We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Forio
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

I planned my trip at the very last moment so I had no time to read the reviews here (fortunately...coz some of them are not appropriate). But I found the hotel really amazing! Great position, nice rooms (my room was sea view with beautiful terrace) great food, nice and really friendly staff of the hotel and of the Spa also. The weather wasn´t that good but the swimming pools with warm water were perfect even when the sky was cloudy. I made some Spa treatment as well...and they were so relaxing. I felt like in a big family there and I will definately return in this hotel again. Thanks to all the staff for make my holidays unforgettable.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    493
    203
    122
    107
See reviews for
361
755
47
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

I've spent seven wonderful days at the Hotel Sorriso Thermae Resort.
Hotel's staff pleasantly impressed me with his attentiveness and helpfulness.
The room of type "Classic" proved to be very good, bath accessories in the room were changed daily and room was cleaned very well.
Breakfast at the hotel were distinguished by great diversity of delicious baking. Dinners were elegant, very tasty and filling. Tables were always served very well.
Four times a week at the hotel at the main pool were musical evenings with a live performance. Music was chosen very well, but a dance floor was small.
To the thermal springs "Gardens of Poseidon" 5 minute walk along the beautiful staircase.
From the main terrace of the hotel opens amazing views of the coast and "Gardens of Poseidon'.
Common impression of the hotel is very positive.
I would like to return to Sorriso Thermae Resort next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paramatsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

Our agent recommended the hotel to us,we trusted hum and made a big mistake!
It is a poor and old hotel with small and daark rooms,without a window,no ventillation,small and poor bathroom with dirty and torn towels which dosen't suit a 4 stars hotel.
There are long distance walking until you reach your room and the stuff didn't even try to help us with our luggage.
The managment is rude,politeness is not in their vocabulary!
The SPA is not impressive,we have been to many others,cheaper and better.
The hotel is full with German geusts and it is most annoying to find that German is almost the first language talking in that establishment...
Most of the food is uneatable and not Italian.
To summerize:We didn't make our homework properly,didn't read the reviews about this hotel and screwed our vacation!
Find another hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ESTDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

THE STAFF WAS TERRIBLE, we all felt like we were not welcomed and like they were doing us a big favor to let us stay there - AWFUL ! They offered a room on the gound floor that woul d be ok for a 2 star hotel. Cleaning - baaaad. A few cockroaches in the rooms..... I ran away from there 1 day earlier and was releved to get out from there !

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theguest1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

+
We were stayin' in the Junior suit/ It was a great room with a lot of place. We had two terrace where we can take a sun bath. And had a amasing sea veiw.
For Dinner were lot of food, and it was really delicous.
The sea was very clean and transparent. After swiming your skin and hair will became soft and smoothy.
-
In our room we had many many little aints. When we told about it to the reception no one coudn't help us.
Ac doesn't work. the reason: It's very old, or economy from the hotel. It was very stifling in the room. Nobody doesn't want to help us.
The Breakfast was very poor. The coffe, hot chocolate and orange juice from the mashine was terrible.
The road to the sea take about 5 min. but it a long long way with stairs and to go up was exhaust.
In the swiming pool all people must swin in the bathing cap. And after the swiming my white swimming suite became blue.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boiling_soup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2007

The hotel is situated high above Citara beach on a series of steeply stepped terraces down the hillside just outside the town and port of Forio. Superficially the hotel’s outside and public areas look pretty and well-kept, especially in the evening when it’s all lit up. But…begin to look a little closer (and especially when you’re shown your room!) and you can see that this is just not the four star resort it’s trumpeted as being. I’d put it in the two star bracket for its rooms which were just plain depressing and three star for some public areas. A lot of the thermal pool areas inside where dirty, dark and needed a good clean. The outside pool areas were fine though not as large as they look on the hotel website.

Ischia revolves very much around mass market German tourism and I mean mass market, and everyone and everything is geared towards that including the Sorriso which was full of German tour groups. We were always presumed to be German or Russian and German is the second language here. So sometimes communication could be difficult as English is not widely spoken but we always get by with our phrasebook in hand and a smile. But for the first time in all the years we’ve travelled in Italy we found some people unfriendly and unhelpful but this was mostly the Sorriso staff.

Forio had one or two pretty streets but otherwise we were pretty much disappointed – not a lot there. We’d expected lots of restaurants and ambience and didn’t find either. The food was not up to the usual high standards we’ve found elsewhere in Italy, and we ended up sticking to seafood in the beach restaurants in Citara bay and along Maronti beach – sea bass, sea bream and mussels were always good.

The hotel food was appalling. Most of the hotel rates tie you in to half or full board but we just went for room and breakfast, me being the kind of person that can’t operate without breakfast but after a few days even I stopped going. Lots of tasteless, sweet, stodgy cakes and pastries. A very poor selection of cheese, meats, breads, cereals etc and a few bits of bruised or unripe fruit. The worst thing was you couldn’t even get a fresh cup of coffee, tea or fruit juice. They had these appalling machines which served reconstituted juice and coffee made with dried milk which they never bothered to fill up so things were always running out.

We tried dinner in the Oasis restaurant the first evening which was poor and for some unknown reason, probably laziness, we went back for lunch which managed to be even worse so we leant our lesson finally and didn’t go back.

Apart from one or two waiters in the Oasis restaurant, the staff were just not friendly. They rarely smiled and did not go out of their way to make you feel welcome or help you.

We had booked 7 nights in an ‘Oasis superior sea view room’, supposedly their best room type. We arrived at the airport to find that the transfer we’d asked for had not been arranged so we made our own way to the hotel – pretty easy - bus to port, ferry to island and taxi to hotel but no apology from the hotel other than saying that they had not received any of the three emails I’d sent with our flight details.

On checking in, they then told us that we couldn’t have the Oasis sea view room because the balcony was dangerous and all other Oasis rooms were full so we’d have to spend two nights in a standard room. Fine, these things happen but again no apology, no offer of dinner, a bottle of wine etc etc.

The standard room was just awful – at the end of a corridor on the ground floor overlooking the parking area in front of the hotel – not quite the room I’d expected and booked. It was very small, dark, dingy and depressing. The every room has a ‘private bath’ bit in the brochure/website is nonsense – there was only a shower. The bathroom was small and had a high window that couldn’t be closed that opened onto another room’s balcony.

After two nights in that dungeon I was looking forward to the move to an Oasis room. I shouldn’t have got my hopes up. The Oasis rooms were located off a narrow, dingy concrete passage with smelly drains and hadn’t seen a fresh coat of paint in years. The room itself was slightly larger than the dungeon room and brighter. It was furnished with cheap-looking green cane furniture and certainly didn't come anywhere near four star standards. The air-conditioning was feeble, the door ot the mini bar was hanging off its hinges. The shower room was even smaller than the previous room and yes, again no bath. To top it all, the balcony with sea view overlooked a towering mass of pampas/bamboo which pretty much obstructed the direct view. The balcony was dirty, furnished with a dilapidated, peeling, plastic table and two chairs that should have been thrown out years ago and a smashed concrete parasol base but no parasol. There was also a dirty sunbed and deckchair which might lead you to think it was a large balcony but you had to squeeze between the furniture to move. We asked for a parasol and never got one. Bit like our airport transfer really.

The sea is undoubtedly beautiful but the view down from the hotel overlooks the scrubland and piecemeal development that has sprung up along this bay – it looks scruffy and ugly and wasn’t the soul-calming view I’d hoped for.

The hotel has a steep, stepped path down to the beach – overgrown, dirty, littered and very unpleasant – it made me wonder when was the last time the hotel management had actually checked their ‘private road’. Citara beach is a typical Italian beach – small public area and then packed solidly with beach restaurants, sunloungers etc. The beach was coarse, sand with a few rocks. Sea water was beautifully clear.

The Poseidon Gardens at the far end of the bay are definitely worth spending time at – beautiful gardens with lots of different thermal pools and fantastic beachfront. Excellent facilities and just all round relaxation. Sant Angelo and Maronti beach another must, although the beach is very much more pebbly than Citara.

Go to Ischia, it’s lovely, just don’t stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelbug2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2007

Resort Sorriso claims to be a 4 star spa hotel in Forio , Ischia. It is next door to the famous Posiedon springs.
Our room, although having a great view of the ocean, was closer to a 2 star offering. We were there for the first three days of June, 2007. The hot spring pools and grounds were very nice but all the spa appointments were booked! So much for that. The manicure my wife finally got was sub-par. We were made to get half-board (breakfast and dinner) with the reservation and encountered an angry staff of waiters in a hurry to get home after dinner service. The first night , I promised our waiter (good thing I spoke Italian) that we would try to eat faster the next night. The two young Italian girls at the table next to us howled in laughter. The included food was by far the worst we had on the entire vacation.
Upon arriving , we were told by the desk clerk to wait in the lobby until she could find someone to show us our room exclaiming, "This is a big hotel, you'll have to wait." For the entire three days on Ischia, we did not encounter one other english speaking tourist. The Island is full of Germans, with that being the 2nd laguage spoken and written. The beach below was dirty and uninviting. We were happy to leave.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank donaldoNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forio
4.8 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Terme Mediterraneo
2.5 mi away
Albergo Terme La Reginella
Albergo Terme La Reginella
#2 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Delfini Strand Hotel Terme
4.4 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terme Royal Palm
Hotel Terme Royal Palm
#14 of 81 in Forio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa

Property: Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa
Address: Via Provinciale Panza 209 | Baia di Citara, 80075 Forio, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Forio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Forio
#7 Luxury Hotel in Forio
#7 Spa Hotel in Forio
#18 Family Hotel in Forio
#22 Romantic Hotel in Forio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorriso Thermae Hotel
Sorriso Thermae Resort & Spa Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Forio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing