We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ischia 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Ischia 2014”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was our third and last visit, due to age. You can either fly direct to naples and take The Alibus
airport shuttle down to the harbour. The altrnative is to fly to Rome and take either a bus or train to Naples. You can pick up the Alibus at the train station. Pay on the bus 4 euro. buy in the airport or station 3 euro. There are many ferries to Ischia. The Hydrofoils you should book, plus luggage, 2 euro per bag (important) There are also general ferries that are much cheaper. We booked the hydrofoil to Forio which is a secondary destination Ischia Town is the main port and the one you would need for the Europa Hotel. It is a relativly short taxi ride. Ask the price as Taxi drivers are very cavalier about price they ignore the meter and one price fits all which appears to be about 15 euro. For the first week we stayed in an apartment in Forio which is a very nice place with some character well worth a visit by bus. This also applies to San Angelo which is small and has a steep slope down to it. The Olivia Apartment's were very nice, but up hill from the town, but walkable even for oldies like us. Mr Patelano picks you up at Forio port and would take you back. It is at this stage he asks for a voluntery contribution. I gave him 5 euro for the first trip.
The local Taxi has a one off charge of 12 euro per journey. If you stay at the perimeter of this charge its a bargain. Where we were, its a rip off, but it is official. No doubt locals have their own terms. The apartment was basic but nice with a good view. It has a hot spring small indoor pool and a large outdoor. Nice gardens with lemon trees's. Mr Patelano very nice and helpful.
We were there too early April nice but cool. He arranged for a taxi to the Europa which a good distance for 20 euro which was great door to door.

This was our second visit to this unusual hotel, it is small but in a good location. A short walk down through a very old town to the causeway and Island with its castle/monestry. spectacular
Mr Ripley country. Half board is best and interesting, but only expect two choices of basic good food for dinner. The staff are great..If you arrive in the afternoon and look at the pool you would think no way, it is a creamy colour. It is supplied by a hot spring and is changed every day. They also have roof terrace which is basic but ok. We used it once or twice but it was just too windy at this time of year. There is a road below the hotel just above the beach where you can walk straight into the main centre and harbour of Ischia Town. Passing all the best shops and bars/cafe. If you do not wish to walk back there is a small bus station above the harbour, a few ero's back to the hotel. The bus route is a longer distance.

Others here have given good details about the Europa and I agree. A great weeks holiday. The journey back from Ischia Town to airport was as described. It turned out we had booked the Good Friday holiday week so pre booking really paid off on the Hydrofoil.

PS If you book the Hydrofoil online the document you get might look like a ticket but its not you need to go to the company desk in the Molo Beverello Port to get all your tickets, both ways.
A very helpful young lady from Aliscaf helped us out.

Thats about it have a great holiday

Room Tip: you get what you pay for look at their range. Some rooms have no balcony or patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Borrowed Time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaBuono, Proprietario at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review and for these useful informations about how to reach Ischia. Really a great help for other travelers!

We hope to meet you again and in the meantime we wish you a great summer time :)

Famiglia Buono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    148
    43
    15
    8
See reviews for
58
185
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have stayed here for 4 nights the end of June,unfortunately they didn't have availability for 10 nights that we wanted.This hotel has great location,fantastic garden and pool area with thermal water.Breakfast is delicious with home made cakes and real cappuccino.Dinner is served with choice of 3 course and waiters are great especially Antonio who is very friendly and smiley.
I think this hotel is very good value for money I do recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tattyglam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaBuono, Owner at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much from Raffaele, Sandro, Veronica, Nino, Antonio, Pasquale, Andrea, Carla, Lina, Roberto and Franco :)

Hope to see you soon!

Famiglia Buono.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The pool!! Warm and healing. A joy!
The food! Just so good. We looked forward to every meal.
The wine! Lovely and excellent value.
The rooms! Nice and spacious and clean.
The family! The best hosts ever.
Ischia. Classy place!
we had a wonderful time including my adult kids.
we will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 552ditto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaBuono, Owner at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Great review! Thank you so much and we hope to see you soon :)

Famiglia Buono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Europa for two nights in early June 2014. The Hotel is wonderful with large rooms with terraces and a spa pool. There is also a roof top terrace with beautiful views of the surrounding area. The staff is very friendly and provided suggestions for restaurants and beaches to visit. They also gave us beach towels for the day. The breakfast is wonderful with fresh croissants and yummy hot chocolate. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaBuono, Owner at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are really happy that, although remaining two nights, you was able to appreciate our hospitality!

Thank you very much and a big hug from the "Europa" staff :)

Famiglia Buono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I picked this hotel due to the reviews and its location .
Having recently spent a week at this place I have had time to reflect on the experience.

Quite simply it was very good value for money . I would advise opting for the half board tariff as the home made food is plentiful and tasty. Breakfast is a range of meats, boiled eggs ,home made cakes ,cheese ,coffee and lovely bread.-A great start to the day.
Dinner is 3 courses with a choice of 2 dishes per course- normally pasta starter and meat/fish with one veg as entrée.

Wine is charged at between 8-12 euros .per bottle.

In general charges for all drinks are reasonable and the waiters Antonio and Pasqualle do their very best to accommodate customers wishes. They are very efficient and friendly.

The hotel is family run and it was refreshing to get away from the sterility of a corporate brand .

The warm pool was a delight - but don't bring white costumes or towels as the orange mineral waters will stain. We spent a great deal of time in here.

I have no hesitation in recommending both this hotel and the beautiful island of Ischia. One of the best holidays!!

Room Tip: With a view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaBuono, Proprietario at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you Tony for this wonderful review and a special thanks, od course, from Pasquale and Antonio!

We hope to meet you and your family very soon and we wish you a nice summer time :)

Famiglia Buono.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I return as often as possible with my wellness groups. We enjoy the healing water in the pool, the terrasse at the roof with it's beautiful wiew,which is excellent for our yoga and gym classes. But most of all we love the staff! It is like being welcomed home to ones dearest family. And in addition we find the rooms nice and clean and the food good!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaBuono, Proprietario at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for choosing one more time our hotel for this wellness holiday and a big hug to you and your group :)

The Europa staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great Hotel, every year we return it remains a joy of good food, comfort,fabulous pool and the most happy and hospitable staff we have ever come across.The location is excellent, convenient for shops, beach and castle. Via Roma ( main shopping street ) is a short walk from the Hotel. There is also two bus stops outside the Hotel. We will be returning next year, as usual. We would not miss it ! Would recommend to everyone

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 234Margo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamigliaBuono, Proprietario at Hotel Europa, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
We are really so happy that also during this summer you all had a wonderful holiday!

So see you next year and a big hug from all of us :)

Famiglia Buono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rivamare
Hotel Rivamare
#4 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#3 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Valentino Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Capannina
Hotel La Capannina
#10 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.6 mi away
Don Felipe
Don Felipe
#31 of 58 in Ischia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Annabelle
Hotel Annabelle
#12 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Via Antonio Sogliuzzo 25, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ischia
#25 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cousins Sandro and Raffaele Buono are proud to be the third generation of their family to extend a warm and enthusiastic welcome to their guests, especially the many who regularly return to enjoy a stay at the Europa. In the early 1950s, their grandfather Antonio opened a restaurant here - the "Ristorante l'Aranceto" - and by 1956 the popularity of the location so close to the historic borgo of Ischia Ponte and the fortunate discovery of an underground thermal spring had persuaded him and his sons Tonino and Gaetano to add their first few rooms, creating the Hotel Europa. Over the years the building has evolved and grown but their warm family welcome and perfect hospitality have never changed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing