We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peppino's studio room and thermal pools”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence Baia di Sorgeto
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peppino's studio room and thermal pools”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Peppino's place is a very special holiday resort and Peppino is a fantastic host with a genuine and warm smile of welcome. He and his wife are so enthusiastic about Ischia, the benefits of their thermal pools and always available for help or a friendly chat. It's the sort of place you would like to keep a secret, but obviously can't. It's away from the tourist crowds, is authentic Italian without affectation. It's situated just a 15 minute walk to the nearest village where you can buy fresh local fruit and vegetables, local wines and other necessities. The hot thermal pool and spa are wonderful. It is a little out of the way but there is an excellent bus service to all other parts of the island. Peppino and his family made our stay on an. Italian island all and more that we could have dreamed about. Thank you Peppino and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynsal2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    117
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
84
168
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Me and my friend stayed here for a week (mid May). We got a lovely room with the view of the sea and the first thing we did was to go and have a dip in a thermal water pool that we really enjoyed. Peppino was always there to answer any questions,give us suggestions,book trips and taxis which was a great help.
I would strongly recommend a restaurant/pizzeria in Panza called "Il Ritrovo". You can find it near the bus stop as you cross the road after walking up the hill from Bia di Sorgeto. The food there was excellent, especially the spit roasted chicken (is to die for). Desserts were also amazing. All for very reasonable prices.
Also I would recommend visiting gardens "Giardini La Mortella". There is a lot to see... plus you get a nice view of Forio. We really enjoyed it and aslo take a boat trip round Ischia as you get to see the whole island plus you get to stop in St. Angelo where you can get the best icecream and sip a glass of prosecco taking in all that gorgeous vista around you.
Very important! When you go down to Bia di Sorgeto down the hundreds of steps to the sea with thermal water pools please do be very careful as it is extremly slippery and nobody is going to warn you about that plus the water can be very hot, even boiling! I managed to break my toe down there as I was stopping myself from falling. So do be very careful!
All in all we had a lovely holiday and we would recommend it to anyone. Residence Baia di Sorgeto is a great place to stay and excellent value for money. Thank you Peppino for all your help. You were wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Vero M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London - UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in the Middle of May.
It was a lovely experience. Peppino is a wonderful host, and very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area, with some great recommendations.
It was very relaxing and a great way to end our trip.
Thanks again Peppino

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpjroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. After running around and touring Italy for two weeks, it was perfect to end our trip in Ischia at Peppino's B&B. We loved the indoor hot tub and outdoor pool which contained water straight from the volcano and which supposedly has magical healing properties. The location is really great, just a few minutes walk to Baia Sorgeto, the natural hot spring by the sea (don't forget to make yourself a mud mask with the mineral rocks!), and a great restaurant Gazelle that Peppino recommend to us. Mt. Epomeo is a great place to hike, which can be accessed by bus. Sant'Angelo was a very cute town to explore, and was a 20-30 minute walk away.
Peppino was the greatest and was the most personable host we've ever met. He has so much knowledge of the island and has great suggestions regarding what beaches to go to and what hikes to do. He always went out of his way to make sure we were having a good stay and even gave us an Ischia guidebook upon our arrival so we can get more familiar with the island.
Overall a really relaxing visit, and great stay due to the wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aclin90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Last September we spent a blissful week at Residence Baia Sorgeto in Ischia.
The Residence belongs to Peppino and his wife and it is built over a hot spring
where Peppino has installed both an indoor and outdoor pool. This gives guests
direct access to the therapeutic properties of the undiluted mineral water which Peppino
filters naturally keeping the water chemical free. A recuperative swim in the pool and a relax on the peaceful terrace surrounded by the beautiful vista of the mountains became a daily ritual.
A short walk down the hill takes you to the Bay of Sorgeto where there are more hot springs in the sea. A 15 minute walk up the hill takes you to the village of Panza which is an archetypal Mediterranean village complete with cobbled square, a Church at each end, the welcoming Bar Michel and a miscellany of useful shops where you can get all you need and more in the way of provisions. There are numerous restaurants to eat in and the Hotels in the area welcome non residents for dining. In Panza you can also catch the bus that goes round the Island in both directions and anywhere on the Island can be reached within an hour or so. If you want beautiful beaches with golden sand and clear seas you will be spoilt for choice. We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 301Norah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were most warmly welcomed by the lovely owner couple, who always took an interest in us and how we were. They were most helpful and accommodating. The location was beautiful the thermal pools were excellent. We were close to the sea (approx 7-8mins) and 800m from the village. The room was basic but adequate for our needs and had a lovely balcony. The island is mountainous green and beautiful, and we would definitely recommend it and would like to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

A wonderful place. I planned to stay for a month in April but didn’t leave until June! I went for the hot springs and was fortunate to choose this place as my base. Peppino and Rosa Thea are wonderful hosts – genuinely nice and always on hand with recommendations for things to do and stories about the island & its many famous visitors over the years. Margot the dog is a character as well.
The north of the island has more going on but I found this area more authentic, friendlier and better value.
The hot springs in the Bay of Sorgeto are 10 minutes walk away (you should try and turn up around midtide for optimum water temperature as the thermal water comes out hot and the sea cools it down so you want to time it a bit strategically). Sant’Angelo is a nice walk away through vineyards and cobbled streets. A tip if you want to catch the bus is to take the shortcut halfway to Sant’Angelo and get the bus from the stop in Succhivo – a bit less uphill and more chance of getting a seat before the crowds get on in Panza (tip: you can’t buy bus tickets everywhere so get a few in advance).
The hotel pool is amazing. No chlorine so the water is an amazing natural green colour. Peppino adds fresh thermal water a few times each day so go swimming when the hot water ‘tap’ is on!
da Gisella is a good restaurant nearby with a big balcony overlooking the Bay of Sorgeto. Most dishes seemed designed to feed 2 so order carefully. You can walk there from around the back of the hotel through vineyards which is particularly nice. And a couple of places opposite the residence sell wine and limoncello from grapes and lemons grown right there – convenient, cheap and so local!
Highly recommended. I can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms in the main building. The outer rooms around the courtyard have more space so are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biffchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ischia
0.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
Hotel Residence Sant'Angelo
#1 of 15 in Sant'Angelo
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punta Chiarito Resort Hotel Ristorante
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Torre Sant'Angelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Internazionale Ischia
4.1 mi away
Hotel La Capannina
Hotel La Capannina
#16 of 70 in Ischia
174 reviews
4.3 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Baia di Sorgeto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Baia di Sorgeto

Property: Residence Baia di Sorgeto
Address: Via Fumerie 29 | Panza/Forio, 80070, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ischia self-catering Apartments BAIA DI SORGETO, open the whole year, is situated amongst the lush green vineyards of Forio in Ischia. Our thermal pool, whose temperature varies between 32C to 36C, is refilled each morning with pure, natural hot thermal waters. These waters flow directly from the salty, sulphurous underground springs that, at their depth of 105 metres, heat naturally at 81C. The waters in the pool have therapeutic properties, which are reputed to assist in the cure of arthritis. In addition, the waters aid circulation and help maintain muscle tone as well as stimulate the skin. Sorgeto Bay is rich in hot thermal springs in the Mediterranean Sea where one can bathe in the sea, even in Winter. In some places, the sea is so hot that it would be possible to boil eggs and potatoes. And more: if a turfacean stone is scratched, a mud can be obtained which can be used for making a beauty musk for the face. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Residence Baia di Sorgeto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing