We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a shame” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ulisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ulisse
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Ischia
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a shame”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is in a good location and the 3rd floor terrace has fabulous views, the breakfast is fresh and plentiful and the pool area is excellent with the snack bar food being of high quality. It's a shame that the women working there uses the pool as a crèche for her children and they take over the shaded area of the bar. The problems arised with the miss management of 2 incidents during our stay. One was when the maid had by accident knocked a plug in the room and exposed the wires, she went and reported it to the Manager who for what ever reason did nothing and this resulted in me getting a nasty electric shock. The second was much worst after my husband reported some money missing from our room the managers response was to send 3 irate maids to our room to challenge us. At no point did myself or my husband accuse any individual. The result of this confrontation left myself and my husband shell shocked. The whole situation was badly handled.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dogwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotti M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Ulisse, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Mr and Mrs DogWash
we have read your comment and appreciate the time you spent to clarify the unpleasant events that occurred during your stay at our hotel.
As matter of fact we recognize that missing spare change of "10-20 Euros " was not handled in the best way. Unfortunately at time of your claim, temporary the family members that are responsible of the shift were not in the hotel, and as consequence the receptionists were handling the matter. In fully believe they were doing the right thing and send the room maids and someone that speaks English to resolve the issue.
Our hotel is a family run hotel and the room maids work for us for over 20 years, and are very emotive and put heart and faith in what they do daily with us. Being so, they trusted to find the money easily and all the situation just a misunderstanding. To confirm that even emptying the trash bags to look for the missed spare change to demonstrate their attitudes. A gesture that alone deserves our appreciation.
Said that and cleared that the situation was handled with stress but the persons concerned have acted humanely to protect themselves from an accusation which is difficult to judge.
So please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience, trust that is so unusual for us to hear Clients claiming about it, but be confident that we are doing the right checking.
On the other issue, we understand your disappointment, however as you can imagine a transformer that suddenly broke need to be unplugged with a certain prevention, being so, our team may have done this for you and the alarm system also prevent problems in this matter, thankfully you did not suffer any consequence.

In faith, we do always our best to satisfy any Customer and hope that apart from those situations, you enjoyed very much the stay.

As a simple genuine gesture , we trusted you appreciate the return with taxi.

We hope you would give us another chance in the future, and in case we will welcome you with unique conditions.

Please accept in the meantime
Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    141
    33
    6
    7
See reviews for
87
160
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Location was spot on, hotel was convenient to everything.. You can see the castle from the roof, amazing view. Both pools were sparkling, loved the 30 degree heated one. Room was great too.. Only downfall, shower is a little cramped.. Can't fault more than that really.. When comparing the quality of the place and the room rate, you sure get a good deal..

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelak195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Ischia was the first our point in Italy and we were charmed by that beautiful island. The small and very friendly hotel Ulisse met all our expectations. Miriam and Tony were always helpful from the time they gave us the kees from our room till the last day of our stay when they called driver, Alberto, who also bacame our friend. Separately our greetings to very nice couple Giovanni and his charming wife Aleksandra, who managed bar and sweeming pools in Ulisse- they became our friends being always open and communicative.Feeling that you live in big family in that hotel and it was so hard to leave them because all become your true friends.I can reccomend the rooms near the swimming pool for families travelling with small children -they are always buisy there and happy.If you go there for romancy, then you can request in advance the room in the main building with view to Aragon castel- what a nice place!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stanovaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The staff at the hotel is wonderful, both at the reception and in the Restaurant: everybody was very nice and welcoming. The breakfast was very good, with good croissants and an enough wide selection of alternatives. The restaurant serves very good italian food for foreigners, but for italians the specialities and the fish dishes could be few, anyway really good for children.
The swimming- pools are really nice, there is a good atmosphere both relaxing for adults and enjoyable for children who can play in the warm pool! The walk to the beach is pleasant (5 minutes). The walk to the city centre was short with shops along the street.
The view of the castle from the roof is fantastic; The room was fine, clean even if not too big. The TV was perfect. The bathroom was large enough, the shower was comfortable. The balcony didn't have a good view but it was perfect for drying things.
we definitely liked this place, also for the excellent price-quality rate
We will come back here if possible and we definitely recommend it

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elena0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

After travelling throughout Italy, we ended our tour "at the beach". What a welcome surprise. The hotel was great. Plenty to eat at the "free" breakfast. Bathroom shower was not what I was used to but it worked OK. Watch your step exiting the shower because it may be very slippery. The view from our balcony was nothing short of spectacular. The Aragon Castle was in the distance and town views were great. No crowds to fight and relaxed atmosphere was very much welcomed. I would go back any day. The cost of the hotel room was more than reasonable for what you got.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This place was great! First of all, you can walk from the port to the hotel. We got a taxi because we didn't know how to get there and the taxi was about 10-15 euros. It's only about a 15-20 minute walk if you know how to get there so I recommend skipping the expensive taxi.

The staff at the hotel were very wonderful and helped us with a few requests (we had a laundry situation at a nearby dry cleaner and needed help with the language). Everybody was very nice and welcoming.

The breakfast was good, the walk to the beach is pleasant (5 minutes), the view of the castle from our balcony was to die for, the pool was amazing...we definitely liked this place. The room and bathroom were small, but we didn't care. Most of the time was spent outside of the room or on our balcony anyway. It was so quiet too - very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMurph40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights recently. We walked from the port with our bags and it is a pleasant walk. I was thrilled to get a room with an amazing view of the Castello Argonese. Our balcony overlooked it. There is a fabulous pool, two of them in actual fact in a really beautiful setting. The beach is about 5 minutes walk and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Free wifi. The only bad point I could make is that the shower in the bathroom doesn't have a floor tray so the water literally goes everywhere! Other than that though, it was perfect and good value. We loved Ischia overall, such charm.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Castello Argonese
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hokeeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ischia hotels
0.7 mi away
Aragona Palace Hotel
Aragona Palace Hotel
#1 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Durrueli
Villa Durrueli
#2 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Punta Molino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Miramare e Castello Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rivamare
Hotel Rivamare
#5 of 58 in Ischia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Querce Terme & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ulisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ulisse

Property: Hotel Ulisse
Address: Via Champault 9, 80077 Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ischia
#6 Family Hotel in Ischia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ulisse 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ulisse is a quiet, family run hotel located 50 metres from the sea, near the historic centre of Ischia Porto. The hotel is within walking distance of most of the main attractions in the area. Additionally, its strategic location is also well served by public transportation. Ischia is filled with attractions including historic sites and thermal spas. The hotel features a variety of services. You can sit back in the lounge area, watch satellite TV, sunbathe on the third and fourth floor sun terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ulisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulisse Hotel Ischia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing