We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, wrong location”
Review of Relais Le Magnolie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Relais Le Magnolie
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Casal Velino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2007

Ok, this review is a bit late, but I figured I'd post in anyways. We stayed in Relais le Magnolie as a part of our Italy vacation in July 06. Spent 5 nights in the hotel.

Upon arriving it was obvious that "english spoken here" was just an advertisement. We were able to communicate with only one of the staff members in english. Usually we used our hands and some few italian words.. This goes to the whole area.. Always managed to survive though..

The hotel itself is very nice - rooms are basic and clean. The pool was large enough and the beach was within a walking distance (only some hundred meters). The hotel also provided a shuttle to the beach, but it is not necessary to take as the distance is rather short.. "Private beach" was ok, sun chairs and umbrellas, nice sandy beach. One negative issue is that you can't walk down the beach to the marina di casal velino. Snack bar next to the beach satisfactory. Some food and beverages.

Breakfast quite simple (as usually in italy). The main waiter made an effort and provided cheese and ham for us every morning. Very nice of him!

We ate dinner once in the restaurant and the food was decent. I would recommend that you eat somewhere else. F.ex. Marina di Ascea has some nice places.. For this you need a car though, which I think is the biggest problem of the hotel. It is located some kilometers from Marina di casal velino - a just outside of walking range. Thus if you want to go somewhere it has to be by car. This limits your freetime as there isn't much around the hotel, except for one supermarket within one kilometer.. Parking the car is no stress, the hotel has plenty of parking places.

I have to admit, I have never felt more relaxed than after this trip. There were no international news papers and the TV in the room didn't work. Overall nice local hotel with friendly staff. I might not stay there again as I like to be able to walk downtown and along the beach. If this is not a problem, I would recommend this to someone who is satisfied with 2-3 star hotel (they say they are 4 stars, but no way!) and enjoys just being on the beach..

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2006

The Magnolie has the potential to be the best hotel in the area, but unfortunately has a major shortcoming. The layout and grounds are superb, consisting of 4 accomodation blocks, reception building and restaurant building, set among olive and palm trees, with a swimming pool and a tennis court which doubles up as football pitch. Accomodation is in spacious suites which will easily accommodate a family of 4, are well furnished and immaculately clean.

So what is the problem? Well we visited in early October, admittedly a quiet time of year, and spent 4 days as the only guests. Obviously the restaurant was not open for dinner as advertised, and as stated in the in-room info pack, and with no chef on site the advertised 24 hour room service was not applicable either. Nor was the beach-side snack bar open. Worst of all, the swimming pool was unusable, being coated in green slime, clearly not having been cleaned for some time. My 12 year old tried hard, but failed to hide his disappointment.

Despite being a quiet time of year, 200 metres away, a hotel of lesser standard was filled with German tourists with all their facilities from spotless swimming pool to beachside restaurant bar open.

The 4 full time “caretaker” staff at the Relais worked hard to try to keep us happy, but the accomodation was sold to us on the basis of facilities which were simply not available during our stay. Although we enjoyed our break, I do feel bitter that the accomodation was misrepresented. A party of 4 visited during our stay and after being shown round decided to move on elsewhere.

Would I return? As a guest, certainly not. But when the Relais goes bust, I may well make them an offer, and make the hotel the success it could so easily be.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monica2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Clementina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Fuggite via
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carlo Alberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank arduinib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casal Velino
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leucosya
Hotel Leucosya
#1 of 6 in Casal Velino
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
hotel villaggio copacabana
hotel villaggio copacabana
#1 of 5 in Marina di Casal Velino
838 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Il Tempio
Hotel Il Tempio
#4 of 6 in Casal Velino
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Agriturismo Zio Cristoforo
Agriturismo Zio Cristoforo
#1 of 11 in Casal Velino
478 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Hydra Club
Hotel Hydra Club
#6 of 6 in Casal Velino
97 reviews
2.4 mi away
Agriturismo I Moresani
Agriturismo I Moresani
#2 of 11 in Casal Velino
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Le Magnolie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Le Magnolie

Address: loc. Isola, 84040 Casal Velino, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Casal Velino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Casal Velino
Price Range: £75 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Le Magnolie 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Relais Le Magnolie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Le Magnolie Casal Velino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing