We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Expectations are high for a hotel claiming to be a 'Leading Hotel of the World' and standards fell well short. Pool are was small with lots of steps to go and order a drink as no poolside service. Beach was grey and full of pebbles but eh beach bar was efficient, friendly and reasonably priced. Rooms comfortable but small. The place needs a complete renovation .

Room Tip: Must have sea view as rooms at the back look over the cafe roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank odysseyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

If you are considering a visit to the beautiful island of Ischia and looking for somewhere to stay then look no further...

The hotel is situated in a perfect location, with wonderful sea views and the famous castle in the backdrop. The food is always (and I mean always) superb and the wonderful service has brought us back time and time again (for over 14 years!). My family and I see the same faces of both the customers and the staff year after year, which only highlights how magical this place really is.

We were lucky enough to get married here in 2011. One of the many reasons for choosing Ischia was because of the Punta Molino and they didn't disappoint. We were overwhelmed with how special they made our day - the food and personal touch was out of this world the 100 guests were able to share our best kept secret. I think its safe to say that quite a few more people fell in love with Ischia and the Punta Molino last year and have booked return trips for 2012!

This really is a special place and it holds many wonderful memories we will always cherish.

James & Nina

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The best aspects of this hotel are the friendly staff, the great menus at dinner and the hotel facilities including the pools, beach and gardens.
Book a room with a sea view and balcony. I was in room 215 and although the view was not completely uninterrupted, we could see the sea and the balcony was pleasant to sit on, particularly when some amazing fireworks were let off as part of a festival. Absolutely brilliant.
The rooms were immaculate, the twin beds comfortable and every night we received a turn down service with chocolates left on our pillows. Robes and slippers were also provided.
Great bathroom with plenty of hot water at a good pressure.
The breakfast was served in an open air dining area with an overhead sunscreen and was extensive - breads, toast, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, melon, yoghurt, actimel, cold meats, cheese, cereal, fruit juices, water and even Prosecco - and the waiters will ask you what coffee you want so you can choose an espresso or capuccino rather than get served a bland generic tourist coffee. The breakfast was also served from 8am to 10.30am which was very relaxing.
The hotel grounds are immaculate and one night we had a gala dinner with champagne and drinks served in the garden before an amazing dinner with numerous courses. Most people dress for dinner and the gala dinner asks for 'a touch of elegance' although there were some gents who turned up in jeans and polo shirts.
The food really is five star here and I am always cautious when booking half board, but wow, what a selection and great quality. The wine list only has Italian wines which is understandable and there are some rather nice Ischian wines available. Most evenings there was some sort of entertainment ie a pianist or singer. We didn't hang around for this but many people did.
The hotel clientele were mainly German and Russians and aged 50-plus and up to late 70s and most of them were very well fed to put it politely, so ladies, please don't worry about going on any crash diet to look good on the poolside or beach. No-one cares and you can relax. There were two pre-school children at the hotel when we were there, who were very well behaved, but there isn't much for children to do apart from use the pool and the beach, although it is packed with loungers and is not a swathe of golden sand.
The main pool was empty most of the time and the mineral pool was also used very little but it is amazing. It is about 36 degrees and there are lots of bubbling jets if you push the buttons on the poolside. It's great using this pool then taking a dip in the swimming pool.
We never had a problem getting a lounger but we did stay at the hotel from September 5 and it wasn't too busy.
The beach is also pleasant with a toilet, changing facilities and a shower room. At first it appears that people have reserved loungers by putting books and magazines on them, but it was the hotel beach attendant who does this. I am not sure why. We always got a lounger. Choose the ones away from the sea front as these can get wet when big ships pass by sending waves crashing against the sea wall.
We took snorkels and there is a bit of sea life to watch. On the beach is a little cafe called Cristinas and although it looks basic, it serves some smashing traditional food at a fraction of the cost of the hotel.
We had some great calimari, bruschetta and beer of course. Great coffee too. They are also very friendly.
We didn't use the health spa but I did pop into the gym where the indoor swimming pool is. It's very, very hot in the gym area which is separated from the pool with screens. There is a cross trainer, treadmill and bike and weight machine. The machines are pretty primitive, but you can get an hour of calorie burning in before tucking into a great evening meal. The gym and pool facilities are free and clean towels and a free water machine is available in the gym. There are no staff manning the gym, you just help yourself which is nice.
The hotel is a pleasant ten minute walk into the main shopping/restaurant area on typical cobbled streets. There is a road along the seafront which is good for running, although it is very hot and quite humid so a walk or jog is best done in the evening.
The castle is about a 25 minute walk but this is also pleasant. The island is busy, bustling and the people very friendly.
The hotel staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We made our own way to the hotel from Naples airport and on the way home we asked the concierge to organise it for us which was done efficiently. A taxi took us to the port in Ischia, our ferry tickets were organised and our luggage placed on the ferry. A limo collected us at the port in Naples and took us to the airport for just 55 Euros each, not much more than using public transport and organising it yourself.
I can't praise the staff enough who are so friendly and kind without being intrusive. There is also a small library of books in the reception area and ask the concierge for wi-fi access which is free while you stay and he/she will issue with a code to log in.
I would return to this hotel and this lovely island which has so much to offer and fewer tourists than the Amalfi coast and other parts of Italy.

Room Tip: Ensure you book a seaview balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pressgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The Molino is positioned close to the beach with stunning views towards prochida and the Aragonese Castle. The hotel is very clean and the Spa Centre is very good. The food is good but not exceptional and the service in the resturant was inconsistant and sometimes caotic. The deal we got with Citalia was very good value, the room allocated to us was spacious considering we opted for a standard room. Would I go back, probably, but the staff need to get much better at understanding that it is the detail which makes an hotel stand out from the rest!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view as some of the lower rooms have no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joanroy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Excellent service and food delicious,however rooms without seaview can be dark,avoid groundfloor rooms as even darker.Had noisy neighbours one night and although full hotel staff superb and found us another room transferring our luggage whilst we had breakfast with no fuss. The staff are the highpoint of this hotel which undoubtedly the best on the island

Room Tip: seaview on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tridoc59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Sadly the Punto Molino in Ischia is not 5 Star across the board. Room not bad 4*.
Breakfast 3* do not go if you cannot eat dairy products, service was slow for drinks and I do not like bacon almost raw, although I tackled this on the second day nothing changed. I have never been 5 * without a chef being on hand to cook eggs, omlettes, pancakes and waffles. On the second day there was a pigeon standing on the fruit in the middle of the fruit table pecking at the fruit, on informing staff the bird was got rid of but all the fruit stayed waiting for guests who had not witnessed the pigeon. Evening meal was 5*. Lunch snacks were very poor at the bar 3*. Swimming pool was excellent but poorly managed as guests thought that if they placed an object on a sunbed it was theirs for the day, guests had reserved sunbeds that were never used because the guests must have decided to stay out all day, they should really follow the Aminta Hotel's (Lake Maggiore) example of sunbed managment. I concur with a previous critic that the receptionist in the spa was not a friendly person. Very few rooms seem to have uninterupted sea views so consider carefully if that is worth paying extra for. We had a fairly good holiday in Ischia despite the above but would not return to The Punto Molino unless the above criticisms were addressed.

Room Tip: Think twice before paying for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank POTTERS-LONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

On arrival from the Four Star Hotel Royal in Sorrento, we were initially disappointed by the five star Punto Molino as although we had not paid for a room upgrade, we didn't have a balcony. After a few exchanges with the hotel reception staff who appeared to give conflicting information about the rooms on offer, and after the intervention of or Citalia rep, Rosetta, we were given a balcony room the following day with the staff taking care of the moving process.

The food is excellent with prosecco at breakfast and a good choice of menu in the evening. I really liked the way that the food is brought to the table in tureens and served to you individually. There is a good and reasonably priced wine list.

All the staff have been very helpful, except one: the extremely haughty receptionist at the spa. She does not know how to smile, make eye contact or greet you with anything other than a sneer. After our intial consultation with the friendly doctor, she just began allocating sessions to us, without making any conversation. She appeared to think it was strange that we might want to chose when we wanted the treatments. When we arrived for our first session we were kept waiting without any form of greeting and when we asked she shrugged, grudgingly uttering un momento. Needless to say we left without waiting any further. Unfortunately she lets what is otherwise a good hotel down.

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a room with balcony when you make your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank HMJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.3 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
0.7 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#3 of 70 in Ischia
1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mare Blu Terme
Hotel Mare Blu Terme
#15 of 70 in Ischia
278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#6 of 70 in Ischia
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA

Address: Lungomare Cristoforo Colombo 23, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#13 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price Range: £171 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing