We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Terme La Pergola
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable stay”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at Hotel Terme La Pergola for three nights in August 2012.

Pros: Friendly staff, comfortable room, beautiful views, free shuttle

Cons: While very clean, the room had some dinginess and lack of detail (such as an over-long, stained shower curtain) that distracted from the otherwise pleasantness.

As a side note, the hotel has a shuttle, but I would not consider it in the middle of the action.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay and appreciated the beautiful views. Ischia is wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    98
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
126
227
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I almost wonder if we stayed at the same place as the other people writing reviews. Our experience was quite different. First the good- the pools and views are beautiful. There is a nice sun deck and several pools. The guests tend to be mostly retired Europeans, which meant lots of very tan older people lounging by the pool all day. The staff also seemed very friendly. I say seemed because only one of the hotel staff spoke English. Almost all of the guests are Italian or German, and these are the primary languages spoken. We were assigned an English speaking waiter, which was very helpful. Regardless, the staff seemed interested and kind; although, we were not able to communicate with most of them beyond hand signals and 1-2 words.

The okay- the location is far from the port and ocean but does have really nice views out over the island.

The not so good- we got put in a dark, damp room in the back of the complex. The room smelled of smoke and cleaning solution. The mountain view was of an antenna and tree. There was little sun that made into the room. The "balcony" was about 6 inches deep and certainly insufficient for sitting. Many other rooms had verandas but we did not. The bathroom had alot of mildew and did not come with any amenities beyond bar soap, toilet paper, and shampoo. The only furniture in the room was a table, dresser and plastic chair. It puts a damper on things when you anticipate afternoons of wine on the veranda and end up sitting in a plastic chair and the bed sipping wine from the plastic cups they provide. I am not sure if it was incidental but the only other American couple we met was in one of the other suboptimal rooms.

The really bad- The food was the worst we ate in Italy. We were in Italy for 4 weeks and this food was almost inedible. We often took one bite and left the rest. It tended to be cold and bland. The appertizer bar was good but everyone would show up at the opening of dinner and swarm on the bar. This was because the restaurant did not refill any of the dishes, so once they were gone, they were gone. We are more relaxed and did not enjoy fighting with people for the last clam. They also charge 15 euros for their wine, which is a decent wine but not on par with other similarly priced wines in italy.

While the pools were great, we would not stay here again. I waited several weeks after returning before filing this review, hoping time would dull the sour taste in my mouth from my experience at La Pergola. However, I cannot get over the bad room and awful food. The pools were nice and the staff seemed kind, but these positives were far outweighed by the room and food.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TylerDurden2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I may have missed it, but can’t see a way to report that the mapping of this hotel is now wrong (the address is correct) – it’s quite a way away from the sea and port. Also, remember that this is hilly country, so the hotel is a good way up from the sea – hence the great views (see below for more things on getting there) and it’s pretty peaceful up there.
The hotel is quite large, though doesn’t feel big or impersonal as it’s spread over several buildings and levels, with a good sized garden and terraces for relaxing or sunbathing, as well as nice pools and spa (there’s also a wellness/thermal centre, though we didn’t use it). It is all well decorated and very clean. Rooms, or at least ours, are not large but perfectly adequate and all have a balcony or terrace – either sea or mountain views (either is good; we were lucky and got both). There’s also a very reasonably priced bar.
The staff are excellent – friendly and very eager to be of help. The hotel is particularly favoured by Germans - the Germans seem to love Ischia in general, and I think they’ve got it right (vs. Capri for example). This does, though, mean that German is spoken as much, or more than, English in many places. In the hotel they always tried to make sure we had an English speaking person to answer questions and ensured that we had a waiter in the restaurant who spoke some English too – excellent service (though it doesn’t harm to have some Italian!).
We did, in our wanderings, find one restaurant not too far away (closed Sunday) and there may be others, though the hills may put you off walking far. Luckily we had booked half board anyway, at an incredibly reasonable 55 Euros each per day – offered when I emailed to check availability and, it seems, taken by most guests. The (mostly cold) breakfast buffet was more than adequate, with a very wide choice, although the coffee (machine) wasn’t great (coffees from the bar after dinner, etc, are good). The antipasto buffet was excellent and huge, with several hot items – we rather wished we’d just doubled up on that. There was the usual choice of 3 for the main courses: first (pasta, soup or similar) courses were decent and, again, large; second courses were somewhat variable and the odd one not very good. Desserts were simple, though not particularly special. If these sound like complaints that isn’t intended – you can’t expect fine dining at the price we paid and there was plenty of good food alongside a few not-so-good dishes. Service at dinner was very efficient, if a little more brisk than we’d have liked.
There is a fairly frequent bus (No.3) from Ischia Porto bus station and then Cassamiciola (on the coast road just by the port, but check to make sure it is still on its outward journey rather than returning to Porto) that really does stop right outside the hotel (though there’s no obvious bus stop). Ask the driver if you can; to be sure sit/watch on the right and look for the hotel sign after you’ve climbed the long hill and a few minutes after the bus starts to go down again. If you see it but miss stopping the bus in time, the next stop is not far at all (where the bus takes a sharp left and just before it starts to climb again). Taxis are (really) expensive, from Porto at least (more than 20 Euros). The hotel does have a shuttle to the coast a few times a day, which gets you down to the main bus routes, although walking down isn’t bad (but get directions for the simple route); masochists can walk back up too – it’s steep and quite a long way.
This is a terrific, friendly hotel for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Hi all, We have been more then impressed by Pergola Hotel Terme Spa. We were a family with baby twins and got the most fantastic help and special attention by Giampoalo Castagna and his family. Not only the place has a stuning view but garden rooms have a comfy setup and food is Fab' so fewsh and Yami Yami. The staff in the restaurant, cleaning and so on were adorable to our baby boyz and us :-) Friends stayed at 5 stars hotels but did not like the experience !!! We loved it and will comeback with more of our friends and family because they are all exceptional :-)
Many thanks to the team and our Friend livia who warmly recommended :-)

Room Tip: Ask for garden rooms :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djamila_FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los gatos, calf.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We recently visited the Italian island of Ischia. This is a beautiful island not visited by many Americans. They all go to Capri. Little do they know, there is a real paradise out there not far by ferry from Naples. We stayed at the Hotel La Pergola which is a wonderful place to stay.
It has thermal baths, swimming pools, varied outdoor seating areas with magnificent views.
They also provide a shuttle down the hill to the city. The price was 64 Euros for breakfast, and a four course dinner. This dinner was fantastic , with many choices. Each night the choices were different. Interestingly, there were many Germans there who told me they have come here, more than ten times to the same resort. The island was originally settled by Phoenicians, and was the real first island settled by the Greeks. The history is everywhere, and also there are two beautiful gardens on the island which you should not miss. One is a cactus garden, and there is also a beautiful garden created by a British composer who lived on this island with his wife. Underneath a church there are also ruins which go back three thousand years.
A ride in a microcab is a real experience. It only has three wheels, and is a throwback to the old
days. They got us a great guide for one day whose name was Giuseppe Galano. He is a must
if you go to the island. His website is info@visitpompeii.it. He took us to a cave house built into a mountain which I have never seen anything like it, before. Fascinating historian, and he lives
in Ischia. As far as the hotel it really is a find. They are very friendly, and tried to accommodate
us in every way possible.
We have traveled quite a bit, but this place is something you should put on your list of places to
see.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, and the view is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swartzlosgatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I have been staying in Positano, which I considered to be heaven on earth. But, if paradise had a fun park, it would be Ischia. This hotel in particular is totally lovely and a bargain. Family-run and pleasantly congenial. Relaxed. Pretty. Excellent buffet breakfast and spectacular dinners every night. Complimenti allo chef! Nicola Iacono is magic. Some of the best food I have eaten in Italy was at this restaurant -- included with "half board" for only 7 additional euros per night. And friendly waiters too. We enjoyed the on-site thermal pools (although I would not especially recommend the on-site spa), and the best thing you MUST do is spend a day (or more) at Negombo thermal park. It is incredible and worth every 30 euros of the price. The place is full of visitors who return every year for many years, and now I will become one of them.

Room Tip: Our terrace was larger than our room, which was funny, but okay. The room was fine -- nothing fancy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Very friendly family run hotel. The hotel managers are delightful and always ready to help you with any queries.They run a free shuttle to the beach and town 4 times a day which makes it very easy to go about. The food is outstanding and plentiful - a true Italian experience! The pool is lovely and the Spa pool most welcome after walking around and if you have achy joints! There is also spa facilities but I have never used them. They have an excellent package in July - 400 Euros half board. Excellent value for money. I recommned it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casamicciola Terme
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Janto
Hotel Villa Janto
#2 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
760 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
#3 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
1,408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
#6 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Poggio Aragosta Hotel & Spa
Poggio Aragosta Hotel & Spa
#4 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
457 reviews
3.3 mi away
Punta Chiarito Resort Hotel Ristorante
2.4 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terme La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terme La Pergola

Property: Hotel Terme La Pergola
Address: Via Casamennella 1, 80074 Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Casamicciola Terme
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#8 Romantic Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terme La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
la Pergola Thermal Spas and Hotel is siuated on historic natural thermo-mineral springs.Having integrated the Hotel and the thermal spa Health Centre into one establishment,la Pergola represent the ideal locaton to enjoy a wholesome holiday, to relax, to rejuvenate and to revitalise... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Terme La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terme La Pergola Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Casamicciola Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing