We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“potential missed”
Review of Pagoda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pagoda Hotel
Ranked #45 of 70 Hotels in Ischia
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“potential missed”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Here is a Hotel which offers so much. It's location is superb, the pool divine.
Its rooms although basic are clean and I had a good nights sleep.
It is, however, let down by its lack of service and breakfast.
To show someone to their rooms does not cost any extra but we were left to wander up and down stairs and along corridors (Not a simple lay out of rooms). Once we were in our rooms we were pleased to get what we got for the money, although both me and my friend would have paid a little more to have updated rooms. We were only booked for one night so it was adequate for a short stay, any longer and a more up to date room would be more comfortable.
My main gripe with the Hotel is the service. We sat at an outside table just outside the bar area and it was 20 minutes before their Lunch service opened. We may have taken a look at their Menu and eaten there after a long mornings journey, however after being told that we had to go get our own drinks from the bar we decided to take our custom elsewhere. I think that the problem is that all drinks and food have to be signed for, being adde to the room bill. I guess that this means that the staff don't get many cash tips which reflects in their willingness to help.
Breakfast was also a disappointment, could have been so much better with a little more thought.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 118John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    155
    92
    49
    47
See reviews for
66
256
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I can't express how much i loved this hotel. I came here with my mom in early July, we were set on staying in Capri ,but opted for Ischia after doing some research and looking at prices. The pictures don't do this hotel justice. The hotel is quietly situated close to the port where the ships come in from Naples, very easy to find. The rooms are awesome, just a standard room, but clean, safe, and cute. The hotel has a great continental breakfast (they even made us cappuccinos and lattes free of charge) and the restaurant in the hotel is awesome and reasonably priced. But the best thing about this hotel is the view and access to the beach, it is paradise! The hotel has a small private beach (w/ staff to get your chairs,etc) you can do snorkeling, swimming,lay out, whatever. There is also a pool looking over the beach and two hot tubs looking over the ocean, it is just amazingly gorgeous! The only mistake we made here was leaving the hotel one day to go to Capri (we could have just stayed at the hotel and had a much better view/day) the hotel is close to a bunch of really great restaurants right on the water too. It's paradise.

Room Tip: You don't need a room with a view, the whole hotel has an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed for 5 days, we might as well have booked self accommodation, no help with our bags when we arrived and reception may as well grunted to us when we arrived. On our 01st night we went to the restaurant just for a drink and when we asked the waiter for a drink only we were told to get it ourselves as we were not eating. Breakfast was appalling and served in an overheated dingy room. Staff never once said hello, good morning or good evening. When i asked for an iron which i would think is a pretty standard request i was told they had none and the hairdryer in the room was something from the 1950's. Rooms were pretty basic however they were clean and the view from the hotel is beautiful. Overall is has great views and has very easy access to the ferry and port but that is about it, dont go if you want any sort of luxury or assistance as the staff have no interest in you only your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ischia hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The hotel was very easy to get to after getting off of the ferry at Ischia Porto - we walked to it with our bags. A little difficult to find at first, because it is a bit hidden from the road, but once you walk through the gate and through the lush plants, you find an amazing view. The hotel does have a staircase down to the water but no real "beach front." The pool was great, and relaxing in the lounge chairs or sitting at the outdoor tables while the sun sets was wonderful.

The rooms, however did not really compare to the gorgeous outside. (Our rooms were up outdoor stairs and it was difficult to get our bags up, and no one offered to help, so be prepared or better yet, pack light.) There was a weird bug on the floor of our room when we first entered, which can happen anywhere and I can't fault the hotel for this, but it did skeeve me out. The hotel room was extremely basic, the bathroom small and outdated, and though it wasn't dirty, it did feel kind of stale. If you are used to luxurious 4+ star hotels, these rooms will disappoint you. If you like to find the best budget options in Europe, this room will be satisfactory enough. The mini fridge in the room was great, and AC worked well.

The waiter was so nice and we did eat dinner one night and enjoyed it, we had absolutely no complaints. Breakfast had various and typical items: yogurt, bread, croissants, coffee, tea.

We were able to walk to the main roads in the evening and really enjoyed our stay, overall. I think this place would be perfect if they could just step up the inside and refurbish the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cocobean30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I think another review said location wasn't great. I totally disagree. Its great to be able to avoid taxis, getting of the boat and just walking straight here. There is such a great variety of places to eat within a pleasant 5-10 min stroll around the harbour. And the view of the sea is idyllic. Also its at the right end of the harbour for busses too, so is well connected.

I loved the way there are sunbeds placed in several little areas within the complex, not all on top of each other. The caretaker does a great job with the grounds! My room was spotless and a good size.

I found the receptionist helpful. However some of the staff are not friendly. I would definitely stay here again and send friends here. What could be improved upon however is the service and the breakfast, which was not well stocked and was very limited. Also my room had a great small fridge but no table and chairs.

Besides that I was happy and it was perfect for me. Love the sea terrace for swimming!

Room Tip: I would advise against rooms without a little patio, if possible. Its nice to be able to sit out in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank podettski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallastexas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The room was average and the beds were not that comfortable, but we enjoyed our stayed there. We ate several meals at the hotel restaurant and they were all good. We were towards the end of our trip and had been to Ischia before, so we just wanted to relax. The hotel is easy walk to ferries and bus station which makes it ideal for exploring the island. If you are looking for luxe, look elsewhere, if you want a good value with a nice view, this fits the bill.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dallasboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The only good thing is the view period...Arrived about 5 pm on saturday,place was deserted,finally found someone to help...checked in,took our passports to reigister..we finally found our rooms..beds not acceptable..went down to inquire about changing...everyone was GONE.OFFFICE WILD OPEN AND OUR PASSPORTS ON THE COUNTER!!!!!!!no noe to be found..went to police,he did not believe us until he returned with us and found no one...WHAT IS THERE WAS AN EMERGENCY...after a few phone calls by the policeman..the handy man shows up...not very friendly and very rude!!!!the girls at the front desk finally returned..but the person who could make decisions would not come back!!! upgraded us to suites on the top floor.decent rooms..bed a little more comfortable..nothing at all like advertised....had to carry the luggage up around 45 stairs to get to the rooms...no help at all....had to stay one night and cancelled the rest of our stay..was taken to a much nicer hotel by the cab driver on the other side of the port....just a mickey mouse operation at best..there is no excuse for a total lack of regard for the patrons of your establishment...none and to have no staff at all on hand is dangerous...i hope the summer season is better than the off season because this place was pitiful.

Room Tip: find another hotel,beds were uncomfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank augiemyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ulisse
Hotel Ulisse
#3 of 70 in Ischia
416 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Giardino delle Ninfe e La Fenice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 70 in Ischia
1,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 70 in Ischia
1,576 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hermitage & Park Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Hotel

Property: Pagoda Hotel
Address: Via delle Fornaci, 7, 80077, Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pagoda Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pagoda is the only hotel in Ischia Porto with direct access to the sea, 10 steps. The only one which includes in the price beach facilities, swimming pools and a beach umbrella. The Pagoda is located directly on the sea, in a cove between the volcanic rocks typical of the island, surrounded by a blue sea, in a relaxed atmosphere, just a few steps far from the center. Access to the sea, swimming pool, Jacuzzi, restaurant, fitness room and breathtaking views are the main ingredients of our success. The Pagoda offers its guests the opportunity to customize their stay, choose between the Hotel and the Residence. The price includes breakfast and use of the services. At the restaurant you can taste the Mediterranean cuisine, prepared with care and imagination by our chef. Guests can choose from the a la carte or packages of half board and full board. The Pagoda has direct access to the sea, 4, sun loungers and umbrellas, pool with waterfall moisturizing, children pool, 2 Jacuzzis, and free wi fi at restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pagoda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagoda Hotel And Residence
Pagoda Residence Ischia
Pagoda Residence Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing