We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #34 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed here in June. As a solo traveller I had a lovely large room with new furniture and a good size bathroom. This hotel is in a good location. Bus no.7 from the port, lovely wander down to shops and Ponte area. Friendly helpful staff (ask for discount voucher for Negumbo Beach). Home made cake and fresh bread for breakfast. Room overlooked pool. This hotel is excellent value for money. Would recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zarkava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

Hotel Europa provides perfect relaxation in this stressful World. Sunshine, thermal water, silance, beautiful flowers, good food and nice people, all you can find in this place. People who go to this place will go home 10 years younger. Rooms are clean, matrasses are perfect. There is a thermal water pool in the garden which is filled up every day. Bus No7 from the Ischia Porto. The staff is very helpful. I hope to go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flower42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaBuono, Proprietario at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you so much, this makes us extremely glad!
We hope to meet you again during the next summer.
Warm greetings from the Europa staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Spent a week in September at Hotel Europa with my mother and sister and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it!. Excellent service from all staff at the hotel, making us feel welcome. Will definitely consider staying there again if visiting the island in the future. Thermal pool was a bonus, relaxing atmosphere at the hotel complimented by good food and tranquil surroundings despite the hotel being on a main road.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaBuono, Owner at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

We, together with our staff, thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your holidays!
Hope to meet you again in the next future and all the best for you and your family :)

Buono family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Due to travel circumstances we were late checking into the hotel and only arrived around 9.30-10 PM). We were tired, hungry and travel stressed after a long day with trains, planes, boats and buses.
Have no fear. We were welcomed and we were made comfortable in a lovely clean room and informed that they knew we would be arriving late ( we emailed them in advance) and so they kept the kitchen open for us. As soon as we freshened up we were treated to one of the best meals EVER! Fresh pasta to start with, followed by calamari.
We cannot recommend this well run, clean and comfortable family run hotel enough.
Whilst we were more than willing to try our phrasebook bad Italian on the poor staff, they all spoke some English and so communicating was not a problem.
The hotel is easy to get to, as the bus passes right in front and runs regularly. We bought a 3 day bus pass for €13 each and saw the whole island. The bus also took us to Negombo, St.Angelo and the little hidden gem Sorgeto beach where we got off at Lacco Ameno, although be warned it is quite a hike up and down the cliff along the stairs to and from Sorgeto. Antonio told us it is abut 400m but it felt like much more, especially after a day lounging in a boiling sea!
The location of Hotel Europa is ideal for a walk to Porto or Ponto and every evening after our delicious meals we walked off the extra calories.We were lucky to have a full moon during our stay and this added to the romantic and breathtaking view of Castello Aragonese as we ambled along the walkway.
Hotel Europa is full of little treasures and you should take the time to look at the photos and pictures and explore the whole place. Sandro told us that the hotel has been in the family for over 50 years so there are some interesting tales to tell.
The breakfasts at Europa Hotel are superb, with home made cakes ( yes cakes for breakfast -it's an Italian thing) fresh bread, home made marmalades, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit and delicious coffee.
The staff are great- thank you Anna for the fresh towels every day and for cleaning our room, Thank you Antonio and Pasquale for the very good service and for keeping us entertained.
A special thank you to Antonio for his ever cheerful smiles and for telling us about SORGETO (a must for anyone who visits Ischia).
Thanks to the wonderful chef and we are so sad that we never got his name but I think it was raffaele. who really makes the most delicious meals
The Internet worked fine and they do not charge and rip off like so many other hotels we have visited.
The tepid Thermal pool is a treat, set in a splendid garden. Do not be put off by the yellow colour which we were told is due to the sulphur and minerals. We only used it once and felt really great afterwards. They empty the pool and fill it every morning and so you can only use it after 11AM by which time we were well away into our island exploring.
We were in a triple room which was adequate for 3 adults plus luggage. Our room faced the road and was quite noisy but we closed the windows and it was quiet enough to get a good night's rest. The ceiling fan was completely noiseless.
Please do try their home made limoncello as an aperitif - it is exquisite!
Again thanks to Sandro, Raffaele, handsome boys Antonio and Pasquale and the rest of the family for a brilliant stay at Europa Hotel.
We totally recommend Hotel Europa and wish it another 50 years of success.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room facing the pool may be a little quieter. Rooms facing the road can be noisy. Take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllOverTheShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaBuono, Proprietario at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

A warm thank you from all the staff with the hope to be able to welcome you soon again!

Famiglia Buono

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I am shocked at some of the negative reviews, after spending a week at this hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly. It almost feels like you are staying in a family villa. The air conditioning is remote controlled and works beautifully.

The breakfasts are plentiful, including toast, cereals, home-made cakes, cheese, ham, eggs and drinks such as orange juice, tea and coffee. The hotel is very well located, and if you are not eating in the hotel then there are many places to eat nearby.

The pool looks funny when you first see it, but it is amazing. The water is emptied and refilled daily, and is full of all sorts of minerals. All in all the hotel is a clean, friendly family run establishment and i would recommend that anyone stays here. Visit Ischia and stay the Hotel Europa. Oh, one more thing, the beds are veeeeeery comfortable :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_and_Char
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaBuono, Proprietario at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thank you very much and we hope to meet you again in the next future!

Warm greetings from the Europa staff: Sandro, Raffaele, Nino, Antonio, Pasquale, Veronica, Filomena, Anna, Franco e Timmy :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The hotel is easy to get to from Ischia Porto, just walk across the road to the bus station on the right and get a number 7 bus to Ischia Ponte, ask when to get off, takes about 5 minutes.
We had booked a budget room which was very good, and of a high standard. In particular the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful making us feel welcome. Breakfast is buffet style and included excellent home made cakes. The dinner was a selection home-made Italian dishes and was also very good.
The spa pool was nice and is changed every day and changes colour due to iron in the water reacting to sunlight. Overall a really good hotel for the price and would not hesitate to go back to the same hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CSAquino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaBuono, Owner at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Thank you very much! We're very pleased you had a great time in our hotel and we hope you will come back next summer :)
Buono family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in June and planned to send in a similar review as it was through Trip Advisor that we found Europa. The mineral pool was a highlight and the helpful staff as well. After touring many cities prior, this location proved to be a nice reprieve to rest and enjoy the quaint scenic area. The hotel was an excellent value for the price. I would definitely go back and am comfortable recommending to others.

Stayed: June 2012
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

We'll thank you for these kind words about our service and accommodation.
It was a pleasure that you stayed here in our hotel and you enjoyed your trip to the island.
We hope you come back soon!
Best wishes from Ischia :)

Famiglia Buono

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Annabelle
Hotel Annabelle
#14 of 70 in Ischia
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#8 of 70 in Ischia
441 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Internazionale
Hotel Internazionale
#55 of 70 in Ischia
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel La Capannina
Hotel La Capannina
#25 of 70 in Ischia
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Valentino Terme
0.1 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#3 of 70 in Ischia
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Antonio Sogliuzzo 25, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ischia
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range: £45 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cousins Sandro and Raffaele Buono are proud to be the third generation of their family to extend a warm and enthusiastic welcome to their guests, especially the many who regularly return to enjoy a stay at the Europa. In the early 1950s, their grandfather Antonio opened a restaurant here - the "Ristorante l'Aranceto" - and by 1956 the popularity of the location so close to the historic borgo of Ischia Ponte and the fortunate discovery of an underground thermal spring had persuaded him and his sons Tonino and Gaetano to add their first few rooms, creating the Hotel Europa. Over the years the building has evolved and grown but their warm family welcome and perfect hospitality have never changed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing