We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you are spending the day at Negombo”

Trattoria Casa Colonica al Negombo
Ranked #4 of 30 Restaurants in Lacco Ameno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great if you are spending the day at Negombo”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I was already spending a fabulous day at Negombo hot springs resort & they have several restaurant options. I chose the Trattoria Casa Colonica based on the menu & atmosphere. It really rounded out an amazing experience with delicous food in a laid back atmosphere & friendly staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank roberta_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    99
    32
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
exeter
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you're on the island, don't miss it.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was an excellent eating experience in a convivial atmosphere. We took the guidance of the owner, who served an original meal that was perfectly enhanced with marvellous wine and followed by desert wines and excellent pastries. The pressed Tuna was a new experience for us and memorable, the Spaghetti Vongole was excellent, and the fish on toast was original and excellent. The restaurant is located in a garden and has a marvellous atmosphere. Service was attentive and friendly. There is an unpretentious artistry about this little restaurant that deserves appreciation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap, Rude Staff, Slow Service and Bland Food to Boot”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We arrived late night after a concert nearby and wanted a light dinner. We were 4 adults and 2 sleeping children. The waiter asked if he could just bring us a "few" things, "Antipasto, pasta, a little meat and a little fish." Hesitantly, we agreed. Big mistake! The food was very slow to arrive, too much time passed between courses, the servings were much too large for the four of us and the food had no taste. When we finally tried to get our check to leave, the waiter said "Oh No", that we had a full fish coming too! After the mass quantities of tasteless food they had already dumped on us (and that had gone uneaten) we were in no mood for a full fish, (which was also bland in taste).
In the end we were presented with a bill of about €550 for the four of us. We were furious that we were targeted as such gullible tourists and treated so poorly. In the two weeks we spent sailing around the Italian Islands, we had many amazing meals and wonderful experiences. This was definitely the worst on all accounts.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KG_Travel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very slow and extremely rude waiter”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I visited this restaurant in July with my friend and after an amazing time in the thermal pools, we were looking forward to a nice lunch, however we were extremely disappointed. We were seated but then were ignored for the next ten minutes and I had to ask for the menu. We waited another fifteen minutes and could not get any of the waiters attention to order - eventually I caught the eye of a waiter who I think was the owner and asked could we order when he was ready - he then gave out to me for calling on him and was extremely rude and completely out of order. We were going to walk out after being spoken to in such a way, however another waiter then appeared at our table. We then waited about 30 minutes for our order ( bruschetta x2). The bill came to €14 and overall we were just sorry we didn't leave earlier. It was an extremely frustrating hour out of an otherwise fantastic day at this spa park. One word for this place - avoid!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, great owners”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My boyfriend found this restaurant on trip advisor. It got great reviews and we were not disappointed! The place is beautiful. The owners are both artists and the décor and atmosphere is rustic and relaxing. It has a Lilly pond and an herb garden. The owner Jack gave as us an excellent wine recommendation that was only $14 euros. Everything we ate was extremely fresh. The chef comes out and picks the herbs right before they cook each dish. Jack makes you feel like an invited guest in his home. My boyfriend and I both got hugs and kisses when we left. It was a very special meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Casa Colonica al Negombo also viewed

Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia
Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia
 
Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia
Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia
 
Casamicciola Terme, Isola d'Ischia
 

Been to Trattoria Casa Colonica al Negombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing