We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on a beautiful Island”
Review of Villa Durrueli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Durrueli
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My Mum and I have just returned from a relaxing 1 week stay at the Villa Durrueli in Ischia. Well placed for both the 'Ponte' (Castello Aragonese) and the 'Porto' (Port with excellent high end shopping street), the Hotel is in a residential area. Cutting through the pleasant park at the side of the hotel cuts out about 10 minutes to the Porto (unless you get lost like we did!) so ask Reception which path to take through the park.
We stayed on a half board basis and the food quality was excellent, especially the Antipasti buffet. Secondo was not the biggest portion, however you will certainly not go hungry! Breakfast was nice too with a good selection of the normal continental fare plus scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage.
The Hotel were quick to respond to any e-mails prior to arrival and were also good enough to give us a quiet room off Reception (214). The restaurant was outside (covered) but adjacent to some of the rooms and I particularly didnt want to be overlooking the restaurant as I understood from other reviews that early morning set up of the restaurant was noisy. Our room was perfect for us as Mum has some mobilty problems and we had a little terrace area with a table and chairs. Whilst this was a basic room booked through Thomsons, it was ample for our needs and immaculately clean.
Went on a couple of trips through Thomsons, the Island Tour and La Mortella Gardens, the gardens of the late Sir William Walton, as featured on Monty Don's recent TV series on Italian Gardens. Also visted the Castello Arangonese on our own, well worth the 10 Euro entrance with a couple of nice cafes where you can have lunch. (the Lower cafe (near the lift) seems to be cheaper than the one at the top, so do your visit of the Castle and stop for lunch before you go). Mina the Thomsons rep helped make our holiday, looking after my Mum from the minute we stepped off the ferry, she is really passionate about her Island and very warm and caring with her Customers.
It was a bit of a trek over to Ishia, (left my house at 9am, got to Hotel at 9pm) however it is very beautful and very Italian in comparison to Sorrento. Well worth the effort in our opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyclist62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one week, big mistake we should of stayed two. Fantastic hotel in great location and the best food I have tasted in Italy. great attention to detail and staff with a smile always. we picked a room with a sea view and it was a great view, sea and castle. good soundproofing in the rooms.
The rooms although not large were clean and very comfortable with excellent air con and free Internet. The bathroom was a little tired but was serviceable and clean. would i like to stay here again?...yes please but for 2 weeks next time.
Thanks to everyone at the Hotel for a lovely holiday. x

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We have just returned from our first holiday to the beautiful island of Ischia where we stayed at the Villa Durrueli.
Staying at this this hotel was the most peaceful & relaxing holiday that we have ever been on.
The public areas & bedrooms were spotlessly clean and this cleanliness was maintained at all times by the friendly and polite cleaning staff.
The rooms, although not big, were adequate for what was needed and our room (312) had a lovely view of the coast and Ischia Castle which is probably only a 15 minute walk away. (Be warned taxi to the Castle - 10 euros for the less mobile).
Recommend paying the extra for a Superior S/View room is well worth it.
Reception staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble as was the politeness of the restaurant staff.
Meals were varied, bordering on 'fine dining' and how wonderful, not a 'chip' in sight all week.
The small outdoor pool was a joy to use and was always a tranquil retreat within the grounds'.
Suffice it to say, we can't wait to return there again and found that a number of guests enjoyed their experience so much that they had returned there many times, some 6-7 visits.
One word of warning, remember to take mosquito repellent cream to keep the little 'blighters' at bay.

Room Tip: Recommend paying the extra for a Superior S/View room is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed in this hotel six nightsafter spending five nights in Naples, it was completely different of course but both stays were most enjoyable. The Hotel Durrueli is in a quiet residential road next to a lovely park. It is about a 20 min. walk to the Castle at the far end of Ponte - we spent best part of a day to see it, you can take the lift to the top and then meandre down stopping off at the places of interest inc. the cafeteria's and catching the lovely views. The Port is in the other direction about a 20 min. walk.
We booked one of the rooms with a balcony overlooking the pool and Castle it was really worth the extra. All the staff bar one who was a waiter were most helpful and courteous, helping us with our trips. They booked us in at the lovely La Mortella gardens for a Spring Recital - piano - which was soo good, it was held in the house /museum. of the late Sir William Walton and his wife Susana, In the summer months they hold outdoor orchestral concerts which must be great, stunning views across the Bay. We only had breakfasts at the hotel which were very nice except for one night but did not think the evening meal was good value and to be honest there are so many nice eating places around within 10/15 mins. A most relaxing leisurely six day in this lovely hotel after the hurly burly of Naples.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrianMerrymeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We recently returned from a trip to Italy and one of the best experiences we had during the 3 weeks we spent in Italy was at Villa Durrueli. We were travelling with a group of 19 people and we all were very pleased with this hotel. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the pool area was a perfect place to relax after many days spent sightseeing in this beautiful country. We booked half-board and enjoyed both the breakfasts and dinners served at Villa Durrueli. I would recommend having them book a taxi for your transfer from the ferry terminal. Our taxi driver also was a tour guide and was very helpful. Ischia is a lovely island that is a little off the main tourist destinations, but well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lexie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Well I must say that I would not return to this hotel. It is listed as a 4 star hotel, however it had no 4 star qualities. I had the unfortunate experience to be located near a main hallway and apparently they forgot to instal sound proof doors because it was like a circus ourside of our room from people walking, talking, kids screaming and crying.
Would not recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank bella0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Just returned from a family vacation in Ischia and had the pleasure of staying at Villa Durrelli. From the minute we arrived we felt welcome. The hotel is quaint, clean and has great views. The staff was delightful and pleasant and breakfast was always a pleasure. We had a family size room with a huge balcony with breathtaking views of the sea and the castle. The spa and meneral pool and sauna were amazing. Evening walks down to via Roma for gelato, shopping and/or dinner were easy. Ischia is a beautiful sun-kissed island with wonderful residents. As english speaking Americans, we occasionally ran into situations or people who did not speak English. It just made us try harder to speak Italian than we had to do in Rome. Would be delighted to return to Villa Durrelli given the opportunity, which hopefully will not be too far in the future.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank KLeaf65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.8 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,627 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
0.2 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#6 of 70 in Ischia
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hermitage & Park Terme
0.7 mi away
Delfini Strand Hotel Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Durrueli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Durrueli

Address: Traversa Vincenzo Mirabella 27, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#2 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#4 Business Hotel in Ischia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#21 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price Range: £58 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Durrueli 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to La Mandra Beach and the ancient fishing village of Ischia Ponte, Hotel Villa Durrueli Resort offers a thermal swimming pool and a spa center. The grounds are full of exotic plants and flowers. The Resort overlooks the pine forest and has a fantastic view of Ischia's Castello Aragonese. Guests can relax on the sun terrace, take a dip in the large, thermal pool or in one of the smaller pools with hydro-massage and aromatherapy. Rooms are complete with all modern comforts, including free high-speed Internet access and wifi. Some rooms have a balcony or furnished terrace and an LCD TV. The spa center was opened in 2007 and includes an indoor pool, Turkish bath, and a variety of massages and beauty treatments. Meals at Villa Durrueli's restaurant are often accompanied by music from the piano. The dining menu includes fresh fish dishes, local specialties and a generous buffet of starters and vegetables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Durrueli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Durrueli Hotel Ischia
Durrueli Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing