We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above all expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Montano Resort & SPA
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Lacco Ameno
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above all expectations”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Great choice for demanding guests.Very relaxing place with great views over the bay of Lacco Ameno (25 from Porto Ischia) with large charming territory,several swimming pools and extremely professional multilingual staff.Among exceptional advantages:spacious 2 level rooms (we stayed in junior suite) with terrace,delightful food (great seafood gala dinner buffet in sunday!),and top level service,that made all the difference!to reach the beach - shuttle bus from hotel - 5min,on request,no additional charge, for the sun bed and umbrella - neither.Also you can ask shuttle car from the port at arrival,hotel kindly offer it.The only disadvantage i could mention - thermal water pools are not suitable for children,so if you travel with little ones - there will be only one seawater pool to swim in (but breathtaking panorama). Yes,also - great spa facilities! A la carte or 2-4-5 days treatments for fair money, but that really make you feel better and totally relaxed.I could not wish better for location/service/facilities,hotel certainly was above all expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanyTellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    77
    17
    13
    6
See reviews for
77
234
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed in the Hotel for 4 nights in the Junior Suite with a Sea View. The Service was excellent and the rooms were excellent. The Food was also excellent and the we enjoyed to the core.

The Only sore point was that there are a few restrictions placed on the people visiting the beach which is being accessed by the Hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Junior Suite, since it has a brilliant Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntpasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

What a superb find this was. This hotel is positioned at the very top of montano and the views are some of the most beautiful panoramic views that we have experienced in our many years of travel.
We were greeted by the hotel reception staff and escoted around the hotel and its facilities and then taken to our room, with sea view - fantastic! The hotel is a genuine 5 star and although the rooms could be larger, they are comfortable.
The pools were great. The larger pool was at a constant temperature, with the second pool just welcoming you after spending time in the hot glorious sun. On the same level you have a jacuzzi. Just sit down and enjoy - you will be in heaven. The thermal pools are a must again with such fantastic views (can you tell I want to be back there!). The SPA itself was so so relaxing. We were lucky to have a complimentary body massage and could have easily stayed all day. We would have gone back but found it very expensive - but it seemed very popular with the ladies - there husbands and partners are picking up the bills now!!
Breakfast buffet - Ample choice with some hot dishes as well. A good variety of food to choose from and you will not go away feeling hungry. The evening meal - The food was some of the best we have experienced in a hotel. You normally just have a buffet - and you do here too but that is for your 1st course and dessert. Courses 2 & 3 are from a choice of menu. You will not be dissappointed. Our Saturday night meal consisted of Lobster, Oysters, Sword Fish, Giant Prawns and many more. If you are not a fish lover, there were plenty of alternatives.
The staff were absolutely great. Efficient, friendly and helpful. In particular, the hotel (Cristina) arranged for our taxi pick up at the airport which took us to the port of Naples. The taxi driver sat us down in a bar, bought us coffee and went to collect our tickets for the ferry to Ischia. There we were met by the hotel limo which took us to the hotel. Whenever we wanted to go into town or hotel beech, the hotel shuttle was available. They also arranged our trip back to the airport.
Our experience has left us with the desire to return next year. You will not be disappointed if you select this hotel and am sure you will enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: The main hotel rooms are in our opinion, small but we understand that the superior and suites are mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lockemup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We came to San Montano Resort after a less then stellar stay on Capri. Ischia is beautiful from all angles and the people are so friendly. Francesco who works the shuttle was the first person we met from the resort and I can not even begin to say how friendly and kind he is. When we entered the hotel we were greeted by the general manager and given a personal tour of the hotel before being escorted to our room. We booked a suite and it was roomy and extremely clean. The wait staff at the restaurant wear the formal attire and give the most excellent service. Every person you meet at this hotel is very attentive to detail and your happiness. We truly loved the waiter Franco who was very helpful! Vincenzo at the front desk is very accommodating as well. He was able to charter us a boat, find a babysitter, recommend restaurants, etc. The pools are beautiful and well maintained. My only complaint about the resort was the area where you receive spa services. I found it a little bit cold and sterile rather then warm and luxurious. The pool spa and gym are very nice and modern. There is beaches nearby that the shuttle will gladly take you to which we also enjoyed. Breakfast is the most incredible spread of beautiful fruits, meats and breads! We will definitely be returning next year and look forward to our next trip!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at the hotel June 15th thru June 18th. I booked it through Luxury Link. What a great find! The views are amazing! I loved sitting in the infinity thermal pool and looking out at the marina. I found that front desk staff that spoke English were good. Annalisa was especially great! The resort provides shuttle service to the town and to the beach which was very useful.
The hotel doesn't get many US tourists so it has a different feel than hotels that cater to Americans. I have to say I will definitely go back!

Room Tip: S1 is a duplex with an amazing view of the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We recently stayed at San Montano for a week at the end of our honeymoon and loved it! The spa is set in a fantastic location with stunning 360 degree views from the top of the cliff.
The thermal pools are gorgeous, breakfast was fantastic, the free shuttle service to the town of Laccoliths Amenorrhea and the beach was a real plus. We used this daily to eat in town as the dinner was a buffet every day which isn't really our thing and was rather expensive.
The spa downstairs was beautiful and the staff down there were incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and the chambermaids also very sweet.
Sadly however this wasn't matched by their colleagues upstairs. While efficient to a point, the front desk and pool staff are rather unfriendly and you felt as though you were putting them out a bit if you asked for anything. While they would never say no, it was rarely service with a smile. When we told them we had just got married for example, our reply was a curt nod!
I'm not sure either that the attention to detail was deserving of the 5* rating. Our robes (which you spend most of the day in) we're not changed once. There were no hand/hair towels in the bathrooms, no spare pillows or quilts in the wardrobes...
The double room is made up of two single beds pushed together (not uncommon for Italy I know) but they were made up as single beds also, so if you want to get near your partner you need to remake the bed!
Finally, the map in the room of the hotel is years out of date, so when we got ready for a game of tennis and were struggling to find the courts, we asked reception to find out they had been closed years ago!! Update your information San Montano. FYI there are no table tennis or bowls greens either. There was also no information anywhere in the hotel about the rest of the island.
Amazing hotel, needs a service overhaul.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieR-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex farmer
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Do not go to Capri, choose Ischia; although still bustling and beautiful, it is less crowded and much less commercialised in our view. We spent a glorious week in the San Montano in the second week of June 2013 and thoroughly recommend it. There are 300 degree awesome views that surely cannot be beaten - from sunrise over distant Vesuvius, around the coast, across the attractive town (fairyland when lit at night) then a headland and finally amazing sunsets over the ocean. The food was good and very plentiful, a full array of breakfast goodies from scrambled egg and bacon through to croissants and sweet pastries all enjoyed on a sunny patio and with that view! Perhaps more fresh fruit i.e. peaches, apricots as opposed to preserved would be only improvement. Dinner was likewise a feast with one buffet 'starter' then three served courses - which curiously did not include coffee. It proved to be better value than eating out in the town - beware, everywhere in Italy is expensive. There was no shortage of staff who were generally attentive and good humoured although English is def a third language. The hotel has five pools, ranging from cool seawater to the main spa fed pool which is actually cooled to 32 degrees, so very warm and quite salty so even I could float in it without flapping anything! We were lucky to be allocated one of the best rooms in the hotel, (S9), which was on two levels with lots of space, two bathrooms, and comfortably furnished with quality pieces, and best of all, a private patio/garden with a grass area, parasol, recliners etc and flowering Jasmine hedges that smelt divine, with again that view. We were able to book through a special offer which made the price very acceptable and the local agents fixed excellent trips out including a day trip to Capri about an hour and a half away by pleasant boat ride. Perhaps the main thing we missed was coffee/tea making facility in the room. Altogether an extremely enjoyable experience at a well-managed and very comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Always worth asking about an upgrade. Manager Maurizio Orlacchio is particularly helpful and speaks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacco Ameno
0.2 mi away
L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
0.3 mi away
Garden & Villas Resort
0.2 mi away
Albergo Terme La Reginella
Albergo Terme La Reginella
#3 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
Terme Manzi Hotel & Spa
#5 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
652 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
3.3 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Montano Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Montano Resort & SPA

Property: San Montano Resort & SPA
Address: Via Monte Vico, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Lacco Ameno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Family Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Spa Hotel in Lacco Ameno
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lacco Ameno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — San Montano Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your San Montano Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo San Montano Hotel Lacco Ameno
San Montano Resort & SPA Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Lacco Ameno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing