We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Moresco Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Don Felipe(Ischia)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$294
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ulisse(Ischia)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Durrueli(Ischia)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$306
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$294
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
265
51
23
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
51
23
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar hotelbathing platformpiano barcomfort roomsets this hotel apartsea areanaples airportaragonese castlefantastic hotelevening mealsun chairsa partial sea viewsilver serviceevery guestischia ponteboth wayscomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We are two couples (early 60’s) who have just returned from another perfect week’s holiday at Il Moresco. Last year we stayed there for the first time and were overwhelmed by the hotel’s near perfection – enough to sample its delights for a second consecutive year (something we have never done in almost 40 years of holidaying together).

We were not disappointed – it was every bit as good as last year. The hotel’s standards are of the highest quality. The communal areas, both inside and out, are tastefully and expensively decorated and are maintained to the highest standards – a credit to the cleaning and maintenance staff. The friendly and efficient reception staff were only too pleased to give advice on the local area and places to visit (thanks Branca). Bruno’s ‘specials’ from the bar before dinner and his lunchtime snacks beside the pool linger on in the memory. When the afternoon temperature beside the pool made things uncomfortable, a short stroll to the decking area (exclusive to the hotel’s patrons) with its gentle sea breeze, and a swim in the sea, made things pleasantly bearable.

However, the main accolade must go to the restaurant. The food (we must mention the hors d’oeuvre table) is of the highest standard, in terms of both quality and variety. The waiters are friendly, yet superbly professional, and are overseen by the wonderfully imposing and authoritative Maitre d’

.…….and who else but the delightful Mina - a credit to Thomsons - to pull everything together and ensure another stress-free holiday.

A hearty recommendation for the island of Ischia generally and Il Moresco specifically – we will return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpenPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Having read all the positive reviews on trip Advisor we were looking forward to our stay at this hotel.
We booked with Thomson holidays and arrived at Naples, and although we missed the ferry and had to wait for an hour until the next one left, this could not be blamed on anyone, and it wasn't such a bad place to sit and watch the boats, with Vesuvius in the background. As we missed the ferry, it meant that we were late checking in, and therefore missed dinner, but the hotel had left some cheese, meats and salad in the room which was very welcome.
We freshened up and headed to the bar, where a piano player, tapped away while we bought a bottle of wine.
The first thing we noticed was that we were the youngest people in the hotel, by far (we are mid 40's), which is not necessarily a bad thing, but we did feel as though there was a lack of atmosphere, but there were a lot of walking sticks clicking around the place.

Anyway the next morning we went to breakfast in a beautiful breakfast room, where we were shown to a table and left to get on with choosing from the massive range of cold breakafst items - we hadn't been told that we could order hot food and only noticed this with one day left of the holiday.
The staff in the restaurant / breakfast room are very plentiful, unlike any the quantity smiles in that room, and we felt as though we were being watched for the whole time. I accept that a certain level of service is expected in a 5 star hotel, but this place takes the biscuit. The staff even want to take your plate from the buffet area to your table, and I even saw them taking plates off residents to carry them just a few feet.
The maitre d came across as being quite rude, looking down his nose at us, for breakfast and for evening meal, to the point where we decided he was spoiling our evenings, so we decided to eat out every night in stead. We only ate two eveing meals at the hotel restaurant, and it was okay - we have eaten in some of the best restaurants in the UK and this does not come close - the cold buffet hors d'oerves were very cold and over refrigerated and the remaining courses seemed mass produced - that said we did only eat there twice, on account of the miserable maitre d, so this is an opinion based on only two meals.
The atmosphere at breakfast was just the same, the maitre d wandering around as if he were judging his massive army of staff, and also as if he were the camp commandant.
He needs to lighten up, smile every now and then and try to make the hotel guests welcome, in stead of being haughty and miserable, as if we were there for his benefit, he may have worked there for a long time, but it seems that somewhere along the way he has lost his manners.
I had left some of my food on the second night due to not feeling well, and he almost interrogated me as to why.

The room was okay, not 5 star. No wi-fi in the room and basic furnishings - I don't wish to brag but we are well travelled and expect higher standards for a 5 star.

Okay, now for the positives - the reception staff were terrific, polite, always smiling, and always ready to help, remembering who the hotel was there for (unlike you know who).
The staff at the bar around the pool were also very friendly, and always smiling.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, and the man who tends the pool area, flowers plants, pool etc, does a fabulous job, it is immaculate.

The hotel has a private beach / decked area, which we used, and it has a very relaxed and chilled out area, and the chap who is in charge there was also very polite and smiled at everyone, he was there if you needed anything and wasn't intrusive at all.
Beach towels are provided, as are towels if you just want laze around the pool.

Ischia is a beautiful place and we visited the gardens at la Mortella which were very pleasant and we also went on a vinyard trip / trip of the island (organised via Mina the Thomson rep) and this was the highlight of the holiday - two other couples made up a party of six and we all got on really well, the guide and driver were brilliant fun, very knowledgeable and informative, and the chap at the vinyard was really interesting, and became increasingly interesting as we sampled more wine - the bruschetta there, were also delicious.
There are planty of very nice restaurants around the port, all serving up happy and welcoming atmospheres, together with their food and wine, and this was more what we were after.

Would we go back to Ischia? definitely.
Would we stay at Il Moresco? no.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xe_cross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We love italy and found this hotel lived up to our expectations. The food is fantastic and the hotel thermal pools are like stepping into a warm bath, so relaxing. the area is away from the traffic with a lovely walk along the beach to the castle which has fab. views.
we paid for an upgrade to a comfort room which did not have the nice garden view as shown on the website, but was satisfactory.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank billy052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at the Il Moresco for our honeymoon. We chose it based on the excellent brochure reviews and because we had not visited Italy before. We were not disappointed - we were made to feel very welcome on our arrival and were immediately upgraded to one of the suites (we had booked a standard room). The room was lovely and extremely clean with a spacious balcony overlooking the pool and garden.
The food was exceptionial, especially the evening meal where you had a choice from 5 starters and mains and a buffet for the dessert. The food was always cooked to perfection and we always left the dining room extremely full!! The sevice was excellent too and we had nothing to complain about.
The hotel was pretty quiet when we were there so there were plenty of sunbeds and the pool area was lovely and quiet.
The hotel is in an ideal location being near to the beaches, town and lots of bars, shops and restaurants just a stroll away.
We had no problems with the taxi and ferry transfers, everything was organised extremely well and went according to plan.
If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful location with excellent food then this is the hotel for you! We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helenback1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

In summary: Would I recommend a holiday for a week or two at Il Moresco? In most cases the answer is a resounding YES.

The island of Ischia is beautiful and Il Moresco one of the best hotels. Our welcome, late at night, was warm and friendly. We were left a delightful meal which we enjoyed on the balcony congratulating ourselves on a wise decision.

We stayed in the tower suite. Almost 90 square meters on 2 levels, comprising a large lounge with bathroom, a huge bedroom with an enormous bathroom with Jacuzzi etc and two balconies, one large enough for a dining table and 2 upholstered loungers. The views from our rooms were truly spectacular. NB The only access is via stairs.

Staff are generally friendly and helpful and the hotel really well run.

Breakfast and dinner are served indoors and our experience was that the food was really good and given the choices and number of courses, plenty of it. The restaurant is quite formal (linen napkins for breakfast!) Food service was really fast and efficient.

We have a number of tips.
• Pre book half board. If you eat out on a couple of nights it will still be cheaper.
• The lunch menu looks similar to the dinner offering but it is not a half board alternative. Even if you don’t eat in the evening you will be charged for lunch.
• Ask the hotel or your tour rep for restaurant recommendations and which ones to avoid.
• Not hotel linked. Be wary of hiring a car. We spent 15 minutes resting on the roadside and 80% of all passing cars had body damage. If you do hire, take a photo at the beginning and end of the hire to prove the scratches or dents are not yours!

Other reviews mention the beautiful location, near the coast and shops with plenty of good restaurants serving outstanding food. The hotel has an attractive pool area and spa facilities so really offers a great destination.

Overall we liked Il Moresco however it should be noted it really is a top of the range ‘brochure package’ hotel. And the package is good as shown by the many reviewers who have said nice things. There are however few of the little extras normal in a five star hotel costing circa €300 to €800 per night (fresh fruit and free water) and a lack of flexibility. I guess we are used to 5 star hotels where the answer is Yes and the manager has a more customer focussed approach!

For us the main fault is the lack of al fresco dining. Breakfast and evening meals can only be served in the dining room. Such a shame when the grounds are so attractive and the weather is so warm (we had room service and it was worth the extra €4 per person to enjoy our meal on the balcony).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve from Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews