We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Il Monastero
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the Albergo il Monastero and hope to return some day. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone, but must disclose that it may not be equally appreciated by those seeking 5-star-luxury and "frills." I appreciate the simplicity, beauty and efficiency of this hotel. You can trust the photos and information on the website. I emailed questions before booking and the staff always responded quickly.

The staff here is amazing: friendly, informative and always present. They speak perfect English, which was helpful on a number of occasions. We stayed in a double standard room for only one night. I wish we stayed longer! The room was small and simple - no frills - but comfortable. LOTS of storage and a good sized bed. The AC was tricky to figure out, but once we figured it out - it worked perfectly. The room had direct access to a shared balcony/patio with an AMAZING view of Ischia. This patio had plenty of seating for each room, and served as the "dining room" for the restaurant in the evening. It was a perfect place for dinner and drinks before, and also had wifi for guests. The front desk was also conveniently located by an entrance to the same patio, so it was always easy to find staff. The bathroom was also simply small but functional. Like many bathrooms in hotels in Italy, the shower was not separated from other areas (toilet/sink/bidet) of the bathroom, but did have a curtain if you chose to use it. I wish I had asked to see the other rooms, as I think they have "superior" rooms that may be a bit more "luxurious."

The restaurant was fantastic! I highly recommend eating here one night at least. It's not cheap, but reasonable, and the view, food, wine and service were perfect. The waiter made a small mistake at dinner service (a "lost in translation" moment that was probably my fault), and he apologized repeatedly - unnecessary, but appreciated.

Breakfast was also very good: yogurt, cereal, juices, bread, meats, cheeses, cakes, jams, nutella, etc.

The taxi from the Ischia port to the Castello was about 15 minutes and 15 Euros. The area around the Castello was nice for walking and shops and restaurants nearby were good. Taxis were always conveniently parked outside (as close as they can get) to the hotel. Although we didn't use them, the buses also seemed to run consistently and conveniently nearby.

Keep in mind that this hotel is IN the Castello and conveniently connected to the "museum." You will need to pay the museum entrance fee to explore the entire site. The grounds, history, and views are well-worth the time and euros.

The stairs: Yes, there are quite a few, but from the reviews I expected many more. Unless you are an elderly, injured, or handicapped you should not let the steps deter you. The general public will be fine. There is an elevator that takes you most of the way up, and they will take your bags to your room for you. We carried our own with little problem.

Overall, this is a wonderfully unique and highly recommended place to stay when visiting Ischia!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuniete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    55
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
214
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peaks Island, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We spent our last night on Ischia here in the Albergo Monastero and all I can say it is one very special place. It was hard not to spend all the time looking out of the window to the Ponte below as the gulls soared by. The staff was very accommodating and called a taxi for our departure which was awaiting us at the Monastero end of the causeway. Yes, there are stairs to climb and than goodness for the elevator to get you to the Albergo but if we in our late 60's can do with bad knees anyone can. Be sure to plan time to explore the island and all it's treasures.....entrance tickets for that are bought at the casa sole at a discounted rate if you are guests at the Albergo. Oh, they have staff that carry your luggage from the main gate level by the elevator all the way up to your room and the reverse when departing...thank goodness. If you can a must stay place on Ischia.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sealights99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We have been enjoying 2 nights in this Albergo Il Monastero during our honeymoon.

The staff is very friendly, helpful and perfectly English speaking. As we were the only guests who booked a superior room, they showed us the 3 superior rooms so we could choose ourselves. We stayed with our initial choice for room number 8. This spacious and bright room has a superb sea view and has a balcony (only sun in the afternoon). The bathroom is private but outside the room a few steps up, but that was no issue for us.

The breakfast buffet was good, but unfortunately only served inside the breakfast room and not on the terrace.

We took our car with us to the island and parked it on parking Miramare (just before the historic center, turn left). You need to mention you stay at Albergo Il Monastero, so you get the special rate of 5 euro/day.

Having the car on the island was useful during the rainy day, but next time we leave the car in Napoli. For the car you pay 50 euro to take the boat one way, which is more than renting a scooter or a car on the island.

Room Tip: Room number 8 is recently renovated, is spacious and has a balcony. Bathroom is outside the room few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Lucky enough to have had a meal here.. Truly Stunning, Location, Location, Location!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inspector I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The island of Ischia is my dream place. Went there as part of our honeymoon, and it was amazing!
The hotell is an old monastary on a cliff, and the views are spectacular! The rooms are just big enough, and the stone balcony were the perfect place to start the evening with Limoncello. We took the offer of a 5 course meal at the hotel restaurant, and it was one of the best meal we had the hole trip ( 18 days naples, capri, ischia and Amalfi)
There is no other place to stay in Ischia!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irzet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This exclusive hotel, an ancient monastery, converted into a hotel is located on the so-called ‘Rocca Aragonese’, a small rocky island linked to the main island by a bridge. This is the real 'centro storico' of Ischia, with an amazing concentration of beauty and history, including the Aragonese castle.
A wonderful and quiet setting, especially when the crowds have gone at night (the island is private property!), yet at walking distance from the town centre with its many bars and restaurants. And moreover: the hotel has a very good restaurant, 'food with a view' !

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheItalyWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This room actually has a private balcony and is very high up in the sky !
This is of course a castle , and a large one with alot of history !!
Not for the faint hearted who do not want to climb steps.
So to get here you arrive at the castle entrance...after walking a 2 minute promenade
to the castle. The steps are not too bad , but then you do need to walk through a long
stone castle alley to the elevator, which is a necessity ! It takes you up, up , and away
through the castle rock, and then you ariive to more steps !! Another 3 flights or so...
then more steps, as you enter the private buzzer door to get to the hotel rooms.
3 more flights and you are finally there !! But high up , and views are magnificent !!
It is worth it, if you do not mind the steps. I did not mind at all,..it was well worth it !
Breakfast is another panoramic take your breath away view...just amzing to be up so
high in a castle !! Breakfast very good quality. Coffee, juice, good cakes..
and good cheese. A resident seagull watches over you on the castle wall here.
He is always here.
In afternoon a que forms to get the elevator, as this actually is open to daytrippers
all day, as this is a major sight. But staying here at night you do feel like you live here.
The nuns area is amazing, so much to see here at the castle. the cafe here has
also exquisite views too. Every place you turn is another castle room with more views,
you could easily get lost here.
Room 21 is the only one with this balcony, but other rooms also have the views.
.. breathtaking views, and great food. The walk out of the castle again is all water views. Very well worth the cost to have a castle experience in Ischia.
Room does have air cond, and comfortable bed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiantiConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
1.4 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#3 of 70 in Ischia
407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 70 in Ischia
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
2.0 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Monastero

Property: Albergo Il Monastero
Address: Castello Aragonese, 80070, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Il Monastero 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Il Monastero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Il Monastero Ischia
Albergo Il Monastero Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing