We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Miramare e Castello Hotel
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My grandfather was from Ischia and so this Island holds my heart. The hotel is too delightful for words. The view is incredible and rooms spotless, and the staff leaves nothing to be desired. The breakfast and any meal is wonderful. The locations is in close proximity of wonderful restaurants and entertainment. This is our second trip in 13 months and I cannot wait to experience this magical experience once again. A delight. Dr. and Mrs. Schneyer

Room Tip: Seaview is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

Very neat hotel, well run, very clean. All guests are very well looked after. Lovely breakfast, beautiful dinners, if you would like to stay in. Hotel is located in a bit of a distance from the port (which is great), but everything is within walking distance. Own beach and 2 pools (one inside, one outside), relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieG75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

relaxing and charming place with the sea waves washing the beach few meters from the rooms and the beatiful and unforgettable view over the Ischia Ponte's Castello;
the hotel staff was professional and always ready to satisfy requests and answer questions; particular mention is deserved to room service, the bartenders and the beach / swimming pools staff.
We surely recommend the treatments (body massages, etc.) of the annexed Beauty Center, anyway after weekend in a sunny september you shall be relaxed enough without any needs for treatements !!
We did not experienced the Restaurants (too many old friends to visit during our staying in the island) , anyway the breakfast was delicious and comprehensive (what a cakes !)
We surely look forward to returning there next year

Roberto e Monica

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We visited Sept 15th-20th 2011.
The hotel was rated 5 star, and the outside is, but our bathroom was not really 5*. We had a small room, which European rooms are smaller then America standard rooms. They need to make bathrooms better, having a shower that folds out is really not acceptable. Also they need counter space in bathrooms. You need to understand that you are paying for the location, as this island is not a year round vacation location.
After that everything else was great. The beach is perfect with chairs on beach, second deck, and top deck with soft cushions to relax on. The water is clear all the way to bottom and gentle waves lapping at the beach.
The bar has couches outside to relax on and enjoy the view of Castle and Naples across the water. One can enjoy breakfast inside or out with same great views. Breakfast is typical European with meats, cheese, wonderful pastries, and eggs, as well as the best tomatoes one would ever taste.
The staff is wonderful! They will help with anything you need--more hangers, towels, ect. The bartender went out of his way to get us food, even though lunch was over for the day. The Spa provides great massages and makes you feel welcome and relaxed. I highly suggest a massage to start your vacation.
The location is great since you are close to the Castle and shopping in Ischia ponte, plus it is a quick bus ride to Ischia porte. The porte has great shopping, restaurants, as well as boats to nearby Capri.

Room Tip: get a seaview with balcony and you will have more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel is so NOT 5-star luxury as stated on the Miramare e Castello website. 

It's so grimey and dirty. Nothing is clean - the faucets through to the mildew on the bathroom Walls. Windows are smeary and uncleaned, and there is dust and dirt all over the room. 

Breakfast is very ho hum - everything is dried up and unattractive. 

I'm paying EUR269 per night for a worn out dump. For almost half the price I can stay at a spectacular hotel in Naples!

 The carpet on the stairs to the first floor is filthy!  

The La Lampara restaurant on their website doesn't even exist!  

The "Technogym gymnasium" advertised on the website is all wrapped up in tarps and un-usable!

The rooms are so dated, sterile, and bland. They are untouched since the last renovation in 1985. The bathroom only has a shower over the bath. Also the shower is beside a clear glass external window, that is part of the balcony of the neighbouring room (!), so you have to draw the special  curtain over the window so the neighbours don't see you shower!

Meanwhile the toilet has a ridiculous setup in that you can't sit on it unless the toilet door closed - so silly. 

The bathrobes are very warn and frayed. 

Miramare e Castello had a change of management early in 2011 - I can't believe it is for the better. 

The saddest thing about all this is that this hotel is one of the better venues (at least by using trip advisor and browsing hotel websites) on the island of ischia...

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank kzw4nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Miramare e Castello from Sep 04 to 07th and we absolutely enjoyed it. The hotel is very clean, has very charming and helpful staff and the room with sea view is just georgous. The staff has helped me to organize my proposal in a nearby restaurant and decorated our room with roses. Everything was just very relaxed and people very extremely friendly. Absolutely recommendable for young couples and families alike.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielt1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Guys, this is not a five star resort at all, no mater how hard they are trying to prove that. Overall our stay in this place was ok. Couple things really made me nervous. We've traveled a lot in the past and I can really justify wich place can have what rating. Rating determines price you pay and for the same almost money you could be having a much nicer accommodations on the same Island. For example, prior to our arrival at Miramare we stood at Albergo San Montano resort on the same island. This two are like day and night even though both trying to claim them selves to be from the same league. definately don't buy half board or full board. First of all it is not good at all, except breakfast. Second, this part of the Island is so reach in restaurants of any kind and level that you will never be hungry. To summarise: rooms very small even for Italian standards, food in restaurant is below average, building and premises old and poorly maintained. Would be an Ok place to stay if priced right, as a three star place at list if not lower.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Slava M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#3 of 70 in Ischia
1,224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,618 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mare Blu Terme
Hotel Mare Blu Terme
#15 of 70 in Ischia
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#7 of 70 in Ischia
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramare e Castello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramare e Castello Hotel

Address: Via Pontano 5, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range: £108 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramare e Castello Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Miramare e Castello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare e Castello Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing