We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family run hotel”
Review of Don Pedro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Pedro Hotel
Ranked #40 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Excellent family run hotel”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks on a bed & breakfast basis. Based on other reviews we emailed the hotel ahead of arriving requesting a room with air conditioning. Almost immediately we received a response confirming our request.
On arrival we were greeted and our cases were taken to our room for us. The room (137) was effectively under the swimming pool. It was decorated in a simple manner, and had a single window which gave a view over the port. The room & bathroom were very clean. The air conditioning worked well & was quiet in operation. Beds were comfortable. Shower wasn't the most powerful, but worked well enough. The room was thoroughly cleaned every day, and bathroom towels replaced.
The breakfast provided was very good with a good choice of cereals, fruit, pastries, tea, coffee, etc.
We had a few lunches at the hotel, and particularly enjoyed their bruschetta.
If you wanted dinner at the hotel, you needed to inform them by the end of breakfast on that day, and it was served at 7.30pm, which was too early for us, so we ate in the town every evening. However we always saw plenty of people enjoying dinner at the hotel.
The pool area is very clean and there was never any problems getting a sunbed. Something we was not aware of prior to arriving, was the hotel do insist that everyone wears a swimming cap before entering the pool. These can be borrowed from reception for free.
The hotel provide free WiFi in the reception area, and it's range extends out to the terrace area. It doesn't extend as far as the pool area or hotel rooms.
Throughout our stay we found the staff to be professional, polite and courteous. It's immediately obvious this is run by a family, and is a refreshing change from the large corporate hotels.
As others have mentioned the hotel is located half way up a steep hill. You can get into the town via the road, or take the 138 steps. Going into town we didn't find the road to be any quicker than taking their stairs. However returning from the town and taking the steps was very hard work, and didn't get any easier throughout our stay!
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Don Pedro, had no complaints about anything and would definitely stay here again if we return to Ischia.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    62
    23
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
79
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The location of the hotel quite high on the hill may prove to be a challenge in hot weather: there is either a pretty steep walk up the hill or the 138 steps to choose from. However, the scenery from the hotel terrace towards the bay of Naples with Vesuvius in the background is simply fantastic! On arrival I was first given a room in the basement near the kitchen and with a very small inner closure for air, not really a terrace. I felt it was suffocating and very unpleasant, especially with the clattering of plates and dishes from the kitchen and smell of food. Next day I managed to get a room with “garden view” which was OK - at least there was a breath of fresh air, yet not really a view to anywhere else but a high hedge but it was nice and quiet. The room was very basic, but kept very clean, and it had all the necessary things so it was quite functional as everything was set in a proper place. The only major minus was the shower, which was really poor! There are so many guests on the island that the pressure is simply not enough for all of the houses on high hills, I suppose. The hotel pool was quite nice even though the water was a bit too hot for my liking, and during half of my stay suffered from maintenance and could not be used at all as the water was much too hot. I dined at the hotel the first evening , tired from long travelling, but was not impressed by the meal nor the wine. However, I must say that the staff is absolutely fantastic: they really seem to care about you, and do all they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Mille grazie! That really makes a difference, and I do not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a wonderful stay on the lovely Isola Verde. I am sure the rooms with sea view and air conditioning are quite fantastic.

Room Tip: Basement rooms tend to be noisy and close. Ask for a room with sea view and air conditioning. The vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne2011_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here from 6th June for one week on a bed and breakfast basis. Our plans to eat in the town changed after our first meal at the hotel. We challenge anyone to find better value on the island, 10€ per night for a three course meal. The wine list was very reasonable. So much so we tried a different one every night. Only on one night did we find the wine not to our taste, not that there was anything wrong with it, there wasn't. The result it was taken of our bill with an apology that wasn't needed we just didn't find it to our taste.
The rooms are basic but everything you need is there and they are kept spotlessly clean. The thermal pool is like having a warm bath and there are sun beds a plenty. Yes there are 138 steps down to the main road but, we always took the short walk down the road. There is no footpath but it was never a problem and much quicker, ten minutes into the town. The town itself was,as expected, quite busy but worth the walk. Also visiting the castle is a must, for those who don't mind the climb but then Ischia is all about walking, mostly uphill!
From the port boat trips to Positano, Amalfi, Capri etc. Should you just want to chill out by the pool the staff will look after you very we'll. In fact we plan to return just on the level of care and consideration the staff give their guests.And of course the Ischia experience.

Room Tip: Most rooms have sight of the sea and a small balcony.A few open onto the patio area and a small numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southcroft66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Don Pedro may only have 3 Stars but the situation above IschiaPorto and overlooking the Bay of Naples, heated pool and the excellent staff make it a really good hotel. I intended to dine in the town but the hotel restaurant was more convenient and supplied meals to my liking at very reasonable cost. The wine was particularly well priced.
Situated about 1km from town up a steep hill could have presented a problem to older customers or those with limited mobility but the hotel does provide transport, this is not advertised so enquire. Try to avoid Taxi's , which are very expensive,€12-15 for approx. 1km.
The owner,Don Pedro and his daughters run this family hotel very efficiently, nothing is too much trouble. I can honestly say my stay in June '14 was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable I can remember. The staff getting up to make me a packed breakfast after 5AM and Don Pedro seeing me off made it a perfect week.

Room Tip: As a single guest I was happy in a side room ,119,with decent balcony overlooking tree covered mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elliven_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
773 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I chose this hotel in Ischia town after having taken into consideration many other hotels, because it featured together the following main requirements 1) to be at walking distance from the harbour (this is important for a weekender, as we were; obviously less for longer stays); 2) have a spa pool, albeit small; 3) to be a "three star" with a good value for money.
Our choice in my opinion turned out to be very happy. The location of the hotel, a bit high on the hill, dominating the port of Ischia, has allowed us to enjoy every day the view of the harbour itself; further, the island of Procida; farther still, Vesuvius. Then a dreamlike scenery.
In addition, we were accommodated in a room in an outbuilding (but only twenty meters from the reception), which has increased the charm of our arrangement: in the morning we went out of our room as from an isolated cottage (gladdened by the scene I said). Our room had everything we needed, as well as the bathroom.
The area around the hotel is full of beautiful succulents, favored by the Ischia's climate.
For breakfast, of course you go to the main building. The breakfast itself is adequate to the hotel's level. Particularly appreciable, inter alia, the yogurt, apparently self-produced.
We don't have then used the small spa pool, because, busy visiting the island, we decided to head to the spas proper (the spa "Castiglione" is in walking distance, about 1 km).
The hotel's service was very kindly. Although as I said the hotel is in walking distance from the port (which is also the hub of public buses around the island), on demand and until 11pm the staff will pick you up with a van. The morning we left, we were also taken for free to the harbour.
In short: a hotel that is absolutely to be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask if possible for the outbuilding; wonderful scenery from our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brun066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My family and I (19 - 81) stayed at this lovely hotel at the beginning of October and had a great time. While the hotel is basic and a little worn this is more than made up for by the Family that own and run it. There was nothing that was too much trouble and they went out of their way to make sure that you had a pleasant stay. The view from the hotel is stunning and it's not too far out to walk into town, if you ask the management will pick you up on your return. The food was of a good quality and the bar prices very good. My son a notoriously difficult eater enjoyed the food and on a couple of occasions the menu was altered to suit him and he ate foods that we could not get him to eat at home. We would stay at this hotel again when we next come to Ischia and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisG282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed a week at this hotel, and still have the feeling that there is something quite magical about it. Maybe its the views, maybe its the owners, or maybe we stayed too long in the thermal pool! The rooms are basic but spotless. Ours was one of only four rooms that look out over the town and harbour, the remainder face other buildings. But all rooms seem to have balconies or patios and there is plenty of room to sun bathe - there is a large terrace around the pool, plus more terracing in front of the bar and restaurant, and loads of good quality sun-loungers. Some of the hotels on Ischia can be a bit on the snooty side, but the family who own and personally staff this hotel were always friendly and helpful.

We were on a bed and breakfast basis. There is ample choice in the buffet breakfast, but don't expect full English! We had a 3 course evening meal on a couple of nights, paid the 15 euros extra. The food was homely but well presented.

The hotel is within easy walking distance down hill to the town, but the trip back isn't quite as easy - there are 138 steps from the pavement up to the hotel, either that or risk being hit by a car on the more gradual hill where there are no pavements. The hotel has lots of steps within it, so it is not ideal for anyone with mobility problems.

If I go back to Ischia - this hotel would be my first choice.

Room Tip: Rooms 129 and 130 face out over the town and port and have french doors opening out onto small patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
1.7 mi away
Don Felipe
Don Felipe
#35 of 70 in Ischia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Capannina
Hotel La Capannina
#13 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rivamare
Hotel Rivamare
#5 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Internazionale Ischia
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#3 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Annabelle
Hotel Annabelle
#16 of 70 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Pedro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Pedro Hotel

Property: Don Pedro Hotel
Address: Via Quercia 57, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Pedro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Don Pedro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Pedro Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing