We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbly located and great value”
Review of Hotel Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Maria
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We wanted to go to Ischia because our daughter spent her honeymoon there and has raved about it ever since.

We wanted to do a 10 day break and fly direct to Naples from an airport handy to Shropshire and found it difficult to discover a package which fitted that. So we put together our own trip, flying direct to Naples with Easyjet, and booking B&B at the Villa Maria, which was the cheapest hotel available.

We were very pleasantly surprised. Villa Maria is within easy walking distance of the port - you have to transfer from the airport at Naples to the port and then catch a ferry to Ischia Porto - and is right in the middle of the old part of the town. So you can easily access anywhere in the town on foot without that isolated feeling you sometimes get in modern hotels. (Ischia also has the most fantastic bus service, which - for 19 Euros per person per week will take you anywhere on the island , running every 10 to 15 minutes - virtually 24/7).

The hotel doesn't have balconies but we had a fantastic view of the harbour from our window - and the windows are modern and double glazed, although they don't look it - so when they're closed they're almost totally soundproof.

We booked a standard double but got a room with four beds. Our double bed was two 3/4 beds put together, giving a fantastically spacious sleeping experience. Rooms have very high ceilings, with air conditioning and the cleaning is amazingly good, with sheets and towels changed every day. Although we booked B&B, we found the restaurant was very good value, with four course dinner at 15 Euros per person. They sell local wine by bottle and the most expensive Ischia red that is 16.5 Euros in the supermarket was only 15 in the restaurant.

I mustn't bang on too much or you will think I'm connected to the owners, but one superb thing about the location and Ischia in general is that, after dinner, you can walk out the front door and sit at a bar on the other side of the road and then decide to jump on a bus and go to another town, do whatever you like there, and then know for certain, whatever time it is, you can within a few minutes hop on a bus to take you back to the hotel.

We didn't use a taxi once!

There are also some fantastic country walks.

I'd be delighted to answer questions if anyone wants to know more.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank netflamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Courbaril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank carmelodrago2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ivania959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank giampy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank luigi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Turris72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#11 of 12 in Ischia Porto
346 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Hermosa
Hotel Villa Hermosa
#42 of 70 in Ischia
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Del Postiglione
Hotel Del Postiglione
#45 of 70 in Ischia
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terme Oriente
Hotel Terme Oriente
#5 of 12 in Ischia Porto
240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#6 of 70 in Ischia
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria

Address: Piazza Antica Reggia 16 | Angolo via Osservatorio-via Alfredo De Luca, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Price Range: £39 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Maria 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private villa constructed in the 1920s, the "Villa Maria" has been recently renovated and furnished in provincial style. Centrally located: 80m from the harbour and 150m from the beach. Elevator service; roof garden and terrace with splendid view of the harbour and neighboring islands; bar, conference room, recreation area and cozy living room facing the main piazza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing