We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place and wonderful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Il Monastero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Il Monastero
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Amazing views in an historic location this is an amazing place to stay with staff who are friendly and very helpful.
I stayed at the hotel for two nights and found it delightful. You take the number 7 bus from the port and get off at the stop for the castle and then walk about 10 minutes. At the castle there is a lift that takes you 90% of the way up to the castle (not for the claustrophobic) the lady at the gate arranged for my bag to be delivered to my room. My room was simple but artistically decorated. I stayed in a single room that had a very firm mattress, however, I slept very well as there is great serenity and tranquility. The bathroom was simply appointed but again very charming. The views are magnificent. Breakfast is served in the restaurant area which has amazing views of the sea and the island's coastline. The restaurant is great, dinner was delicious and breakfast was simple but very nice.
I feel I must give special mention to the hotel staff who really made my stay special, I was not feeling well on Sunday night but needed to eat and did not realise the restaurant was closed, they specially cooked me some pasta and served it in the restaurant complete with music and a candle. They are great hosts and very friendly. This is a very beautiful place to stay.
Tip: best thing to do on the island is visit Negombo thermal park, it's awesome and has the best beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    53
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
199
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

There's no better place to stay on the island of Ischia than Il Monastero. The ancient castle, on its own private islet accessed by a pedestrian walkway, houses at its top this beautiful, modern small hotel. Views of the Bay and the island of Ischia from the large patio are extraordinary, and the staff truly cares about the satisfaction and comfort of every guest. Giulio is beyond helpful, and even provided for us a list of restaurants in other parts of southern Italy that we planned to visit after leaving the islands. He and Joseph were always available and eager to answer questions and offer suggestions. Staying in this castle was a unique and wonderful experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the Albergo for three nights in September. Its a wonderful location...across a pedestrian causeway from Porto Ischia, high up with a wonderful view back to the island. I agree with other reviewers...getting the baggage up the stairs after the elevator was a bit tough. But once you get there, its wonderful. The views are great. The staff was just great as well. They were very helpful lining up activities for us (including renting a Vespa for two days...what a great way to get around). The food was extremely good....we ate dinner there all three nights...wonderful dining room.

The common areas were really nicely done. If I have one criticism, it is that the room we had (Number 9) was not up to the excellent level of the rest of the hotel. The bed was not great and the bathroom and shower average.

But overall, a really great (and interesting) place to stay.

Ischia itself is very nice...a lower key alternative to Capri.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASeattleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

In our search for places to visit and stay on Ischia, my wife came across Il Monastero and fell in love. We booked two nights, reserving our third night on the island for a hotel in Forio. As we were taking a car on the island, we were told to park in a commercial lot near the Albergo; there was a special price for hotel guests. Arrival on the island was easy, we did not get lost, and when we arrived at the parking lot the two ladies running the place were delightful. All went as smoothly as you could ever want. We did have a bit of a schlep to get to the hotel, but we were prepared for this, with wheeled luggage. (in Italy, especially when booking hotels in the Centro Storico of a city, be prepared to walk some distance from the parking to the hotel!)

We arrived at the base of the little mountain upon which the hotel is perched and took the elevator up. The peace and quiet, sense of calm of the place fully fitted it's monastic past! Check in was a breeze, the staff very helpful, cheerful and kind. Our room had a great view over the village of Ischia Ponte. It was, indeed, small. The shower area smaller. But it was impeccably clean, very quiet, and, in a word, perfect.

As we had two dinners before moving to Forio, we elected to have one dinner in town and the second at the Albergo. The staff recommended an excellent restaurant on the main street, Da Ciccio, and made a reservation for us. Good thing, too, as there was a religious festival in town and the place was packed! Both dinners were spectacularly good. The Albergo serves aperitivo on the terrace and there is a second place which is open to the public and serves light snacks and drinks. All very civilized, and great to be able to observe the goings on down in the village and on the water, from up on high.

Just to make things really special, the town was celebrating their patron saint. Every evening there were activities in town and at midnight, fireworks which we could observe straight out our window or from the terrace!

The day after our arrival, we decided to rent electric bicycles for the day, and tour the island. This was arranged directly from the hotel. To our surprise, the rental place was the parking lot where we left our car. We got to interact with the ladies managing the lot and the bicycles. They were great! It is possible to tour the entire island in one day on these electric bikes. We were a bit concerned about the traffic, but after a few minutes we got used to it and it went smoothly. I recommend this way of getting around, because when you decide you want to stop and visit something, or grab a coffee or lunch, you never have to worry about parking your car! And it really is a small enough island to tour completely by electric bike. If we were to return, we would definitely rent them again.

Now, if the Albergo could figure out a way to add a nice swimming pool, that would be absolutely out of this world!

All in all, nothing but good memories of Il Monastero and Ischia!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watlington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Location unbelievable. Given own key for coming home after castle gates shut so atmospheric ride up in lift and walk through castle to hotel in attached nunnery. Stunning views over town below and mountains. Night we were there spectacular lightening storm over mountains but guess that is not always an option! Staff a delight, rooms simply but tastefully furnished. Up market meal in evening and probably not more expensive than meal following night in restaurant below and better. Best breakfast of holiday with warm fresh baked cakes as well as usual options of cereal, bread, meat cheese, jam etc but all top quality. Set out on terrace overlooking view. The castle itself a fascinating visit. Only sadness is to reflect on the miserable and creepy lives of the nuns who lived there before but will leave you to discover the details.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

You wouldn't think a hotel that is in such plain sight could feel like such a nice hideaway but Il Monastero manages this. Excellent service with superb staff made this one of the best e experiences on our recent Italy trip.

Please make sure to visit the restaurant in the hotel rather than hitting the resultant nearby - a true gem.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielmarcevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Well the location is magnificent to say the least. And the staff is fantastic. The rooms are just fine. And I can't believe how reasonable it is. If you go to Ischia you'd be nuts not to stay here. The restaurant is also quite good. And you can swim right there in the Mediterranean

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nonobanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
1.4 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#4 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino
0.5 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rivamare
Hotel Rivamare
#5 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Il Monastero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Monastero

Property: Albergo Il Monastero
Address: Castello Aragonese, 80070 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Il Monastero 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Il Monastero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Il Monastero Ischia
Albergo Il Monastero Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing