We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Possibly the best hotel experience we have ever had! Anywhere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Sirena

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Casamicciola Terme
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Villa Sirena
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Possibly the best hotel experience we have ever had! Anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed at Villa Sirena for 4 nights at the end of a tiring, hot, 2-week trip. We had tramped through dusty sights, climbed countless stairs, and sweated through near 100 degree temps. in late-summer Italy. We didn't know what to expect and had heard little about Ischia other than it was beautiful.
The hotel is nestled up in the mountain. It has welcoming open terraces and lots of lush greenery. Almost everything is covered with brightly painted tile. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a nice shower and excellent maid service.
The hotel has been in the family for generations and right from the start you know you are staying with a family.
Alberto, one of the owners, picked us up at the dock (you must take a ferry or hydrofoil to the island) and from that point on we were treated like royalty. The entire staff (extended family members) did everything they could to make our stay wonderful. We were greeted on the terrace with drinks as our bags were deposited in our room. We were given a tour of the hotel and it's spa facility, as well as a map of the island and a timetable of when the hotel shuttle would drop off and pick up. (We never consulted the schedule, Alberto and his brother Arnoldo took us wherever we wanted to go, whenever we wanted).
The driving on Ischia is the most hair-raising experience! Narrow cobbled streets, no sidewalks, dogs, old ladies, children all popping out. It was like being in a video game!
The most wonderful part of the stay was the dining. We selected the half board option (breakfast and dinner). We had an assigned table and waiter (lovely Paolo) for our entire stay. At breakfast Alberto comes around and gives two dinner choices - all locally grown/raised/prepared. The meals were bountiful- an appetizer would be waiting on our table, we would be served a first and second course and dessert. Between courses the waiters would bring around trays of second helpings. We were travelling with children and Alberto fussed over them (in Italian). He brought them the fruit that they liked, he offered to make special dishes for them, he even cut up my 10 year old's meat on 3 separate occasions, hoping she'd eat more (she was stuffed!) The food was the most delicious food I had in Italy.
Breakfasts were good too - served buffet-style - with homemade cakes and breads, homemade peach jam from their trees out back, big bowls of freshly-picked fruit, juice, yogurt, cereal. A nice spread - plenty, we thought, until Paulo came to our table with a platter of meats/cheeses, and took our omelette orders.
Alberto gave us the best advice for our daily activities. The beaches were lovely and good for the children (shallow, a long way out).
One night Alberto arranged a boat ride/night swim for any interested guests. No charge, just something nice for his guests.
The spa was on the lower level and was clean and well-kept. There was a thermal pool, a Turkish bath and a Kneipp course. (I encountered a few of these - a circular wading pool with rocks on the bottom and massaging jets. Half very hot, half freezing. Fun.)
If you don't speak Italian, it might be a little slow-going, but if anyone can make it work - this wonderful family can.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It's a unique place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Eileen5225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    771
    53
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
190
395
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Another wondeful stay at Villa Sirena, the hospitality, friendship and great food (all the food is coming from the area, less than 1 km away from the hotel!) make this place a real gem. Two hits of this year: 1) we travelled by train from London (and we did it with a two year-old son!!), wonderful experience, having breakfast in London, lunch in Paris, dinner on the train, breakfast in Rome and be in Ischia for late lunch, we highly recommend it! and 2) on our day trip to the wonderful island of Capri (only 1 hour of boat from Ischia), we forgot the buggie in the van of the hotel - we were in the boat thinking on how we would have managed a full day without it, when we saw Arnaldo (one of the owner of the hotel) running on the pier with the buggie and handed it to the sailor when the boat was just leaving the dock - with the right soundtrack it could have been a great scene of a film - THANKS Arnaldo, you saved our day in Capri.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SauroScarpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Oliveti
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Ischia is a splendid island definitely worth spending a week on. Though very busy at the end of August, there are so many things to see and fantastic scenery to soak in. My trip was made all the better thanks to the staff members at Hotel Villa Sirena who were more than happy to help me plan my days. The hotel itself is a kind of paradise where relaxing is great, the food, delicious, and the service, impecable. Though I do not recommend it for people who don't have a bit of the Italian language, I do to all those looking for a place to relax in the sun and in the company of great people. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spsmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

It was my first time in Ischia and it will definitely be not the last one!! The hotel was fantastic, the best food I have ever had in any hotel, never had the same thing in 12 days!! Only negative side is the kilos put on.. but as Alberto (one of the owners) says: "Un uomo senza pancia e' come un cielo senza stelle - a man without a belly is like a sky without stars!"
Wonderful hospitality and really a great palce to relax. It was very easy with our 1 year old - the staff is absolutely breat with kids.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SauroScarpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weert
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Located on a beautiful little island. Really nice and clean hotel. Beautiful rooms, and really good swimming pool with sauna and hot/cold bath. The hotelmanager can drive you to Casamicciola city, where you find really nice shops and little bars. Super friendly people and I would love to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marianka17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

Great service, rooms get cleaned every day. Very good breakfast and dinner. If you have a question you get helped directly. Very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freggel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

What a bunch of nice people run this family hotel, nothing was too much for them. Sometimes people are friendly just for the money, these people are genuine and care!

Food is exceptional, we went with the intention of finding local restaurants for the evening meal but gave up as there wasn't anything as good as the variety and quality of what was served every evening at the hotel.

Rooms are good for the price and clean and well maintained and the maid service was excellent. No TV which I missed for about one hour and then just enjoyed watching the world and the weather over the mountain out of our window. Dramatic splendid views from both sides of the hotel, one from the front down to the bay at Laco Amano (a delightfull small town) and the one from our window at the back up to the mountain / volcano.

My wife chose Ischia because she has been suffering from rhumatism in her hip for over a year now and Doctors can do nothing about it. One week of mud in the La Rita Terme and cruising the hotel hot volcanic ground water pool in the basement and she has come back with the discomfort reduced over 90% and that is the same nearly a month latter as I write this review. Walking around the hotel may have helped or not as there is nothing on Ischia that is flat unless you walk around the sea shore. Some of the roads / paths up from Laco Amano and Casamicciola you almost need a ladder!! Though they do a very good shuttle bus service at the hotel.

Very hard to find a down side, definitely not a hotel for kids which for me is a very good thing. The only other thing is they don't take cards, so don't be caught out as we were chasing around holes in the wall. Though they just shrugged and said pay us by transfer when you get back but I was too embarrassed, can you imagine a hotel saying that!!!!!!! Ischia, well beaches aren't very good and a couple of the towns are scruffy, ferry is a pain but it is an island.

We are going back next April.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nenevalleyaudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casamicciola Terme
1.1 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
1.3 mi away
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
#3 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
#5 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bel Tramonto
Hotel Bel Tramonto
#21 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Montano Resort & SPA
San Montano Resort & SPA
#1 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albergo Terme La Reginella
Albergo Terme La Reginella
#2 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sirena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sirena

Property: Hotel Villa Sirena
Address: Via Calata Sant'Antonio 8, 80074 Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Casamicciola Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#1 Spa Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#1 Family Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#2 Romantic Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL THREE STAR FAMILY ON THE ISLAND OF ISCHIA WITH SPA,RESTAURANT WITH KITCHEN KM0 TERRACE AND SHUTTLE SERVICE TO THE PORT AND THE BEACH. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sirena Hotel Casamicciola Terme
Hotel Villa Sirena Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Casamicciola Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing