We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time spent at the Hotel Antares”
Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Antares
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Lacco Ameno
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Antares.

All the staff are super welcome and professional. I highly reccommend this hotel not only for the price but for the quality. Rooms are very clean and spacious.

Very happy and ill be back soon..

Thank you for the great time spent in Ischia.
Ciao!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TommasoContortionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nunziante S, Direttore at Hotel Antares, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Customer,
thank you for your positive review of our hotel. It is our standard to make feel comfortable and welcome our customers.
We wish you come back to us, if you choose to come back again on our beautiful island.
Best regards
Nunzio Salvati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed at Hotel Antares because of the rating on Trip Advisor and it was a good price.

I wish we had paid more money somewhere else.

This was definitely an Italian clientel hotel. The staff spoke very limited English..and one young girl had me type into google translater to understand anything I said.

The hotel was run down and needed updating. The rooms were ok, nothing great at all..we had the seaview in room 208. The side view was of a neighbors yucky yard.

The shower leaked..and was so tiny we could barely get in..anyone over weight would have difficulty showering. I couldn't even shave my legs in the shower. Enough said.

The manager or owner seemed frazzled all the time..like there wasn't enough time to get everything done. He did try and be helpful..but spoke limited English.

It was a busy intersectiion..but the noise wasn't bad at night if the windows were closed. The beach was ok..you can access it through a little tunnel for safety without having to cross the street. We had to rent a chair and umbrella..but the food was very good on the beach! There was a lot of trash floating in the water and some on the beach.

The breakfast at the hotel was ok..nothing great.

I would not recommend this hotel..I feel bad saying it..but it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhoughton11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nunziante S, Direttore at Hotel Antares, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Customer,
we regret that you did feel not at our hotel.
We accept fully your critic review and we will improve our standard, so that the future clients can find better hospitality and comfort, and foreign language available in services.
Our hotel accomodate anyway according the 3-stars standard, and it has needs to offer "nothing great". Our breakfast is fully plenty.
Best regards
Nunzio Salvati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I was in town for a family event and this was the nearest hotel with vacant rooms to the part of Ischia I had to be in.

I made a habit of basing my hotel choices on Tripadvisor reviews and it had never failed until I decided to stay at Hotel Antares with my family. Before I say anything, I would like to mention that I am a reasonable customer and it doesn’t take much to make me happy.

I don’t know HOW this hotel earned 4 points on Tripadvisor, let alone their 3-star rating.

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that the rooms were big with ample room for luggage. There won’t be anything positive said beyond this point.

First off, there are stairs everywhere in this hotel (including the walkway to the front door) and no elevator in the building. So if you travel with full size suitcases, you either have to wait for a staff member to carry for you or suck it up and do some serious weightlifting.

When booking online, I was advised there were no rooms that could accommodate 3 adults, so we ended up booking 2 rooms. Upon our arrival, we discovered that there were 3 beds in each room and 3 adults could have been easily accommodated. Moreover, there was enough space in each room for another 2 or 3 beds. One of the rooms turned out to be a smoker and had to be switched for a smaller one but with a much bigger bathroom.

The other room’s bathroom not only was small but also very uncomfortable. I couldn’t resist taking a picture. It was impossible to use the sink without hitting the shelf or literally putting your head between the sink and the shelf. One had to stand (or sit) on some weird angle to be able to use the toilet bowl. Getting to the bowl without hitting anything was a bonus. This bathroom made economy class aircraft washrooms look like a 5-star hotel.

The building is situated on a T-intersection and one of the streets takes to a hospital and a police station. This will keep you informed of every single emergency in town, as emergency vehicle sirens are VERY loud. And, let me tell you, those emergencies happen quite often.

Another big issue (which staff is well aware of) is Wi-Fi. Connection is too weak for 2nd and 3rd floor rooms. So every time I needed to go online on my laptop I had to either carry it down to the lobby or sit on the 2nd floor patio (that never had clean chairs and I don’t think anyone cleaned the tables either).

My family and I fluently speak 4 (that’s four) languages but communication with staff was very difficult, which added to the frustration. Staff spoke nothing but Italian and some broken English, which wouldn’t take you anywhere. The place is family-operated with a “take it or leave it” attitude.

Many other little things, that aren’t worth mentioning, convinced us that this hotel’s agenda is to squeeze maximum income out of each guest and help their affiliates (taxi drivers etc) to have their turn, too.

Prior to visiting Hotel Antares I had stayed at another 3-star hotel in Rome, so I had a chance to compare the two back-to-back. This hotel’s star rating should be revised.

Ischia is not my frequent destination, so saying I won’t be back doesn’t mean anything. But I will be sure to warn everyone I can to stay away from Antares.

Even Cuban resorts had left a better impression.

Room Tip: If nothing else is available and you absolutely have to stay at this hotel, inspect the room before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nunziante S, Direttore at Hotel Antares, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Customer,
we regret for your bad feeling at hotel Antares.
Of course, we accept your critic review, and we will work harder to improve our standard. In the hotel structure, in the services, in the general relationship to customers, in improving the knowledge of English language.
Kind regards
Nunzio Salvati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We booked this hotel for late August after spending a week travelling through Rome and the Amalfi Coast. We were disapointed on our arrival as the outside of the hotel looks nothing like it is portrayed in the photo's and is situated on a very busy junction on a main road. The area it is situated in is also quite run down. As for it being on the beach this is completely misleading. You have to cross the busy main road to get to the beach (although I understand there is some sort of underpass that will also take you there). The section of beach that is free for hotel users is tiny - you probably couldn't fit more than half a dozen people on there. Also there are no sunbeds or deckchairs on this tiny section of the beach, if you want these you have to go on the paying part of the beach and this can get expensive. The hotel room itself was awful - the walls were crumbling and plaster was falling off the walls, this was particularly bad around the window. There was also huge patches of damp and mould on the walls near to where our daughter's bed was situated. The matress on our daughters bed was filthy, and there was a blood stain on the bedspread of our bed. The bathroom was disgusting, I am not sure if you could even call it a bathroom! The shower consisted of a plug hole in the corner of the bathroom floor with a plastic partition separating it from the toilet. It didn't look very clean either. There were also ants crawling everywhere in the bathroom, and also on our daughters bed. We asked to be moved to a different room but were told there were none available. We decided at this point that we just couldn't continue to stay here and left the next morning (we would have left the same night but it was too late). The only positive thing we can say is that the hotel manager did help us by contacting another hotel that we had found on the internet and made arrangements for us to go there. However, I think this was the least he could do after renting out such an awful room. The room number was 101 - beware! The manager also had the cheek to charge us for the one night we stayed in the room - 87 Euro's! I wouldn't have paid for my dog to stay in this dump! My advice - don't risk booking this hotel - there are plenty of other hotels in nicer area's on Ischia.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nunziante S, Direttore at Hotel Antares, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Customer,
we regret for your bad experience at hotel Antares.
We take the occasion from your critic review to work harder to improve our standard, according to the expectations of our guests.
Kind regards
Nunzio Salvati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This hotel is especially for someone who wants to see the island. The bus stop is only a few feet from the entrance of the Hotel. The rooms were clean and cozy. It was on a main street so at times at night you could hear the traffic outside but that did not keep us from sleeping. The hotel staff was very friendly, gracious, and the first day they took time explain what we must see on the island! We took the ferry boat that docks at casamicciole and walked to the hotel it was a straight shot and only about a 10 minute walk. There is a beach that you can go to that is in front of the hotel and convenient but if you are only spending a few days on the island I suggest to travel because the bus system is so easy and the hole island round trip is only about 1 ½ hour round trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccaval1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nunziante S, Direttore at Hotel Antares, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Customer,
thank you for your positive review of our hotel. It is our standard to make feel comfortable and welcome our customers.
We are glad to know you felt fine, and we are encouraged to do more and much more for our guests.
We hope to see you again!
Best regards
Nunzio Salvati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I had a lovely holiday in this little three star hotel at Ischia. My boyfriend and I wanted a relaxing holiday, and it turned out even to be better. The hotel has a great location, in front there is a bus stop with buses every 10 min that will take you easily around or 10-15 min by foot and you have the option to be or at Lacco Ameno or Casamicciola, were there are bars, shops and a lovely square.
The staff is friendly and always ready to help, the rooms are clean, the breakfast was great, and even the dinner. All little details that make it cosy, the fresh flowers and the red fish at the reception. Free internet available in the rooms, a small relaxing pool and the option to have a massage or other treatments at the beauty centre.
All recommend it to all!

Room Tip: I'll recommend the sea view rooms, every morning the sea is just there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agnes E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antares2, Direttore at Hotel Antares, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your lovely appreciations; we did our best for your well-being, as well it’s
even true that the details are the difference in the customer relationship.
We hope to see you again at Ischia and we will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel! Thanks!
Nunzio Salvati

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went there in June 2011. The hotel is located as the name suggests, literally on the beach and looks exactly like on pictures. It is located on via Litoranea, the main street on Ischia which is usually pretty busy during the day, but you can't hear the traffic while in your room. Plenty of buses stop just outside the hotel and taxis are just as easy to get. There's an underpass for you to go to the beach, meaning you do not need to wait to cross the street. The sea is no more than 30m away from the hotels entrance. However, the beaches in front of the hotel do not belong to Antares. They belong to other hotels. A small strip of the beach on the right is a public one, and the one you should use while at Antares. We have only been told about that on the last day of our stay and despite sunbathing at other hotel's beaches no one told us off. The hotel has an outstanding roof terrace with views over the sea from one side and the old volcano hill of Epomeo. The hotel staff is very helpful and suggests an easiest way to climb the hill if you decide to. They also provide you island maps, sell bus tickets, arrange excursions and most of all speak good english. There is a mini bar in the hotel so you can enjoy a beer or wine on the terrace in front of the hotel in a natural shadow provided by the surrounding trees. Snacks and drinks are reasonably priced. Our room had a small balcony (I believe all of them do), good remote control operated airconditioning, a flat tv and hairdryer. The room was pretty big for its price and cleaned to a high standard everyday. The bathroom was big and clean as well and all toiletries were provided daily. The breakfast tended to be rather repetitous and boring... Each day there was jam, cheese, ham and nutella for you to choose from, plus mussli, eggs and a yoghurt of your choice. All of it fresh and tasty. The rooms are properly silenced and we did not ear our neighbours even once. Neither did we see a cleaner, although she did exist and did her job extremely well ;) The hotel is really close to both Lacco Ameno and Funghi as well as Casamicciola with really superb restauranst. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel to everyone, as we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XXXHOMBREXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lacco Ameno
0.7 mi away
L'Albergo della Regina Isabella
0.7 mi away
Albergo Terme La Reginella
Albergo Terme La Reginella
#3 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Verde
Hotel Verde
#15 of 41 in Casamicciola Terme
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Family Spa Hotel Le Canne
0.6 mi away
Resort Grazia Terme
Resort Grazia Terme
#2 of 18 in Lacco Ameno
535 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Loreley
Hotel Loreley
#14 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Address: Via Litoranea 45, 80076 Lacco Ameno, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Lacco Ameno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lacco Ameno
Price Range: £129 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antares 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Antares lies close to the sea, on the coast road that joins Casamicciola Terme to Lacco Ameno. In fact, a small private subway leads to a modest-sized beach. The trendiest centres, including the thermal commune par excellence, Casamicciola Terme, as well as the famous Lacco Ameno with Corso Angelo Rizzoli, its VIP guests and prestigious boutiques are all very close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antares Hotel Lacco Ameno
Hotel Antares Isola D'Ischia, Italy - Lacco Ameno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing