We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most incredible place I have ever stayed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Il Monastero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Il Monastero
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most incredible place I have ever stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Staying at Il Monastero has to be one of the loveliest experiences I have ever had. I went with my husband on our honeymoon, and from being greeted to saying goodbye the staff made us feel so welcome and were extremely friendly and very polite. Nothing was too much trouble, and Giulio took so much time to tell us where things were on the island and how to use the local bus service (which we got used to in the end)! Thank you so much, Giulio, and all the staff, for making our stay so special and being so wonderful.
The location is absolutely breathtaking and so beautiful. I couldn't believe that we were actually staying in a castle!! I'd spent a long time looking at pictures of it all on their website, but when I actually got there it was even more overwhelming. The views are incredible, and being able to dine in the restaurant and have breakfast in the same part of the terrace every morning was amazing to say the least. The food was absolutely delicious. We had two meals in the restaurant - saving one as our 'final meal of our stay' dinner as it was such a special place. The chef is wonderful, and the dishes beautifully prepared. The breakfast was lovely as well - try the Breakfast Cake - it's amazing! The waiters are so helpful and polite, and very discreet - and were very encouraging and patient even when I was trying out my bad italian!
The castle is filled with so much history, it is an absolute joy to spend an afternoon - or a whole day - wandering around, and knowing that you're staying there makes it even more special. The room we stayed in had a french window leading out onto the terrace, and was very peaceful - we couldn't hear any noise from the restaurant at night. It was wonderful being able to walk out of our room onto the terrace in the morning for breakfast as it was very beautiful and very handy! Our room was spotlessly clean, had a very efficient air con unit and was tastefully presented - it would have felt wrong to have had any other style in such a historic place. It has been pointed out that the rooms aren't equipped with TVs, or any UK-style extras, however, when the location is as beautiful as it is and there being so much to do on the island I'm not sure why you'd really want to watch TV, and we really didn't miss anything at all. Ischia is nicknamed 'The Green Island', and with all of the boat trips and exploring we did, it was easy to see how it got this moniker.
It truly is an escape from everything. The hotel is so peaceful and calm, and the island itself is stunning. If you want to relax and get away from everything in a breathtakingly beautiful, unique hotel then I can't think of anywhere better.

ps - watch out for the cheeky seagull - he's curious, but loveable!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyMAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    53
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
200
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

If you are looking for a unique experience, this is it. Over 100 metres above the sea (a lift/elevator is provided!), the Castello offers magnificent vistas across the Bay of Nalples & Ischia.If you want 'the beach ' go elswhere.
We spent 5 nights here in April in the splendidly spacious Room 8.This room has its own private balcony complete with a friendly seagull!, glorious views & a precipitous drop of well over 100metres.
The food was & service were excellent in every respect & the proprietor Giulio couldn't have been more helpfull.I was last here as a sunburned schoolboy, in shorts & sandals in 1959, no lift or running water in those days. It was magic then & it still is.

Room Tip: Room 8 is spacious & cool , with really unforgetable vistas. The bathroom is slightly inconvenie...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MARK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

One of my best holidays ever, and this is mostly due to this hotel... Just perfect: quiet, full of atmosphere, zen... The staff was very attentive and kind (grazie a Giulio e Roberto), dinner was very refined, with breathtaking view of sunset on the sea and the island... As someone else said: close to heaven... I hope to go back

Room Tip: the two highest floors have a view on the see, the lowest level doesn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsabelandCarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This little hotel is on the top of the castle. We didn't stay here but we visited and had some lunch in the little restaurant ... the setting is amazing and it was immaculately kept .. We had a caprese salad some a glass of house wine (with a difference as it was from the Castle's own vineyard). Really beautiful place ... we will stay in the future if we have the opportunity!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Yes you are in a Monastery and very close to Heaven. The view of the city at sunset is going to stay with you the rest of your life, and the view from the city back to your hotel perched up on the side of the cliff is one you will show all of your friends. The staff was very helpful and very eager to make sure that you felt like the most important guest they have ever had in the hotel. The restaurant is very small and feels almost like your own private dining room, the food was excellent both for breakfast and for dinner. You need to stay here at least once in your lifetime!

Room Tip: The rooms are all unique, small in size but perfect for an ancient castle and monastery on a rock is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idahotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

This was our second time staying at Albergo Il Monastero and booked room #8 this time (last time we booked #9). Room #8 is the largest room at the hotel with a huge terrace overlooking Ischia Ponte and the sea. When we walked into the room we were so excited! The bed was incredibly comfortable with crisp white sheets and soft pillows. There was a love seat where we could relax after a day sightseeing too. Even though the bathroom is outside the room up a small flight of steps, we did not find this to be a problem. There is also a small sink behind a hidden cupboard which was very convenient. We enjoyed watching fireworks every night on our terrace along with our take away pizza, dolce, and wine.

What made our stay even better was the graciousness and ultimate hospitality of the manager Giulio. His kindness every day of our three night stay was just wonderful. Truly all of the staff at the hotel are top notch and go out of there way to ensure the best possible stay for their guests.

Breakfast every morning was plentiful and delicious and was served in the dining room- we were the first to arrive every morning and had the perfect table overlooking the sea. Breakfast consisted of fresh, whole fruit; warm, homemade bread, preserves, and a variety of other homemade pies and cakes; cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit juices, milk, american coffee, espresso, cappuccino, and hot tea. Last time we stayed in September and breakfast was served on the terrace which is just as nice. Of our 3.5 week stay in Sicily and mainland Italy this trip, the breakfast was the best here.

Giulio arranged for a scooter rental for us one day and WOW what an incredible experience. Having been to Ischia twice now, I can say that the ONLY way to see the island is to rent a scooter. We rode for 12+ hours and saw parts of the island that could never been seen by public transport. We hiked to the top of Mount Epomeo for the most amazing views, soaked in the thermal waters at a local beach hidden below by a steep stairway, swam at every beach around the island, and enjoyed delicious food along the way. Just an incredible day :)

We spent the only rainy day of our vacation at Negombo spa. It poured all day long but was okay since we were soaking in the water anyway. Plus, there was only a handful of people there so we could not complain about that! Going to Negombo is always a relaxing treat for us and a must do for anyone who enjoys feeling rejuvenated and having their aches washed away. For 27E a person (3E discount by staying at the hotel) it is one of the best deals on the island.

Overall, our stay at Albergo Il Monastero was just perfect. We look forward to coming back to one of the most beautiful islands in Italy and staying at the best place in all of Ischia.

Grazie ancora per tutto Giulio!

Room Tip: Book room #8, the biggest room with the biggest terrace! It is wonderful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingThruEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the Albergo il Monastero and hope to return some day. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone, but must disclose that it may not be equally appreciated by those seeking 5-star-luxury and "frills." I appreciate the simplicity, beauty and efficiency of this hotel. You can trust the photos and information on the website. I emailed questions before booking and the staff always responded quickly.

The staff here is amazing: friendly, informative and always present. They speak perfect English, which was helpful on a number of occasions. We stayed in a double standard room for only one night. I wish we stayed longer! The room was small and simple - no frills - but comfortable. LOTS of storage and a good sized bed. The AC was tricky to figure out, but once we figured it out - it worked perfectly. The room had direct access to a shared balcony/patio with an AMAZING view of Ischia. This patio had plenty of seating for each room, and served as the "dining room" for the restaurant in the evening. It was a perfect place for dinner and drinks before, and also had wifi for guests. The front desk was also conveniently located by an entrance to the same patio, so it was always easy to find staff. The bathroom was also simply small but functional. Like many bathrooms in hotels in Italy, the shower was not separated from other areas (toilet/sink/bidet) of the bathroom, but did have a curtain if you chose to use it. I wish I had asked to see the other rooms, as I think they have "superior" rooms that may be a bit more "luxurious."

The restaurant was fantastic! I highly recommend eating here one night at least. It's not cheap, but reasonable, and the view, food, wine and service were perfect. The waiter made a small mistake at dinner service (a "lost in translation" moment that was probably my fault), and he apologized repeatedly - unnecessary, but appreciated.

Breakfast was also very good: yogurt, cereal, juices, bread, meats, cheeses, cakes, jams, nutella, etc.

The taxi from the Ischia port to the Castello was about 15 minutes and 15 Euros. The area around the Castello was nice for walking and shops and restaurants nearby were good. Taxis were always conveniently parked outside (as close as they can get) to the hotel. Although we didn't use them, the buses also seemed to run consistently and conveniently nearby.

Keep in mind that this hotel is IN the Castello and conveniently connected to the "museum." You will need to pay the museum entrance fee to explore the entire site. The grounds, history, and views are well-worth the time and euros.

The stairs: Yes, there are quite a few, but from the reviews I expected many more. Unless you are an elderly, injured, or handicapped you should not let the steps deter you. The general public will be fine. There is an elevator that takes you most of the way up, and they will take your bags to your room for you. We carried our own with little problem.

Overall, this is a wonderfully unique and highly recommended place to stay when visiting Ischia!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuniete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
1.4 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#6 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino
0.5 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rivamare
Hotel Rivamare
#3 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Monastero

Property: Albergo Il Monastero
Address: Castello Aragonese, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Il Monastero 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Il Monastero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Il Monastero Ischia
Albergo Il Monastero Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing