We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ischian gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2007

Spent a relaxing week here and found the hotel very acceptable although would question its 5* rating. Staff were extremely helpful and polite and could not do enough to help us. The real weakness was the beach which was rather narrow and crowded. Sunbeds were available and could be reserved but the best ones seemed never to be available.......and rarely used! Perhaps a hefty tip might have improved our prospects. Giant sized Russians obviously had the where with all to get the best! I wasn't going to agrue with that! The pool was OK just, but the thermal pool was fun 35 degrees mostly but 39 degrees on one day. Our superior villa were very good...tidy clean and extremely comfortable etc. Air con was fine. as was the small private garden. But no view of any merit. Food was great. Excellent buffet starter, fish was fantastic. Avoid steaks which were rather fatty. Those with a hefty appertite will certainly not be diasappointed. Did not try the Gourmet Restaurant. Sadly breakfast came too soon after dinner but there a great selection to tempt all.
Hotel location is superb (for my wife) ... only a few minutes walk from an array of fashion shops. D & G, Prada, Armani, Hermes, Versace but sadly no M&S or Matalan.
For those who want a quiet restful break and for whom good food is important with some designer shopping thrown in then you can't go wrong with this hotel. But don't be dazzled by the 5*, more a good 4*.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Historyman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2007

We had a short stay at the end of our Summer holiday. Staff was very polite. Hotel very old and a bit run down. Took a junior suite and the air conditioning totally inadequate. They were very sympathetic at the front desk but did nothing about it! $700 a night and we had to sweat between our sheets!

Pool was nice but the beach as most in Italy, was a joke. Walking distace to town, lots of shops and good food. Very busy in July and HOT!

Stayed: July 2007
9  Thank TaitSKi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2006

This is a luxurious hotel that provides all that it claims and is quite charming in a glorious position yet near the shops and cafes of the Town. Perhaps unusually, the staff for the most part speak excellent English and German and also Italian. being in Italy.The whole ambience is easy going and the word "luxury" springs to mind again. For the most part the visitors will be mature in age and behaviour and you can rely on the fact there there will be little fowl language,raucous parties and most guests seem to be happy to drink out of a glass rather than the bottle.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank DenisAmbrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2006

We read some of the reviews before departing on our holiday and I must say we were a little concerned, but I'm glad to say it was unfounded. We also have been to many four and five star hotels and OK if you compare it to some other five star hotels, lets say the Hermitage in Monte Carlo you are going to be very disappointed but there again your not paying Monte Carlo prices. All I can say is we had a fantastic time the staff are wonderful nothing was too much trouble, the room we had was comfortable,spotless and more spacious than expected. Its great at breakfast you can go down in your robe, dinner was excellent plenty of choice and service was great. We ate in the Le Gourmet one night which was very good and well worth doing. Both towns are within 5 to 10 minutes walk with great shopping and bars to watch the world go by.

All I can say is we had a fantastic time, would we recommend it most definately, would we go back yes next week if it were possible.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2008max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Birmingham England
117
Reviewed 17 March 2006

This hotel is great, i had my 19th birthday there and didnt feel to young at all (they supprised me with a birthday cake after dinner on my b'day which was a nice touch), i was treated the same way as everyone else. I felt more out of place in the shopping area on the island being the only person with blonde hair and pasty white skin lol then being to young.
Me and my partner stayed in one of there suites, we had a bedroom and seprate lounge both with 2 armchairs and flat screen tvs, we also had 2 bathrooms, one with shower and one with a whirlpool bath. On arrival the staff were extreamly friendly and spoke ok english as we dont know any italian at all. Room was imaculate cleaners came in twice everyday, once to clean and once to lay the beds in the evening and leave us bedtime treats.
They have 2 pools both clean, one with hot thermal water. There beauty farm is quite small but there treatments are to die for (the only downside is that the beauty theraphist didn't speak to much english so we found it slightly hard to comunicate at times)
The food was also to die for, a buffet starter of a wide range of meats, vegitables, oils and dressings, mini pizzas, fish rolls ect... chioce starter and main course, and a buffet desert of at least 20 fresh cakes, ice cream, crackers and cheeses ect.... on our final night they layed on a spectacular buffet and brought out a pig, veal, turkey, fish, volancano ect.. all alight on fire, and the dessert was also full of masterpieces , carved flower water melons ect...
There piano bar is quiet most nights, but the singers are good and the floor is bigger enough to do a waltz and a cha cha cha on lol.
All staff were very very very friendly and yea we were the youngest couple there but there were a few familys with children there also.
The island is great for shopping, "SALDI" means sale lol although they dont mark there items down like selfridges over here do, i was buying things and getting to the counter to realise there was up to 60 %off some of the items which was great when i was about to pay 800 euros for a satin suit, and it was 300 and somthing lol. Gucci is no cheaper over there though even thou i thought it might be because its italian.
Ischia castle is a must see (10 mins walk from the hotel) , they have a lovely cafe at the top as well which is nice to eat at. The local pottery is really cheap, we brought some lovely hand painted dinner plates and its nice because you can see them making them. We also went to the st maria festival on the 26th of july which was lovely all of the island got together around the castle to celibrate and it was nice to see there local culturebeing displayed there.
Going back to the hotel, there beach is small but theres public beaches all around there island what are clean. I have visited lots of hotels and places around the world and i did really enjoy it here very relaxing!. The hotel is 5 star exculsive in its own means, its on a small quiet island which isnt the richest place around, if the hotel was in london then it probably would only be 4-5 stars, but its probably the most exclusive place on the island.
Would indeed go again.
please veiw some of my pics of the castle and hotel (i am not a professional photographer and i have not altered any of the pics)

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2005

I too had misgivings about staying at the hotel after reading some of the reveiews from guests staying earlier in the year, however I can say that it was one of the best places I've stayed at in Italy (and that includes around 10 hotels including 4 that were 4 or 5 star establishments - only Palazzo Sasso in Ravello beats it and thats about twice the price!).

The previous reviews are in my opinion a bit misleading on a couple of matters - firstly re the hotel having 20 feet of beach. This is true but it also has an area next to it with about 20 sunbeds, and additional sunbathing pier with another 20 or so sun loungers, and a further sandy area to the right set above a different section of the shore with around 30 sunloungers / umbrellas which also gives access to a small (public) cove which was usually quiet and great for swimming. This is more space that most hotels in the area have and the sunbeds can be booked in advance (no need for the early morning towel race!). Even at peak times there was always space to sunbathe.

Re watersports being on the other side of the island this is true - however the island in question is the big lump of rock connected to ischia ponte on which the Castello de aragon stands. On the other side of the causeway - an easy 20 min stroll from the hotel - is a place that rents out motorboats and kayaks.

Re age group agree that most are on the declining side of 50 but there were quite a few (around 30%) that were I would guess under 40

As far as the waiters are concerned they were some of the best I have encountered in any hotel, with just the right blend of friendliness and professionalism.

The food was as good as any other similarly starred hotels with 4 choices per course and plenty of variety each day, the hors d'ouvres that could be had before the meal were similarly good (Palazzo Sasso may have been better but that was michelin starred!)

As far as our room was concerned we had one in the main part of the hotel which was very well furnsihed always kept clean and of a good size. The public areas of the hotel were impressive with antique furniture and paintings in abundance. Finally the hotel arranged all our transfers which ran faultlessly and also booked excursions etc as required.

All in all an excellent stay at a well run and upmarket hotel

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank mike196288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2005

Having read some of the Trip Advisor reviews about this hotel (after booking), we were a little apprehensive about what to expect. But the hotel is much better than its critics allow. The staff were wonderful, and made allowances for an unexpectedly late arrival, providing a late dinner. Although the rooms are not huge, they are tastefully decorated and well equipped; we had a nice balcony too. The four-course table d'hote lunch - which we often opted for from our half-board deal - with several barbeque choices and an excellent starter buffet - was good; dinner was sometimes not as good as might be, but was a lot better than many other half-board offers. The outdoors bar, with nightly singers, was better than many similar offerings - there were 100 people there some nights, plenty of them dancing. The Terme was limited - especially with great alternatives a bus ride away; and the beach area is small, though staffed by helpful 'beach masters.' But if you want a hotel close to the shops and restaurants of both Ischia Porto and Ischia Ponte (do try Catriona's restaurant there!), but offering a bit of peace and quiet, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank bristolreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.3 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
0.2 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#3 of 70 in Ischia
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,625 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mare Blu Terme
Hotel Mare Blu Terme
#15 of 70 in Ischia
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#8 of 70 in Ischia
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA

Address: Lungomare Cristoforo Colombo 23, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#12 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price Range: £173 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing