_p_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Forio hotels

UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Great hotel in good location. Good value for money. However when we arrived there was nobody at the hotel and we couldnt reach the owners - fortunately some guests let us in and we just put our luggage in a room. Also, be warned there is no guarantee of hot water (apparently due to the garden). Nonetheless lots of character, friendly staff and superb location,

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No hot water!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiggleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2008

These where 2 fantastic days in Ischia, in Forio, in Pietra Donica!
Great place where to stay and RELAX!!!!

Beautiful garden, interesting rooms (one not like other), sympathetic host and fresh bread at breakfast is what you will find there! And sun + sea + beaches....

  • Liked — character and feeling of this place
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Burvjuota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2006

An absolutely wonderfull trip to a lovely island.
Dominique was learning the trade & couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms are lovely furnished with all you need, great location. We stayed here during a honeymoon & loved it. We will be returning asap. The building is well run & kept cool due to the 2 ft thick walls so air con isn't required. Smashing trip to a lovely town & Island.

Stayed September 2004
Helpful?
Thank choccy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 October 2005

Stayed here for a week while in Forio for a wedding. When arrived the owner gave us coffee and we sat about waiting on the rest of the party. We did not know what to expect - and then we were shown the rooms. Absolutely fantastic. All individually decorated some with four poster beds. Beautifully tiled bathroom. Central area to meet with friends with kitchen full of everything you would need. Owner just leaves you to it. Would definately stay again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forio hotels
0.3 mi away
Albergo Santa Lucia
Albergo Santa Lucia
#55 of 81 in Forio
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Verde
Hotel Villa Verde
#45 of 81 in Forio
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Umberto a Mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#15 of 81 in Forio
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pensione Villa Mafalda
Pensione Villa Mafalda
#10 of 36 in Forio
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Ischia
Central Ischia
#26 of 33 in Forio
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Pietradonica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Pietradonica

Property: B&B Pietradonica
Address: Via San Vito 1, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Farm-House of 1700, in the historical center of Forio, offers double rooms faced a garden of spices, citrus plantations and banana-trees. The rooms, with double bed, are furnished of bathrooms, bed-linen, bar fridge, coffee pot and tea-pot, heating and ventilation, colonial furnishing of the nineteenth-century. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
B&B Pietradonica Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing