We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
14
29
17
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
29
17
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Nice staff, great breakfast, good restaurant with local cuisine and seafood specialities. It is well placed in Torre Annunziata and not far from Pompei.
Whatever is your need the owners and the staff are always willing to help.
I have been here other times and surely coming back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierinoMartucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Photos and description on hotel's own website are completely misleading. Hotel located in bad part of town, room bathroom was disgusting, bed linens... well you guess.. We walked in and turned around and demaned our money back to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: go into town at Pompeii and you will find much nicer hotels. Grillo Verde is NOT near Pompeii as advertised!!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RebeccaH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

The person(s) that own this place discriminate horribly against American visitors. We were promised that we would be transported to Pompei and Herculaneum from this hotel and then the owner(s) reneged.

We were made to sit ALONE, by ourselves, in the dining room while he took other people's orders that had arrived long after us.

They would never give us our bill after the dinner... and they socked the heck out of us when they gave us our bill on check out after five days.... The bill they charged us had NOTHING to do with the prices listed on their MENUS. CROOKS!!!

The bed was the most uncomfortable ROCK we encountered in our SIXTY YEARS of LIFE!!!

While the Service was as described ABOVE, the food (once you got any) was EXCELLENT and beautifully presented.

P.S. Torre Annunziata is an inconvenient ARMPIT and Grillo Verde is NOT the closest to Pompei by a long shot. AMERICANS SHOULD LOOK ELSEWHERE.

Would we go back to Grillo Verde? NEVER.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WWWatchdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2005

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights to visit the ruins in Pompeii. Let me start by saying that the hotel is a wonderful oasis in the middle of nowhere. FYI-the train station is not Pompeii as I assumed, it is Torre Annunciata. I didn't look at the map carefully enough.
The hotel is surrounded by walls and when you enter it is like you are in a different world. Beautiful plants and flowers decorate the entry and the terrace. The hotel staff (owners) are very efficient and welcoming. The hotel has everything you could possibly ask for without having to leave the premises. The bar is open 24 hours with cappuchino, soda, alcoholic beverages and snacks. They sell guidebooks, postcards and stamps. They have free internet access in the lobby.
I have to comment on the restaurant! The breakfast was fresh baked pastries with a huge assortment of jellies, butter, etc. They included juice and choice of coffee. We had dinner at their restaurant both nights we stayed at the hotel. The prices were extremely reasonable and the meal fabulous. There is a selection to meet anyones taste and everything is made to order. I recommend trying the local white wines they offer. Our only regret was that we had to buy lunch at the Pompeii ruins which is horrible. If I thought ahead, maybe could have bought some kind of lunch with us. The family is very accommodating.
The room is large and the best part is the bathroom. Larger than anywhere I have seen in Italy with great towels (not the normal dish towels you get at other budget hotels). Room is extremely clean with television, safe and wardrobe. There is a terrace on the second floor if you want to sit outside.
Word to the wise...Pompeii is a little farther away than the website leads you to believe. Took about 20 minutes, but the worst part was where you were walking. We live in Philadelphia, PA and are used to "bad" sections of town. But not used to walking in the midst of horrendous traffic with no stoplights or sidewalks. We are in our 30's and would do it again. However, I wouldn't reccomend a senior couple or young family make the trek. It cost about 10 Euro for a cab home.
We would definately stay there again as it is a much better option than Pompeii or Naples. However, plan on staying within hotel property. There is nothing else out there. The family will take good care of you and you couldn't ask for better meals or atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wanderer1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2005

This hotel is not located in the town of Pompei, but is in Torre Annunziata, which is not as lovely as the first. But if you have your own car or if you need to go to Naples by train, then it is a nice place to stay. The staff and the hotel manager (owner?) are extremely friendly and they make you feel as a part of their family. Rooms are ok and clean, given the price you pay and the hotel category.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seaside33099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews