We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent... Truly Fancy... Don't let the off-season rates fool you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Lacco Ameno
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent... Truly Fancy... Don't let the off-season rates fool you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

Stayed here in October 2008 and am finally getting around to reviewing. My review is particularly relevant to persons visiting in the off-season. Though I only have positive things to say, this hotel is actually the source of much regret associated with our trip to Ischia. My wife and I wanted a relaxing trip to Europe in the late fall, on the tail end of a business trip, and to be in as warm and beachy of a place as possible for the time of year. We reviewed Tripadvisor for hotels extensively and were completely duped (in some sense) by the stellar reviews of the Aragona Palace Hotel (see my separate review). Why the Albergo della Regina Isabella is the source of some regret is that when I was researching hotels I was extremely suspicious as to why a 5-star resort had such low rates relative to other clearly-inferior hotels... was it location, under construction, overrated? The answer is still not clear, but I can say that the location is perfect, the hotel is definitely 5-star and there is nothing inferior about it. The regret comes because my wife and I were so upset with our choice of the Aragona Palace that we cancelled a night in Naples, and booked a night here and absolutely loved it, couldn't believe it was cheaper than the Aragona Palace, and wished we had stayed here the entire time. We only stayed one night, so I will keep the rest brief. The service is top-notch from the pool-side waiting, to check-in, to the ride two and from the port. The place is very fancy, and old-school fancy; people dress up to hang out in the lobby bar at night. This was not our speed, so we hung out in the town. The hotel doesn't have a real beach area per se, but has an excellent pool by the water, and has docks out on the water with deck chairs and umbrellas, which are very relaxing. It is a fancy place, so food and drinks appeared on the pricier end, but the service was outstanding. The rooms were spacious and 5-star quality, even the garden view. The one negative I notice about being there in October is that the volcanic peak on the island cast a shadow over the resort's tanning areas fairly early in the day. We checked out the spa area and indoor thermal spa, and I would have to say these were a bit more on the therapeutic side, than on the resort side... to say it another way, it felt more like you were in a hospital than a resort type spa. There were lots of older people using these facilities. The town of Lacco Ameno was perfect for relaxing strolls in the evening, with a good selection of restaurants and shops and places to get dessert, gelato, a drink... definitely more quaint and touristy than Ischia Porto, but this was what we were looking for, and definitely perfect for multiple nights of relaxing evenings. And Lacco Ameno is closer to the thermal spa resorts on the West side of the island that are fun to visit in the day and have better beaches. Don't make the mistake we did and be overly cynical of the good deals to be had here in the fall. It is truly a 5-star place.

Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank RickStevesJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    67
    20
    5
    6
See reviews for
52
115
20
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2008

I just came back from 9 days stay in this hotel, overall I had great time.
The only bad thing I have to say, that this hotel needs more (!) renovation works : The pool in the garden was not possible to use, was all rusted and dirty :( , only sea water pool, by the sea side is good .
The Thermal pool and Spa - it looks like: old, run down hospital :(
Location great, views- amazing, staff / service great, room very clean ,food great.
My room - lovely and the views, to die for.
For sure some day I will come back there :)

  • Liked — the location, my room, the views, the food,the service, the italian island
  • Disliked — the fisherman morning shouting, fisherman boat noise, poor condition of A/C n the room, run down SPA and garden pool
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Pricesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2007

Having stayed at many luxury hotels before this one was a real find! The room we stayed in had fantastic views across the Bay of Naples and onto the Amalfi Coast, the staff were incredibly helpful, food yummy and the spa treatments we had (mud wraps) to die for. I felt my skin glowing all day. We also loved the little private sandy beach which is a real rarity in that region. Authentic Italy at its best!

  • Liked — It felt authentic, like you imagine Italy to be
  • Disliked — ????
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonLuxurylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel for a week in September. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We wish we had booked on a half-board basis, instead of the B & B rates, as we were more than happy to eat in the beautiful diningroom every evening. The food was delicious, with a menu which was changed daily. The service was excellent and attentive.

We had a lovely room overlooking the sea, and enjoyed watching the boats coming and going. The swimming pools were lovely. We also enjoyed the thermal pool in the Spa Building. We didn't try swimming in the lagoon, but that looked nice too.

There were always taxis in the street just outside the hotel.... We found this very useful for getting around the island. One taxi driver described our hotel as "the best hotel on the island" - and we wouldn't disagree with that sentiment.

We had a lovely holiday and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Passerby-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2007

My boyfriend surprised me with this little trip, and this place was a dream. We had a double room over in the Royal side of the hotel with the thermo tub on our balcony. Pure bliss. The room decor and standard of furniture was outstanding. I must say I wondered about some of the rooms that we did pass along the way though as it was definitely very noticeable that the Royal side had been recently renovated. The service was fantastic, with typical Italian flair. The restaurants are fantastic but not something to eat in everynight. The poolside service was very attentive. A real find and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — the thermo pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank littledragongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2006

We recently stayed at this fabulous hotel. I don't know why trip advisor have it as 3 star when it is a 5 star hotel by international standards (not Italian). The hotel is set in the most amazing place, tucked into the side of a hill at the end of the most quaint fishing village. We stayed in a rather large room at the end of the sports wing. In fact it was 2 rooms with bathroom and balcony that overlooked the village and across the bay to Procida. The view was really beautiful and the room/s were fabulous. There was the most beautiful lagoon to swim in and a great salt water swimming pool that is so deep you can't touch the bottom no matter how hard you try. The pool water is pumped in from the sea. We were travelling with our 13 y/o daughter who was made to feel very special. I also noticed young toddlers, babies and children who were also treated like gods. The staff were fantastic, they couldn't have tried harder to make our stay more enjoyable and memorable. We ate at the hotel in the various restaurants and they all had the most amazing food, truely delicious. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It was in Conde Nast top ten of 'Where we want to go in 2006' and I can understand why.....absolutely brilliant!!!! I would go back in a flash. Put this hotel into your Italian Itinerary and give yourself at least 3 days to chill out at the hotel and to check out the fabulous island of Ischia. Chow!

  • Liked — Everything, Bellisimo!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — You must experience this place, magic.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Listentometraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacco Ameno
0.2 mi away
San Montano Resort & SPA
San Montano Resort & SPA
#2 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Terme La Reginella
Albergo Terme La Reginella
#1 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
1.5 mi away
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
#6 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Albergo della Regina Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Albergo della Regina Isabella

Property: L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
Address: Piazza Santa Restituta 1, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Lacco Ameno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#3 Spa Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#5 Family Hotel in Lacco Ameno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — L'Albergo della Regina Isabella 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“L’Albergo della Regina Isabella” is located directly on the seashore, in the midst of a peaceful bay surrounded by rocky shores and luscious Mediterranean vegetation. The hotel is located in the township of Lacco Ameno in Ischia, the largest Neapolitan island in the Gulf of Naples. It was built in the 1950’s by Angelo Rizzoli. The island’s beauty and thermal baths captivated the illustrious publisher and film director. In 1956 he decided to enlarge historic Regina Isabella’s thermal baths and build a resort over the ancient Greek - Roman ruins. After just a few years, Ischia and “L’Albergo della Regina Isabella” became the centre of attraction for cosmopolitan worldliness. Celebrities such as Richard Burton, Liz Taylor, Maria Callas, Alberto Sordi and William Holden enlivened those popular years making it one of the most exclusive and glamorous destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Albergo della Regina Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Della Regina Isabella Hotel Lacco Ameno
Regina Isabella Ischia
L'Albergo Della Regina Isabella Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Lacco Ameno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing