We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted!”
Review of Villa Durrueli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Durrueli
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Tenby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we wanted!”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We went mid-October after making a "last minute" booking and flew from Bristol a week later. Our choice of venue was partly dictated by the convenient fying times there and back with Thomson. There were no problems with the journey and it all stitched together well. But note that the ferry trip from Naples to Ischia (via a stop at Procida) takes the best part of one and a half hours. We concur with many of the favourable comments about the hotel. Our room and the hotel as a whole were very clean. We payed extra for a room with a balcony and a sea view. We got room 302, which is probably the best of the lot, with a good view over the pool and the sea and castle beyond. Yes, the rooms are quite small, but that did not bother us. The beds are quite hard and we brought an overlay with us which was put to good use. The shower was excellent with plenty of hot water. Now the food: breakfast couldn't be bettered - a large selection of everything you could want. The evening meal 8pm+- first, you are presented with a wonderful cold selection from countless dishes of delicious food, which seemed to change from one day to another. No wonder there was a queue to get into the dining room at 8! Then there is a selection of starters from the menu followed by the main course. As has been said before, the portions are small, but of excellent quality, but just, say, a portion of meat or fish decorated, but no accompanying vegetables. However, when we arrived, there was little, if any, vegetarian choice. We complained about this and for the rest of the week a vegetarian menu was pruduced - problem solved. When we arrived, there was a pianist in the foyer 7-11pm. The music was monotonous in the extreme and so loud that you could not hear yourself speak. This music penetrated into our room upstairs, which we found disturbing. We were not the only guests who did not like this. It took a day or two to sort this out. We spoke to the management about this and our excellent rep Mina did likewise. Peace reigned for the rest of the week. The outside pool is very good, if rather cold. The hotel is well placed with an easy walk down the main street past all the shops to the harbour and to the castle in the opposite direction. Ischia must be very busy in high season, but in October we found it quiet, populated largely by locals, which added to our enjoyment. We did a tour of the island and visited the gardens "La Mortella" on the other side of the island, both well worth while. We had several days of hot sunshine. We were disappointed that a trip to the neighbouring island of Procida was cancelled, allegedly because the sea was too rough for the small boat. Overall - yes, we did have a couple of significant problems, but the way the staff, always courteous and eager to please, dealt with these issues lead us to give this friendly little hotel almost full marks. Finally, our departure in the early morning and crossing the bay of Naples at sunrise was pure magic!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NandJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    699
    314
    74
    35
    31
See reviews for
163
729
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S E England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We had a very enjoyable holiday with only minor negatives, which were mainly at the start of the holiday. We booked with Thomson and found the transfers rather too long for a one week break. This was largely due to the fact that it was October and ferry services were not as frequent as in the height of the season. A 6.45 flight from Gatwick meant we arrived mid morning in Naples. We were quickly shown to our minibus driver, who whisked us off to the port, where we were unceremoniously dumped with suitcases and bags and told the ferry would be at 2.20pm. As it was only 11.45, we wasted two hours on the quayside in the burning mid day heat. Fortunately there was a small bar/cafe, so we were able to get a drink and something to eat. The ferry left half an hour late, so our arrival in Ischia was late afternoon.Our lovely rep, Mina was there to greet us and we eventually arrived at the hotel. Taking into consideration that the departure was 5.50am the following week, we felt we had only really had 5 days there-something to be considered if you only go for a week.

Our first impressions of the hotel were good and the staff were very friendly. Our room (303) had a lovely view across to the castle, but was rather small. There were no easy chairs, or space for them, so we were glad that the good weather meant we didn't have to spend much time in the room. The shower was powerful, but very cramped. We discovered very quickly that the air conditioning wasn't working and after a number of attempts to fix it, we were told someone would be round the next morning.I pointed out that we wouldn't be able to sleep with the doors open becase of the mosquitoes and to their credit, they managed to get an engineer in whilst we were in dinner.

Much has been written about the food already. Suffice to say, we found it excellent. Breakfast provided a good selection, and dinner beautifully presented and tasty dishes. Some have said the portions were not large enough, but the buffet-style first course was more than adequate and with the addition of breadsticks and bread, we were very satisfied with the meals. The staff were both courteous and knowledgeable and this made for a happy dining experience.

We chose to use the local buses rather than risk the perils of driving around the narrow streets in hair-raising style as the locals did. Without exception, ALL the cars were scraped and dented! Leaving the hotel, a right turn into the park (through the double gate posts), leads you to the main road, which takes you to a bus stop. Tickets can be purchased at the kiosk (not on the bus). The number 5 will take you to Maronti Beach, with wonderful views on approach. We went there three times-definitely worth a visit and so much nicer than the local beach. Just be prepared for the joys of bus travel-only a few seats, so mostly standing and often crowded. A visit to Sant Angelo further round the coast is worthwhile and you can get a water taxi for 3 euros across to Maronti beach. Or of course, do it the other way round. Either way, both places can be reached by bus.

A walk to the port will take you to the Bus Station and a number of options for travel. All bus travel was very cheap ie. under 2 euros per journey. We found this a really good way to see the island. Taxi travel is expensive.

A day at one of the thermal spas is a must. We went to Poseidon (the only one still open). It can be accessed by the number 2 bus from the bus station. Go early and make the most of it.

We also used the thermal pool at the hotel. A pleasant experience apart form the beds, which had mould patches-maybe an end of season thing? The hot tubs in the outdoor pool area were a bonus, but not really hot enough and not completely functioning.

It was a surprise to be offered breakfast before our really early departure of 5.50. Apart from the hot food, everything was laid out as normal and the night porter took our orders for tea and coffee. Six fresh rolls for the six of us who had booked breakafst were also provided. What a pity the couple who arrived first had to be so greedy and snaffle them away and fill them with cheese and ham etc. for their journey. You know who you are you selfish pair!

All in all, it was a very favourable experience and we left feeling relaxed and rested .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royalblue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Had a great holiday here and met some very nice people. Stayed for a week in October, room 303 with a sea-view balcony on the top floor with spectacular views of the castle and the mainland. All staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel’s private beach was excellent, the thermal spa was a welcome treat, the roof terrace was also great but you could not buy a drink or a snack up there which was sad because the views were again superb.

The pool area was good with plenty of sunbeds and a snack bar but there were loads of flies and I must have donated a pint of blood to the local insect population! There’s a large garden next door which seems to be a cat haven and this may, or may not, cause the problem with insects. There were no flies inside the hotel.

Breakfast was good with fresh fruit, cereals, cold meats, cheese, streaky bacon, scrambled eggs and sausages etc. The quality of the evening meal was okay for the first couple of nights, it wobbled a bit in the middle and then fizzled out altogether! Never have I seen so many meals sent back to the kitchen for one reason or another.

The quantity of food was poor. It may be nouvelle cuisine but most of the guests we spoke to complained of fancy plates with very small portions of meat or fish and no hot vegetables whatsoever. There is a good salad buffet with cold vegetables but there was almost nothing left after twenty minutes and I never saw any dishes replenished. A lot of guests chose to swap the evening meal for lunch and go out for “proper food” as they called it. The wine was excellent with plenty of choice but the cheapest bottle was 22 Euros.

Taking everything into consideration, it’s a lovely little hotel with fabulous views, close to the castle, the port and the town centre, but let down only by the evening meal.

PS, the transfer to Ischia was a pleasure and the Thomson rep, Mina, met us at the airport and escorted us all the way. She was superb.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the views, 302 and 303 probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EddieAndLynn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingswood, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The positives-the staff during the day was quite helpful and gave a very warm welcome and the view from our room was outstanding (albeit with half dead plants on the balcony). Parts of the grounds are rather pretty. The negatives-Villa Durrueli has the amenities of a 4 star hotel but the execution is lacking. The entire hotel needs an overhaul with decor circa 1987. The lobby is very dark with pastel blue tile floors and books stacked haphazardly in one corner, I suppose that's the "library". The rooms are extremely small with the decor mimicking the lobby. I have never in all of my life slept on such a hard bed with pillows to match. The breakfast (included) was sufficient, however basic. The breads were stale, the hot food or where it was supposed to be never appeared except for 2 days and the dining room (again with the 1987 decor) was extremely awkward, no music, nothing but the sound of cutlery and clattering dishes. We took our coffee out to the terrace one morning and were immediately chastised by what I can guess is the handyman. The pool area needs a bit of work as well, the grass was either so worn down it was almost just dirt or it was very overgrown. Lastly, the gentleman working the evening shift at the front desk was consistently unpleasant. We asked for an extra blanket and his response was "you already have a blanket on your bed". Overall, if you are able to get a good deal, it is an acceptable establishment; otherwise I would recommend scouting other hotels.

Room Tip: If you insist on staying at Villa Duruelli, book a sea view superior room (floor 2).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deltasigguy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We chose this hotel from Thomsons and a perfect choice it was. The ferry crossing from Naples to Ischia was very relaxing and the transfer to the hotel was no problem. The hotel was in a quiet location taht gave the impression of being miles from anywhere,when in fact a ten minute walk took you to the castle in one direction or the port in the other. The staff could not have been friendlier and as for the food,wonderful,the menus covered all tastes. The island itself was interesting being able to travel round most of it by public trasport (providing you are quite happy being in a rugby scrum) Perhaps a slight exageration. All in all the island and the islanders came across as being as friendly as the hotel staff. Te one drawback was the mosquitos quite active at the end of September so take plenty of insect repellant. We would definately return not only to the island but also to the hotel.

Room Tip: Sugest you ask for rooms with a sea view they are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarrowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I chose Villa Durrueli for my holiday in Ischia with my wife. We booked a superior room. The room and bathroom were clean and well-kept but very small.The room had a balcony with a great view.

The hotel has a large swimming pool and a spa. The spa is small but well cared. Staff is always helpful and attentive to everyone's needs. They offered free drinks.
Restaurant was good and we also had the opportunity to know and appreciate the chef.
Good location although the hotel is hard to find.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LopezM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We holidayed here the second week in September. Weather was very hot.

We travelled with Thomsons. The flight was short - about 21/2hours - and we had a coach transfer to the ferry port about half an hour away for a one hour ferry crossing.

The hotel was a short transfer - 15 minutes of so which allowed you to see some of the island. It is a small and friendly hotel and that really sums it up. The staff are all very friendly and courteous. We found the hotel nicely quiet - so always a space to get a sun lounger by the pool and just the right number of tables at dinner and breakfast. The hotel was mainly Italian and English guests with a few Germans, and mostly people in their 50s and 60s.

The room was basic by the standards of some other countries with the furniture perhaps a little old fashioned but it was kept very clean. The pool was very clean too. The views from the balcony were stunning and in fact you could see the castle and sea from bed! Some people have said the beds are too hard but we slept really well. There is also a lovely rooftop terrace with seating aned great views.

We were half board and evening meals were excellent. You help yourself to anti pasti or starters and there were plenty of vegetables. Then you have waiter service and choose a first course which was a soup or pasta and then a second course which was meat or fish. Out of all the different meals we had there was only one that my partner and I did not like over the whole week. We tried lots of different things that we may not otherwise have chosen and all were lovely; some exceptional! Breakfast was ok - we had mainly the nice fresh bread and rolls but there was scrambled egg and bacon and yoghurts, cheese, cold meat etc. Lunch was fantastic. We had intended to eat out but often ended up eating by the pool which served the best bruschetta and melon with parma ham. Delicious!

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the castle which was really interesting to potter around and we spent half a day there including having lunch. It's about 5 minutes to the closest beach but I found the sand a bit grey and gritty as it is a volcanic island so we preferred the hotel pool. Walking the other way takes you to the main shops and bars, restaurants etc and the port. This takes about 15-20 mintues to the first real shops and cafes.

As well as visiting the castle and shops we took a half day boat trip round the island for 18 euros which lasted about 3 hours with an hour stop at Sant Angelo. The commentary wasn't very good and the boat was crowded but it was nice to see the island and the breeze on the top of the boat helped with the heat. We also visited the botanical gardens on the opposite side of the island, about half hour away. These were outstanding even for people like me that know very little about plants.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for a quiet holiday, relatively good value for Ischia (Italy is always quite expensive) and in a good location.

Thanks to all the staff for making our stay!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view - it is a side view but stunning looking over the castle and hotel pool wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeggySueUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.8 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,564 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#3 of 70 in Ischia
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
0.2 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hermitage & Park Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Durrueli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Durrueli

Property: Villa Durrueli
Address: Traversa Vincenzo Mirabella 27, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#2 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#4 Business Hotel in Ischia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#24 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Durrueli 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to La Mandra Beach and the ancient fishing village of Ischia Ponte, Hotel Villa Durrueli Resort offers a thermal swimming pool and a spa center. The grounds are full of exotic plants and flowers. The Resort overlooks the pine forest and has a fantastic view of Ischia's Castello Aragonese. Guests can relax on the sun terrace, take a dip in the large, thermal pool or in one of the smaller pools with hydro-massage and aromatherapy. Rooms are complete with all modern comforts, including free high-speed Internet access and wifi. Some rooms have a balcony or furnished terrace and an LCD TV. The spa center was opened in 2007 and includes an indoor pool, Turkish bath, and a variety of massages and beauty treatments. Meals at Villa Durrueli's restaurant are often accompanied by music from the piano. The dining menu includes fresh fish dishes, local specialties and a generous buffet of starters and vegetables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Durrueli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Durrueli Hotel Ischia
Durrueli Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing