We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Il Monastero
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed on our honeymoon, it was brilliant, the castle is straight out of an adventure novel...think The Count of Monte Cristo!

Very helpful staff, nice breakfast, and fantastic views, and we loved the electric bikes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    55
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
202
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We spent several nights there in summer. The place is overwhelming, inside the castle/fortress called Castello Aragonese. It's a bit weird that to get there you have to take a lift next to the ticket office to enter the castle, and then you feel a bit disoriented until you find the main door, but... surprise! Incredible views, absolutely relaxing, and the best is at night when the castle closes its doors and only the people in the hotel stay there. The rooms are modest (small bathroom), lack of forniture, but this should keep you away from enjoying the place. Perfect for a honeymoon or a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JorgeDo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Everything about this hotel is remarkable. The hotel itself is housed in what used to be a nunnery, which is located within a remarkable castle attached to the main island by a man-made bridge. The castle is large and fascinating to explore. It feels like a true privilege to have the opportunity to stay here.

The hotel itself is stylish and very well run, with a beautiful breakfast / dinner terrace that offers lovely views of the island. The rooms are purposefully simple - classy and stylish. The staff are very professional, knowledgeable, and helpful.

Il Monastero makes for the perfect base to enjoy Ischia. I did not eat at the hotel's restaurant for dinner, but will definitely do so on my next visit. The food is by all reports excellent, and the setting lovely. They also have a pretty separate cafe for lunch. There are some wonderful restaurants and interesting shops nearby at the foot of the castle in Ischia Ponte, and Ischia Porto is a reasonable and lovely walk (especially in the evening when it is cooler). There are beaches nearby and people also swim off the rocks right below the castle on the connecting bridge to the island.

There is a 3 euro discount off of the full day rate at the wonderful thermal baths Negombo for Il Monastero guests. The baths are well worth the visit, and Guilio was happy to arrange a massage for me in advance (which was excellent).

Both my visit to Ischia and my stay at Il Monastero were fantastic, and I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetjet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The hotel was simply wonderful. The location is amazing; Its located on its own island overlooking Ischia. The hotel itself is a renovated monastery that is part of an ancient castle. While staying, you are feel to tour the castle (well, the half of the castle owned by the hotel; you must buy a ticket to tour the other half). The rooms are beautifully renovated. We booked a sea-view room and the view of Ischia and Mediterranean were wonderful.

The staff are also amazing. Gulio ensures that you have everything you need and is very attentive. Additionally, Gulio's English was impeccable. There is constantly someone on duty at the front desk to handle any request. The wait staff in the restaurant were very professional and spoke English very well.

If you go, I would recommend the half board because the hotel restaurant is amazing. The smoked buffalo mozarella is incredible as was everything else. Our first night, we were the only guests eating at the hotel and it was like having a private chef.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a wonderful evening here, it's perfect. The staff, the building, the food, the view are all just amazing. Guilo is the perfect host and so helpful I would recommend his hotel to everyone and I have since returning home.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

From the moment we first made contact with Giulio at Albergo Il Monastero we knew that this would be a truly memorable stay. We enjoyed five nights in a beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the bridge and waterfront of the town. Giulio was the perfect host, nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was excellent with beautiful produce from their own organic garden and we were assisted to find some lovely local wines to enjoy. We had many highlights one of which was seeing perigee moon rise over the castello. The most special was reaffirming our wedding vows in the beautiful Chiesa dello Spiritu Santo which was kindly arranged by Giuilo - he even came to the church with us and took photos x That is service x

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marion4john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Six of us went to dinner at the top of this 14th century castle which sits on a private island (sold to a lawyer in 1911 by the Italian government and still in the family apparently) and is absolutely stunning.

The restaurant was small (30 seats?) and we had the place to ourselves b/c there was also an annual film festival going on which we did not know about (next year we go to film and then late dinner perhaps).

After dinner the hotel manager Guilio showed us around, including a big "vegetable garden in the sky" with the world's tastiest cherry tomatoes (get the bruschetta) and then showed us a 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment that rents for about EUro 350 per night. Seems like a great deal, with breakfast included and dinner optional (lunch you have in the adjacent town or on a beach or boat)

Service was good and friendly too

Room Tip: the big apartment is almost too large, but with amazing old terraces off each bedroom so I think wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
1.4 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#3 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino Beach Resort & SPA
0.5 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rivamare
Hotel Rivamare
#4 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Monastero

Property: Albergo Il Monastero
Address: Castello Aragonese, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Il Monastero 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Il Monastero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Il Monastero Ischia
Albergo Il Monastero Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing