We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic and strategic location, and great value for money”
Review of Don Pedro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Don Pedro Hotel
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I chose this hotel in Ischia town after having taken into consideration many other hotels, because it featured together the following main requirements 1) to be at walking distance from the harbour (this is important for a weekender, as we were; obviously less for longer stays); 2) have a spa pool, albeit small; 3) to be a "three star" with a good value for money.
Our choice in my opinion turned out to be very happy. The location of the hotel, a bit high on the hill, dominating the port of Ischia, has allowed us to enjoy every day the view of the harbour itself; further, the island of Procida; farther still, Vesuvius. Then a dreamlike scenery.
In addition, we were accommodated in a room in an outbuilding (but only twenty meters from the reception), which has increased the charm of our arrangement: in the morning we went out of our room as from an isolated cottage (gladdened by the scene I said). Our room had everything we needed, as well as the bathroom.
The area around the hotel is full of beautiful succulents, favored by the Ischia's climate.
For breakfast, of course you go to the main building. The breakfast itself is adequate to the hotel's level. Particularly appreciable, inter alia, the yogurt, apparently self-produced.
We don't have then used the small spa pool, because, busy visiting the island, we decided to head to the spas proper (the spa "Castiglione" is in walking distance, about 1 km).
The hotel's service was very kindly. Although as I said the hotel is in walking distance from the port (which is also the hub of public buses around the island), on demand and until 11pm the staff will pick you up with a van. The morning we left, we were also taken for free to the harbour.
In short: a hotel that is absolutely to be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask if possible for the outbuilding; wonderful scenery from our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brun066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

My family and I (19 - 81) stayed at this lovely hotel at the beginning of October and had a great time. While the hotel is basic and a little worn this is more than made up for by the Family that own and run it. There was nothing that was too much trouble and they went out of their way to make sure that you had a pleasant stay. The view from the hotel is stunning and it's not too far out to walk into town, if you ask the management will pick you up on your return. The food was of a good quality and the bar prices very good. My son a notoriously difficult eater enjoyed the food and on a couple of occasions the menu was altered to suit him and he ate foods that we could not get him to eat at home. We would stay at this hotel again when we next come to Ischia and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisG282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed a week at this hotel, and still have the feeling that there is something quite magical about it. Maybe its the views, maybe its the owners, or maybe we stayed too long in the thermal pool! The rooms are basic but spotless. Ours was one of only four rooms that look out over the town and harbour, the remainder face other buildings. But all rooms seem to have balconies or patios and there is plenty of room to sun bathe - there is a large terrace around the pool, plus more terracing in front of the bar and restaurant, and loads of good quality sun-loungers. Some of the hotels on Ischia can be a bit on the snooty side, but the family who own and personally staff this hotel were always friendly and helpful.

We were on a bed and breakfast basis. There is ample choice in the buffet breakfast, but don't expect full English! We had a 3 course evening meal on a couple of nights, paid the 15 euros extra. The food was homely but well presented.

The hotel is within easy walking distance down hill to the town, but the trip back isn't quite as easy - there are 138 steps from the pavement up to the hotel, either that or risk being hit by a car on the more gradual hill where there are no pavements. The hotel has lots of steps within it, so it is not ideal for anyone with mobility problems.

If I go back to Ischia - this hotel would be my first choice.

Room Tip: Rooms 129 and 130 face out over the town and port and have french doors opening out onto small patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We went to Ischia last year on a day trip from Sorrento, loved the look of it and decided to go for a holiday this year. One of the best decisions we've made, the hotel was amazing with views to die for & the family who own and run the hotel couldn't be any more helpful or accommodating. The only down side is the trip back up to the hotel, either by the road or a multitude of steps but if you know what time you're coming back at they will pick you up at the bus station. Hopefully we will be retuning to Ischia in the future and we would have no hesitation going to the Don Pedro again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have just returned from spending 2 wonderful weeks at the Don Pedro in Ischia.
This was our 3RD time at this hotel & to be quite honest we can't fault it. The hotel is spotless from the entrance to the room we had, the room was always cleaned daily & bed made & the balcony swept.
The choice of breakfast is good & dinner, at 19.30, gives a good choice of 3 courses every night including a small salad with your main course. The food we found was excellent ( all down to a good team in the kitchen).
The family was very friendly & always had time for us & enjoyed a chat & a laugh with us.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who goes to Ischia for a holiday.
We are planning to go back for our 4th trip in 2015.

Room Tip: We had room 129 which had a goo balcony & access to the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank biffoStourport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Beautiful people of Ischia welcomed us with open arms , the views from the hotel are incredible of near by islands, to the silhouette of Mount Vesuvius and the bay of Naples you look down to the main port with its million pound yachts moored next to some beautiful restaurants we found the hotel to be very good and in pristine condition the rooms were hot without the air conditioning but you can request it for 10 euros a night . You could hear road noise from the hotel balcony but added to the interest of watching the Italians going about their every day business ,the walk down to the port was ok finding a grill bar on the way which was excellent value and really good, down in the port we found some excellent restaurants with some very good menus ,the port is a hive of activity ferry's coming in and out and of course the super yachts. the bus station is also located here and taxis ,now for the walk back I would say you have to be of reasonable fitness we did it a few times and found it quite tiring (ages 48-49) due to the heat, now on the plus side the hotel will take you down and pick you up at times that suit you or you can get a taxi , once back in the hotel they were always happy to serve us a nice cold beer no matter what time we came back you just have to ask , we found the breakfast to be excellent with plenty to choose from . A very well run hotel with lovely staff , we will be going back again ,

Room Tip: email the hotel to help you choose they are more than happy and have said for us to do this next yea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 855David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have just returned from spending 2 weeks in the Don Pedro hotel on Ischia and were very impressed by this family run hotel. All the staff are really friendly and helpful,the friendliest we have ever met! The Hotel is spotlessly clean and the thermal pool lovely with no problem getting sun loungers. The views over Ischia Porto are beautiful and there is a lovely harbour there with very nice bars and restaurants particularly Antonios Taverna Bar. We intended eating out every night but only ate out 3times because the food in the hotel was delicious and only 15Euros for 3 courses. It is up a steep hill which we found a bit challenging but they will pick you up at night if you ask them at a set time no charge which we found was really good.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with air conditioning if you are there in July/August well worth 10 Eur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Parco Cartaromana
Hotel Parco Cartaromana
#10 of 70 in Ischia
420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#35 of 70 in Ischia
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Benessere e Relax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#3 of 70 in Ischia
1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel San Valentino Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Pedro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Pedro Hotel

Address: Via Quercia 57, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Price Range: £64 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Pedro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Don Pedro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Pedro Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing