We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miramare e Castello Hotel
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and were given a complimentary upgrade which made our stay all the more pleasant. The dual aspect windows in our room gave us a fantastic view of the castle and the beach below. The room was a little small but comfortable with the various additions that make it special (gowns, toiletries, soft pillows!). The only downside was the floodlight that stayed on on the beach which meant the shutters and curtains had to be used to block out the light, but this was a minor thing.

Breakfast was plentiful and a great selection. The staff were polite and helpful throughout.

Recommended particularly if you can get a deal!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
14 Thank LadyLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    105
    40
    9
    7
See reviews for
67
215
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights are were more than satisfied with everything. The staff very friendly & helpful, our room was spotlessly clean the view from our small balcony was superb (10 star!) The breakfast very enjoyable especially sitting outside was fantastic. Our dinner in the dining room top class. We also enjoyed exploring the area nearby & watching the locals going about their business was delightful. If I ever get the chance again I would return & stay longer to enjoy everything this hotel has to offer.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Roses00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Starting with the unfriendly check-in staff, through to the average food, our stay in this so called five start hotel was an average experience at best.

The rooms were ordinary, the place is very tired and run down. It always felt to me like the staff thought they were doing you a favor. Top service anywhere in the world is something you have to enjoy giving, not doing as a job and the Italians to me don't do service with a smile. To some people they would think this hotel was fine but its a million miles away from being fine.

The pool was very disappointing for its lack of size and we did not see anybody in it the whole time we were there which says it all. We used the beach for seven days, and in seven days of sitting on the beach all day at no stage where we approached by any staff offering any sort of service, be it drinks or something to eat - just not good enough given they are in the service business.

The only thing this place has going for it is its location, being in walking distance of most restaurants - which are also all average and working on the theory that you are a tourist and they will never see you again.

This could only be a five star hotel to somebody that's never stayed in one. At the very best its three stars. If you are an experienced five star hotel guest, don't stay here.

All in all the most disappointing holiday, and i've had plenty.

Room Tip: We had the best room - 105, and the only thing it had going for it was a big deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tommy_H60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I think the rooms at this hotel are ridiculously overpriced. But we knew this at the time of booking and still went ahead so why complain. There is a certain charm with the brightly coloured tiles that extend from the communal areas into the rooms, which may be why they have not been updated. We stayed in a classic room at the rear of the hotel with a small balcony overlooking the town. It's really a 2* room in a 5* hotel. And we chose this hotel for the location and reputation rather than the rooms. On these points we were not let down. The outside areas are phenominal, with stunning views of the castle. There are several decked areas from which you have access to the sea and a small beach. There is also a small pool which no one seems to use and I swam here daily with the pool to myself. In fact it's an effort to drag yourself away for sightseeing.

As a base to explore Ischia it's a bit of a compromise as the location is at the Ponte end of town which is a bit quieter. A 20 minute walk will get you to the port and the bus station, or there is a frequent local bus service between Ponte and Porto if you don't fancy the walk. Would definitely recommend a trip to Procida using the excellent Ippocampo boat service.

For restaurants we found the Ponte end very disappointing but had better meals around the port. Back at the hotel don't miss the breakfast which is one of the best I've ever had, particularly liked the hand carved side of smoked salmon. The staff are all very friendly and it just feels very relaxing staying here. If we come back to Ischia we would stay here again but probably not in August when everywhere is crowded and the hotels are all overpriced. A charming hotel with consistently great service and lovely staff.

Room Tip: If your budget allows I would choose a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robocob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The rooms are small and, what is worse, uncomfortable. Very tiny bathrooms.
In a superior double room there is hardly any space for two people.
The hotel is squeezed between 2 shabby and noisy public beaches.
3.5-4* at best.
Excellent staff can not make it up for the hotel natural drawbacks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ftraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

From the moment we arrived we were impressed with this fine hotel. It is just a well run traditional luxury hotel. We chose the superior rooms facing the sea and the view was stunning. A good start was the fine breakfast well stocked. We chose half board so we had a really nice dinner by the sea each night.
Staff are helpful clearly well trained and a credit, with the manager regularly in attendance.
We could not fault the hotel and would return. We arranged a transfer on departure which was faultless. Thanks to everyone at the Miramare.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vic_levy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We would like to thank Miramare for the wonderful time we had during our stay . Hotel service and acomodations where great! breath taking view! !Specially we would like to thank: Agostino and Maurizio from "Bar Miramare",their excellence in customer service, their professionalism,great sense of humor! we had a delightful evening! Thank you!
Sincerly:
Leonor Rodriguez and William Koontz

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonorcita48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
0.9 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 70 in Ischia
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mare Blu Terme
Hotel Mare Blu Terme
#19 of 70 in Ischia
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#3 of 70 in Ischia
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramare e Castello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramare e Castello Hotel

Property: Miramare e Castello Hotel
Address: Via Pontano 5, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramare e Castello Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Miramare e Castello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare e Castello Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing