We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Peaceful hotel”
Review of Villa Durrueli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Durrueli
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quiet Peaceful hotel”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just returned from a lovely week at the villa Durrueli, very quiet and peaceful , the staff were all very friendly and helpful, especialy the dining room staff, with a little mention for Sara. A visit to the Mortella gardens is a must , they are just beautiful. A very special mention for the Thomson rep Mina, who made all our travel arrangements so easy , she is a gem. and her knowledge of the island is with out equal, having been born there and nothing was a trouble for her.Only one fault nothing to do with hotel, [the mosquitos] they were a pain.

Room Tip: all rooms were good , but a high floor is advisable if you want the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rainbates1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    304
    72
    35
    29
See reviews for
155
709
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We returned yesterday from our 2 weeks holiday at Villa Durrueli. Ideal location and a very enjoyable holiday. Food excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. I have to mention Marco who made our meal times very enjoyable and entertaining. I can not praise enough Mina the Thomson rep and nothing was ever too much trouble for her. There were tears at the Airport.

Room Tip: We were in Room 313 which had an excellent sea view and that of The Aragon Castle of Ischia. The onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed only one night in this hotel but we loved it! There inside pool/spa was amazing! very relaxing. the hotel is near a beautiful park which leads to the center of town! I would stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anthonyrand11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was our first trip to Ischia and we were looking for a quiet, friendly, centrally located place to stay. Villa Durrueli was all of those things. All of the staff at the front desk were remarkably friendly and helpful. Ilaria, Cecilia and Stephanie gave us recommendations for restaurants, shopping and arranged a local driver, Peppino, to take us around the island for a lovely tour.

Our room was very small, but had a lovely little balcony overlooking the pool and looking out to the Gulf of Naples and the Aragonese Castle which dominates the landscape from nearly every viewpoint of this quadrant of the island.

The breakfasts were adequate and were included with the room. What we enjoyed more than anything was retiring to the rooftop bar at the end of the day and having Mario, the bar man, concoct a nightcap made with Compari or a limoncello.

Room Tip: Make certain to spend an hour or two after dinner at the rooftop bar. It is charming and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed it.The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food,in particular,was excellent,with a wide choice at breakfast and dinner.We stayed half board and therefore I cannot comment on the lunches.We suffered,initially,from noisy neighbours but the night porter dealt with the problem quickly once we complained.Unfortunately,one cannot do a great deal about unthinking people!If I booked again I would prefer a room away from the reception area as the noise travelled to rooms 205 and 206 which were also situated near to the lift and stairs to the 3rd landing and suffered from extraneous noise.Thank goodness for our ear plugs!I will mention two things which were disappointing: no hot water if rising early as I found to my cost when I jumped into the shower at 4.40am and certainly got a freezing reception!; and no English speaking channels on the much vaunted flat-screen TV. However,all things considered,I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Ischia and I would suggest they tried to get a room on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The Villa Durrueli proudly boasts that it is 100% guests orientated ! However sadly below that for us as vegetarians. Thomson Holidays state on their website that it has a vegetarian menu. At dinner on the first night there was not one and we had a plain omelette with the promise of a menu and choice the following night. On the next night no menu and bits taken off the ordinary menu e.g. Risotto with the shrimp taken off but still pink - worrying if you think it had been cooked with shrimp. Third night no vegetarian menu and given a mozzarella baked, however this was cold and a still a bit frozen in parts. Fourth night still no vegetarian menu and given a soup with the bacon taken out (surely made with it as an ingredient ). At this point we could take no more and left the dining room. Asked for the Manager who called the Maitre'd they spoke to each other in Italian (so we did not know what they said) and he told us that he couldn't see the problem. For the rest of the week we had to eat our dinner out from the hotel and pay a restaurant . At no time did we ever see a vegetarian menu although they told our rep Mina that they had one - she is a vegetarian and offered to make a menu on the second day but this was refused. Nobody from the hotel bothered to come to speak to us for the rest of our stay. 100% guest orientated? Definitely not !
We had stayed at this hotel a few years ago before it got its 4 stars and the then Maitre'd brought the chef out to meet us and discussed our menu, it was a very friendly and certainly guest orientated hotel then. Sadly although they have 4 stars they were not able to provide a service that matched this for us, we just wanted to be treated the same as other guests and have a menu that we could choose from and actually eat knowing that it was free from meat or fish.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesjoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durrueli, Direttore at Villa Durrueli, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks to sharing you personal reviews. I apologize for the inconvenience but I prefer not to give further details about it, because I think the case has already been dealt directly with the Tour Operator.

Filippo Cervera
Resident Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

had a lovely 2 weeks holiday at this very relaxing hotel. Very pleasant atmosphere,friendly,helpful staff. Room was lovely with large balcony,overlooking front of hotel/garden & car park but surprisingly quiet ( mid Aug) Pool area & spa delightful- during our 1st week no other English there but the,mostly,Italian guests were lovely & made us feel welcome. There were just enough children in to make things fun & interesting without running amok! As prev posted ,food was excellent & service superb.The small cons were, as stated on last review, we'd have liked to get news in English on TV ; wine was somewhat expensive ; would have liked solarium terrace bar to be opened for just a few hours some days ( say late afternoons for pre dinner drink or after dinner for nightcap ? Otherwise my review would be excellent.
Location for us was perfect as we loved old town, Ponte. We could walk to it in 5/10 minutes & on to causeway which was wonderful, especially in evenings when everyone strolled or sat about. Particular mention to cafe bar CoCo s at causeway - lovely (& reasonable price for glass of prosecco or delicious icecream!) we found opposite direction walk to Porto a little too much in the Aug heat but caught local bus a few times. We enjoyed the climb to the castle (luckily a bit cool morning),very interesting with fantastic views. Also took ferry to Procida which was very scenic & "untouristy". Mortello gardens also well worth trip in spite of getting caught in huge thunderstorm! Another favourite stop was to watch the Italian holidaymakers & locals enjoying themselves with gusto on Pescatori beach, great fun had by all! Thanks to Mina (rep) for her good advice & tips -so helpful & friendly (& patient!)
Sum up, yes we loved Ischia & hope to return & also this lovely hotel with such nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durrueli, Direttore at Villa Durrueli, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your review and I' ll be very happy to see you again next year.

Best Regards,

Filippo Cervera
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.8 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#3 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.7 mi away
Delfini Strand Hotel Terme
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Durrueli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Durrueli

Property: Villa Durrueli
Address: Traversa Vincenzo Mirabella 27, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ischia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ischia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#4 Business Hotel in Ischia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
#24 Family Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Durrueli 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to La Mandra Beach and the ancient fishing village of Ischia Ponte, Hotel Villa Durrueli Resort offers a thermal swimming pool and a spa center. The grounds are full of exotic plants and flowers. The Resort overlooks the pine forest and has a fantastic view of Ischia's Castello Aragonese. Guests can relax on the sun terrace, take a dip in the large, thermal pool or in one of the smaller pools with hydro-massage and aromatherapy. Rooms are complete with all modern comforts, including free high-speed Internet access and wifi. Some rooms have a balcony or furnished terrace and an LCD TV. The spa center was opened in 2007 and includes an indoor pool, Turkish bath, and a variety of massages and beauty treatments. Meals at Villa Durrueli's restaurant are often accompanied by music from the piano. The dining menu includes fresh fish dishes, local specialties and a generous buffet of starters and vegetables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Durrueli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Durrueli Hotel Ischia
Durrueli Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing