We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Relaxing Week Away in Grifo.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
Certificate of Excellence
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Relaxing Week Away in Grifo.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Grifo is located on a secluded wooded hill inbetween Casamicciola and Ischia Porte. It is possible to walk into both towns along the main road on the island (which I did most days) but maybe it's a better option to take advantage of the complimentary car driven by a handsome Italian man called Nico, who knows Ischia very well, speaks excellent english and can recommend nice places to go.

The staff at the hotel were warm and welcoming and nothing was ever too much to ask. My garden room was spacious and cool and had a nice area outside where one could sit and read a book/relax in privacy. The spa was open from 4-7 in the evenings and was a great way to recharge the batteries before dinner with a scented shower, hydro massage, sauna, and to finish - a cup of herbal tea in the relaxation room....perfect!

The pool area was a bit small when compared with other hotels I've stayed in i.e:not suitable for swimming lenghts really but was lovely and cold to dip into when temperatures were up and always spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was a nice selection of juices, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cakes, pastries, and tarts. The cappucinos served were always delicious and frothy and service was always with a smile. Similarly the dinner served in the evenings was excellent and very good value.

The hotel is nice and small, so it felt homely and intimite, you never felt like you were a room number, things were much more personal. The only downsides I can think of is that the wifi was not very good/reliable, and that I felt a bit unsafe walking home at night through the wood, but I guess thats my own fault as I chose not to get a taxi!

I would thoughouly recommend staying here and hopefully I will stay again someday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRIFOHOTEL, Lo staff del Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA**** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Guest , we're delighted to read you had a wonderful stay with us, thank you for your kind words of appreciation .It would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you soon again to the Grifo Hotel . Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,019
    269
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
224
814
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This year it is the 3rd time we stay in this hotel And what a stay! . The level of quality is always getting better ., Staff is all problems-resolving., you get completely spoiled. Spa which is in hotel, includes several services and you do not need to get out looking for Ischia thermal centres.
, Meals are very good( the problem is that you put weight on.....). The hotel is as clean as a lab.
Rooms are very nicely furnished and very big with a beautiful view and very quiet.
We just love it!!!

Room Tip: Take a big room with view , costs a bit more but is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beata s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Ischia offers many resorts and deciding which one to select was our challenge. We certainly made the right choice and Grifo Hotel lived up to all the positive reviews and awards of excellence it has received. It is really a jewel perched on the slopes above Casamicciola with easy access to the center of Ischia. Everything was just great. The Hotel is of recent construction with a lovely pool and lots of terraces where one can relax or sunbathe. As others have noted, it is maintained to a high standard of cleanliness. Our room was fabulous and spacious. The food in the restaurant was great and one can choose to have meals included in the plan or just eat there when you feel like it. They have a good shuttle service and the staff are ready to come and pick up guests from the ports on the island and also from the center of Ischia. The owners and all the staff of the Hotel are extremely friendly, helpful and super efficient. They know how to welcome guests and make them feel at home. This is a huge plus and I want to thank Alberto Grifo, Carmela, Emmanuela, Pino, Nicho, Paolo, Alessia and all their other colleagues for their wonderful hospitality and kindness. Grazie mille a tutte e tutti! We met a lot of guests who have been coming to the hotel on previous occasions and one could see that they felt they were returning home! Don't even hesitate: book right away. I already plan to be back!!

Room Tip: They have 2 Junior Suites which are very reasonably priced and great value for money. Room 401 has i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoharama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRIFOHOTEL, Lo staff del Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA **** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at the Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA **** . I am delighted to learn you had a pleasant stay with us and that our level of service definitely met your expectation . Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed for 5 days at Hotel Grifo was a pleasant stay. Clean, polite and helpful staff. Food was excellent. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay this is the one for you. What there are missing is some entertainment at night and I found they can put some music outside. They did have but you could hardly hear it. It is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gervasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRIFOHOTEL, Lo staff del Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA **** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your beautiful words. We are all happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in a near future
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amberg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Our trip to Italy was already planned when my husband ruptured his Achilles tendon and had to have surgery (ten days before our flight). I contacted the Grifo before we left. They moved our room to a more central location and allowed us to extent for an extra day. By the time we left, we felt like family! All of the staff were helpful and courteous. Any extra help we needed was quickly provided. Due to our limited mobility, we ate at the hotel more than we might have otherwise. The food was great, too! Spa services were easily booked and very good as well.

We would definitely stay at the Grifo again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan_F_12937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Having visited Ischia previously, staying on the south of the island, we were keen to return and explore the north of the Island. Our choice to book the Hotel Grifo was based on other trip advisors ratings and comments.
The hotel is good value for money. We booked a superior room with views to the sea. One word of caution, these rooms have spacious balconies but all have views to the sea obscured by trees. Plus, they do not receive any direct sun, again because of the trees and the fact they are north facing. The room itself was clean and pretty in basic Italian style as one would expect but it we did find it extremely small and my partner on first inspection said, 'well this is our cell for the week'. We are used to a much bigger room size when booking 'superior' in Italy. I would suggest that you book a junior suite at the Grifo if you want the actual space that a superior should give you.
Breakfast was good. Usual stuff.
The hotel is perched on a hill and we walked down to Ischia port and Casamicciola several times. Be warned, both trips take exactly 25 minutes by foot, not 10 minutes as other trip advisor people have said. We didn't mind as we are very active people but some people would be alarmed by this as the actual walk is along a very busy road and some parts are up hill.
The spa in the hotel was great but was spoilt at times by large groups of ladies staying at the hotel screaming and shouting even though there were signs everywhere saying 'please be quiet in the spa'
Maybe they have never been to a sauna, who knows, but it was very off putting. The pool area was lovely and very clean. The one thing that I would change about the hotel was the bar, well to be exact the lack of bar. The hotel is crying out for a bigger bar area and seating.
The hotel has a huge roof terrace with sun loungers. We went up there several times but it was always empty and very desolate. It would make an amazing space for a bar up there with beautiful seating and plants etc, as the views up there are fantastic. such a shame to not make use of this space.
On the whole we had a good trip. just a few gripes with the size of room and the location of the hotel.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and book a suite so you get the size of room one would expect from a superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissCapriLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

When you arrive at Grifo Hotel everything become perfect. That is if you like to stay at a hotel where you can hear the birds singing when you wake up in the morning. If you like a clean hotel, with excellent food and fantastic service this is the hotel for you.

The rooms are large and the bed is nice.

Room Tip: Ask for room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangowulves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRIFOHOTEL, Lo staff del Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA **** at Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Guest,thank you very much for the wonderful words spent for the Grifo Hotel , it is a pleasure to hear that you find here a unique place and that you enjoyed so much all of your stay. We really hope that your plans will bring you back to Ischia, we will be very happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casamicciola Terme
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Janto
Hotel Villa Janto
#2 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
2.2 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
1.1 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
San Montano Resort & SPA
San Montano Resort & SPA
#2 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.7 mi away
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
#6 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA

Property: Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA
Address: Via Monte Tabor 28, 80074 Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Casamicciola Terme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#3 Family Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#3 Spa Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
#3 Romantic Hotel in Casamicciola Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 kilometre from the centre the Ischia, near the port of Casamicciola Terme, Grifo Hotel features stunning panoramic views of the gulf of Naples, Tabor Mountain and Epomeo Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Casamicciola Terme
Grifo Hotel Charme & SPA Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Casamicciola Terme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing